AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Washer Dryer Combos or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW

Please Note: The Washer/Dryer Combo takes up to 6 hours to wash and dry your clothing Washer and Dryer combos will never dry your clothes at 100%. Is It A Washer Or Something Better This combination washer/dryer is perfect if you don't have an external venting source, which conventional dryers require, and it runs on standard voltage electricity. Although it is a space-efficient laundry solution, ideal for locations where a separate washer and dryer wouldn't fit, the full-size tub (4.2 cu. ft.) means you won't be compromising on washing capacity. Wash in peace You shouldn't know your washer is on from the next room. The LG TrueBalance anti-vibration system is designed to minimize washer noise and vibration for smooth, quiet performance in any room of the house - even on the 2nd floor. More free time Towers of towels, piles of sweatshirts, and a mountain of jeans Go for it. The extra-large capacity (4.2 cu. ft.) tub lets you do more laundry in fewer loads. That's time saved and sore backs avoided. Super clean Some stains are so nasty it's hard to imagine how they'll ever come out. LG's NSF-certified Sanitary Cycle heats water up to 158F to remove the toughest stains and bacteria. Count on it When you buy a washer, you don't want to worry that it won't last. Because the Direct Drive Motor uses fewer moving parts and operates more efficiently, LG confidently backs the motor with a 10-year warranty. No need to vent Dry your clothes without any need for external venting. Now you can enjoy the value and quality of an LG washer even if you have limited space. Just set and go Let LG take the guesswork out of doing the laundry. With features like their LED Display indicators and intuitive Dial-A-Cycle controls, you'll find the right setting every time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (132 reviews)
5 stars
94
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
12
116 of 132(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Review 1 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Combo WD
Posted:6/2/11
Pros: high efficiency quality design
Cons: longer cyle times than conventional versions
"Highly recommend! I prefer a damp dry, easy to achieve, + clothes steam vs. bake so they feel softer. Quiet, simple to install, efficient."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Sterling, VA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Space Saver!
Posted:4/30/14
Pros: excellent space saver energy efficient
Cons: some items take longer to dry.
"Efficient, good product for apartment, condo/townhouse with limited space. Good for small families with limited to medium use.
Some items take longer to dry, but for dress pants and shirts - clothing drys better when slightly damp and placed on hangers. **fewer wrinkles and less ironing!!"
Review 3 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
I LOVE it
Posted:10/12/13
Pros: space saving quiet efficient
Cons: no lint trap
"I love this machine. It works brilliantly. It sings a little song when you turn it on and again when it turns off. We christened it HAL for its space age looks :) It was easy to set up, and it is easy to figure out how it works.
Although I love it, if you have a large family, it might not be the best choice as this particular size might not be big enough for you - there are only two of us.
As for the drying...... it works great for me. BUT I hang things on a rack to partially dry and then fluff them in the machine. I have dried things I need quickly, but quickly is a relative term. Yes, things feel slightly damp when they emerge, but they aren't, that sensation evaporates quickly.
If I had to gripe and nit pick, it is that the machine doesn't have a lint filter like a "normal" dryer. I have 3 dogs, so I have to wipe the drum and the door and the seal down after every wash and/or dry to remove the dog hair."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Socal
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Love my combo!
Posted:7/17/13
Pros: takes little space, tells time to finish, washes and dries well
Cons: pricey!
"Love having the combo unit! We hang dry most of our clothes and hated wasting space on a dryer. This washes and dries just fine. Just be prepared to lay clothes out to finish letting off steam. Also love knowing the exact time to the end of the cycle. However sometimes it overestimates drying time until it somehow evaluates the load."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Spfd MO
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
LG washer dryer combo
Posted:4/24/13
Pros: fast-amazing -space saver-quiet
Cons: heavy machine thats it
"This is my first washer dryer combo first of all its amazing its a space saver ITS SO quiet I cant believe it THE washer washes big loads, same with dryer I save hours with this machine LG is AWESOME THX A MILLION I recommend everyone in America has this machine believe that, Only downside is ITS EXTREMELY HEAVY but worth it."
