AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Countertop Microwaves or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y

Delivering Style and Innovation to the Homes of Today... and Tomorrow! Enhance every home you build with stylish, innovative appliances that home buyers demand. Home buyers expect appliances that meet the needs of their everyday lives, are easy to use and reflect the style of their individual tastes. But, to provide appliances you will truly appriciate and will use for years to come, requires a higher level of commitment. Their commitment to quality, craftsmanship and style challenges them to design products that lead the industry in innovation and design. Available at AJ Madison. 0.5 Cu. Ft. Countertop Microwave Oven Smart. Simple. Stylish. Maximize your counter space. This sleek microwave's unique rounded back allows it to fit into corners, making it ideal for tight spaces like small kitchens and dorm rooms. It can also fit a full dinner plate thanks to a glass turntable that is larger than those in standard comparable microwaves. Finally, an integrated handle and console, blue LED display and easy-to-clean Tap Touch controls give this model a sense of modern style.
Average Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
92 of 98(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Review 1 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Sullivan, IN
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
The Greatest Microwave
Posted:10/17/11
Pros: small efficient
Cons: none found
"This microwave is perfect for small areas. It has all the power and benefits of a larger microwave with the added benefit of taking up less countertop space. I'm very happy with this purchase."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:truck driver
Would Recommend: No
Doesn't work
Posted:2/26/14
"Only the clock worked. Did not cook. Now I have to send it back."
Review 3 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:NYC
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Small size, works well
Posted:1/28/14
"I was looking for a small, countertop microwave and found this. I'm pleased with everything about it."
Review 4 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Dyaton, Ohio
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Nice Liittle Micro
Posted:1/13/14
Pros: size power
Cons: none
"Fits in my office perfect, small foot print of oven is a plus. It does everything I want it to do."
Review 5 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Queens, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
So happy with my choice!
Posted:7/18/13
Pros: size design power cost
Cons: height
"We just redid our small kitchen and were concerned about losing precious counter space to our old standard size microwave. So I took a risk based on the reviews of this product, and the fact that it was the smallest one out there. It is nearly perfect. It tucks nicely into the corner, is powerful enough for nearly all the things we used the old one for. The only unexpected loss was in height. there is about 3" of space on the bottom devoted to the electronics and mechanics of the microwave, so some of our taller glasses dont fit, so we just use smaller ones."
Review 6 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Good buy
Posted:5/13/13
"Perfect for what I was looking for. I will buy again."
Review 7 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Erie, PA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Served the space need
Posted:5/5/13
Pros: tight corner fit.
"We needed a corner unit of a compact microwave and in black. Serched for a couple of weeks. When it arrived and we put it in the designated corner it disappeared just as we wanted."
Review 8 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Ventnor, NJ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent product
Posted:4/20/13
Pros: none
Cons: size is great. high powered. easy instructions.
"Delivery was so quick I couldn't believe it. Product was all that was advertised and more. I love it and am sorry I didn't purchase it sooner. I don't have much space for one and because this smaller size was a little pricey I put off getting it.
However with so many quick meals coming out with microwaveable only directions I decided to purchase one.
AJ Madison's price was the very best and believe me I looked. Also I believe delivery was quickest I ever encountered. I think this product came the very next day."
Review 9 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Wonderful Small Microwave
Posted:4/5/13
Pros: fits in small space easy to operate works well
Cons: not for cooking large items
"I purchased this microwave to replace a 25 year old Sharp Half-Pint that finally stopped working. My kitchen is small without much counter space. This Whirlpool microwave with the curved back fit perfectly in one corner. White color matches countertop. Easy to operate - like the touch pad functions. Quiet. Easy to clean. Not a high watt machine, but does a terrific job of reheating leftovers and warming up frozen foods. You will never get big items/ containers into it (6 inch clearance) but it is not meant for that. Highly recommend this small microwave."
Review 10 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Pa
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
micro blew up this morning
Posted:3/2/13
Pros: size
Cons: it blew up and cant use it.
"I bought this micro on Apr 22,2012. It blew up this morning. ( 3/2/2013 ) It kept running but then the sparks flew and I quick turn it off. I only had a small bowl of wax in a mircro safe container in it to melt. I have done this before so I know it wasnt the product. I really liked this micro but I hope to return it."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Long Island. NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Fits Perfectly
Posted:2/7/13
Pros: great shape good power looks nice
Cons: large dishes will not fit
"I use this on my kitchen counter in a corner. The curved back allows unit to recess & not eat up so much work space. Narrow & tall compared to average size microwaves, it's "footprint" is minimal. Only downside is larger dishes will not fit. Looks sleek & attractive, plenty of wattage for any cooking required."
Review 12 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Birmingham, AL
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
small microwave
Posted:1/24/13
Cons: none
"This is about the 5th .5 cuft microwave I have purchased. In comparison this is the best quality, quiet, smallest footprint and it backs into a corner saving more countertop space. I liked mine so much I bought one for my elderly mother and she loves hers too."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Schuylkill Haven, PA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Love it!