Review 6 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Very pleased
Posted:3/31/13
"This machine does everything we hoped it would do and more."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Princeton, NJ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Really iffy. . .
Posted:1/30/13
"One week and counting.
I got this on an out of box special with a dent, and have had it for one week. I'm not sure about it yet.
First load of laundry was towels - they came out wet.
Second load of laundry was a small load. I used the two in one feature and set the dryer for 120 minutes. The clothes were cold and wet.
Third load of laundry, I pressed the "More" button. The clothes were cold an wet when I came home from work.
Pros:
-Ventless
-Space Efficient
Cons:
-Its loud
-The timer isn't working properly for the extended "up to 6 hours", so I don't know if that will be fixed when the repairman comes.
-It smells funny.
-Clothes are wet still (not just damp . .. wet)
LG Customer Service has been okay. They are dispatching a repairman next week. I'll see what he has to say."
Review 8 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Failed component number two and counting
Posted:9/17/12
Pros: convenience associated with combo units
Cons: poor quality parts, frequent failures requiring part replacement, high risk of leaking
"I love the convenience of this washer dryer combo. Unfortunately, the build quality is poor.
Within the first year of use the Drain pump and the Water inlet valve assembly failed.
The pump was an annoyance. The valve, on the other hand, resulted in a slow leak that caused significant water damage before it was caught.
After this experience I will avoid LG appliances in the future.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Pittsfield, Ma.
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Life as good it gets
Posted:5/21/12
Pros: to many
Cons: not in my book
"After having washer&dryer in my upstairs bath for 35 years time for change from two to one
After looking at stack able washer&dryer price wise
This is the way to GO best ban for the buck no 220v
or dry vent you will have learn curve it will be very
short
It's set and forget Cool down is 4 hours load tumbles
every 5 to7 minutes no wrinkled
Ps it's not fast but easy in one year I will post with my
dollar saving water&electric the bottom line is dollars
and time
I feel this is no brainier"
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:siler city,NC
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
does the job
Posted:4/2/12
Pros: one machine does two jobs
Cons: even on the "more dry" setting the clothes seem, slightly damp on large loads
"This machine is great for our family,
I love not having to remember to stick the clothes in the dryer before they get mildewy. I also love that I can set the dryer to the damp setting and then hang the clothes on the line to finish drying outside to save energy and time.
We have a farm and three small boys, so the clothes get very dirty and this machine does a good job getting them clean.
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Grants, NM
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Wonderful
Posted:3/27/12
"This machine replaces a stackable washer/dryer combination which a previous tenant took. Because of the need for a very long run of vent hose for a dryer, I decided to go this route instead. It works fabulously! The clothes do not come out bone dry, but certainly dry enough that they can immediately be put into drawers or hung up in a closet. I am very pleased with it."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Calgary, Alberta
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
If you Buy-- Get the Extended Warranty
Posted:3/27/12
Pros: a combination unit
Cons: expensive service calls within three years
"This review would have been a lot different had I written it a couple of months after I purchased the unit. Back then I thought it was great. However, 14 months after I bought it the pump broke and that was my first bill. Six months later the drain hose from the pump chaffed and water poured out. I am lucky that the unit is in a laundry room with a centre floor drain so there was no damage. The service guy said it was a very poor design and he has repaired a number of units with the same problem. Oh he said the same thing about the pump. The hose was another cost. Now I was up to $425.00. Next was a problem with the dryer unit. Something was wrong with the computer unit telling the dryer to dry. Now I was to replace the computer boards and possibly a dryer element. Time to sell the unit for $200 to the service guy for parts and get out from under this thing."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Seattle, WA
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
Has quality issues
Posted:2/7/12
Pros: appearance, Quiet
Cons: breaks down just after 1 year warranty expires, takes a while for clothes to dry
"After about 16 months of low to moderate use (2-person household), the pump broke preventing water from properly draining. While the pump itself is cheap, the labor to repair it is expensive and just enough time has passed that it's no longer under warranty. We've also had similar issues with a LG Dishwasher (LDF9932ST)...so at this point I wouldn't recommend buying LG products unless you also factor in the cost of an extended warranty, and even then, beware that you can end up having the inconvenience of living without the appliance while you wait for it to be repaired. LG makes attractive appliances that look great and work great at first, but consistantly have quality issues in the long run..."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Crescent Beach, FL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Won Us Over
Posted:1/19/12
Pros: space saving efficient great features, good looking
Cons: a bit pricey considerable learning curve
"I had been considering a washer dryer combo for over a year to replace my old Kenmore stacked set. We recently downsized into a small condo. Gaining extra space from having one machine that washed & dried was a very attractive concept but the reports of extremely long drying cycles & wrinkles concerned me. Many reviewers, however, said once they learned to correctly use the machine, it worked very well. I figured I'm not too old to learn something new and received the LG W/D Combo a month ago.