Posted:1/14/13
Pros: small, space saving, holds a full-sized dinner plate, easy to operate, attractive
Cons: none
"I bought this for my sister who needed the smallest microwave I could find that would hold a full-sized dinner plate. She has very little counter space and this fit perfectly. The controls and the "works" of the microwave are on the bottom, making it compact yet effective. She loves it! She's 76 years old and can operate it easily. She didn't want anything with all the bells and whistles, just something simple and easy, and this fits the bill perfectly. Had I not wanted a microwave/convection combo, I'd have gotten one for myself. Maybe I will anyway!"
Review 14 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:SW Minnesota
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Perfect Fit
Posted:12/18/12
Pros: small powerful modern looking
Cons: none
"With new quartz countertops and new stainless aplliances, we needed to replace our huge old, but well working microwave that took up all the counterspace to the right of our sink. Our cupboards are too low to put one above the range, explored all options and just could not make it work. Came across this little beauty and it is just perfect! We only use our microwave for leftovers or heating a bag of frozen corn, one normal full size plate fits perfect. We now have 60% of that counter area freed up showing off more of our new quartz. The black face matches the dark colors in the quartz, and the silver body matches the sides of our fridge and stainless. I do miss a keypad a little bit, but I knew that before purchasing, and the more I use it I miss it less and less. Absolutely perfect for us."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:St. Petersburg, FL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Finally a microwave that looks nice!
Posted:12/6/12
Pros: small size fits in a corner good looks solid
Cons: none that i have found
"I searched in several stores, looking for a microwave that would look nice in my small kitchen. Even "compact" microwaves took up too much space and looked clunky. Then I saw this one online at AJ Madison and was convinced to buy it because the description said it would fit in a corner. It is PERFECT! People don't even notice it until I point it out. Then they have all kinds of praise for its looks. It works wonderfully, is so nice looking, and is much sturdier than larger ones I've had. I am so pleased."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:NYC, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Love That It Fits in a Corner
Posted:11/30/12
Pros: size and appearance
Cons: slightly less power than larger microwaves
"I was debating whether or not to replace my large microwave oven when it died since my small New York City kitchen has very limited counter space and a microwave hogs an awful lot of real estate. But Thanksgiving was coming and I wasn’t sure I’d be able to function easily without it so I started searching the Internet to see what might be available. This looked like just exactly what I needed and I was pleased to see such good reviews for it. It arrived immediately after Hurricane Sandy when I had light, heat, and hot water but many of my friends did not and my apartment turned into a way station for friends in need. The microwave got quite a workout almost immediately. In fact, my friends knew how it worked before I did and kept commenting on how cute it was. I’ve had it now for about three weeks and couldn’t be happier. It’s freed up so much counter space and that it is a bit less powerful than my old one is barely noticeable. I’m very pleased with the purchase so far."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Windsor, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Cosmetic disagreement
Posted:11/28/12
Pros: works ok - small space
Cons: poor craftsmanship on control covering - poor, response to rectifying the problem
"This microwave works well. However, the covering over the controls started peeling off after a couple of weeks. I contacted Whirlpool Service to see if it could be fixed. I was told it was a "cosmetic" problem and cosmetic problems are only covered for 30 days. I was also told that the unit would still work OK even with the covering peeling off. This didn't seem like a very good reply to my problem. I now have a new microwave that looks like it is 5 years old."
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Morehead City, NC
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Great little microwave
Posted:11/3/12
Pros: easy to set up to use and to clean.
Cons: none for me.
"Arrived quickly, and I love it. Works fantastic. It's small, and it's perfect... plus it looks nice."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Coolest Microwave
Posted:10/12/12
"Because there is no number pad, entering cooking time is sometimes a bit tedious. Otherwise, I really like this appliance."
Review 20 for Whirlpool 15" Counter Top Microwave WMC20005Y
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Texas
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
perfect for my kitchen
Posted:10/10/12
Pros: small well made even heating
Cons: the front color is black even when you buy the, silver model
"I have a busy home with two kids and a husband. I needed a microwave that was tiny, but fit a dinner plate. The small ones in WalMart were too small: I had to switch food from small plates to bigger plates. They were also cheap: the post that rotated the glass tray in the microwave broke after two months so I rotated plates by hand every 30 seconds.
I couldn't buy a new one because WalMart stopped carrying the model that fit on my counter.
This is a great design with the control panel UNDER the heating compartment. Someone should have thought of this earlier.
Everything about it is made well. The touch pad is streamlined and had held up well after two months of daily use.
The turn table is sturdy and will obviously outlast my other microwave table.
The heating is even and allows different power settings.
I had given up on getting a quality countertop microwave... I thought I would have to build a cabinet and get one of those under cabinet mounted monstrosities.
I only wish that the front of the microwave came in different colors. I bought the silver model, and though the back and sides are silver, the front is still black, which does not go with the colors in my kitchen.
"