Here is my take: First impression is it's a very nice looking machine; feels solid and well built. There is a learning curve. I have, after trial and error, learned what cycles work best with my particular laundry. Clothing comes out wonderfully when done correctly. You can't over fill it or your load will take longer to dry and be wrinkled which I find is no different from a traditional dryer. For clothes that aren't heavily soiled, the quick wash does a thorough job and speeds up the completion time. It's a quiet machine, important to us as the laundry is just off the living area. It does have a forceful spin cycle momentarily vibrating the machine. In our condo it sits on a tile over concrete floor but there may be some shaking if you were to place it on a less stable floor. I don't have a designated 'laundry day' as I use to, preferring to wash several loads throughout the week. I can do that now because it is quiet and doesn't disrupt tv watching or other activities like our old set. I haven't used the delayed wash feature often but it is available if I need it. I also haven't noticed a savings on electric bill yet but I'm sure it uses less water. The LG sits in a closet designed for a stacking set. My husband put shelves in the upper half of the laundry closet where the dryer was before and this has provided the extra storage we needed.
I find the LG to be a very nice looking machine with many upscale and convenient features. We agree this one is the perfect choice for us. It may not work out as well for a large family or those who do tons of laundry because you can't be washing a load and drying another simultaneously. It was a bit pricey but no more than other machines with comparable features. AJ Madison's pricing was the best and delivery was free and flawless. My only complaint was it was backordered from LG but no one contacted us to let us know there would be a delay in shipment. This the perfect solution if you are tight for space and/or don't have an outside vent or 220V outlet for a traditional dryer."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:New Haven, CT
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Best option for 120V install/Apartment dwellers
Posted:1/1/12
Pros: versatile install options-ventless!, Energy Efficient, cleans clothes well
Cons: no lint filtering, modest drying capacity, relatively long cycles, requires some learning/adaptation to use well
"I purchased this unit after reading many reviews. It is seemed clear that this is the best combo unit on the market. Anyone considering this unit should be aware that the maximum drying capacity is less than the maximum washing capacity. If you are concerned about noise and motion ( I have the matching pedestal) consider absorbant feet.
Overall the unit works well but the one thing that is a bit annoying compared with conventional machines is that there seems to be nowhere for lint to collect. So, it accumalates around the door seals. One must occasionally wipe this area clean. The unit seems well made but this is a complex machine; I purchased the maximum extended warranty on an auction site."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Pompano Beach, FL
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Buyer Beware
Posted:12/29/11
Pros: compact
Cons: does not dry well can not be repaired
"Many repairs over the years and now LG is telling me that they are no longer making parts for the unit. The machine is again broken, called the authorized service dealer, he ordered the parts for me, and was told that the company is no longer supporting the unit. When I called the LG they said they have no legal obligation to manufacture parts for unit. Customer Service at LG suggested that I buy a new machine."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Michigan
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Great if you don't mind it BROKE
Posted:12/27/11
Pros: not to buy one
Cons: buying one
"Bought it in Feb. 2011 had problem in Dec. 12, 2011 by the time it gets fixed it will be 2012. The companies own tech.'s can't figure out what is wrong. The first send out a local service company that know nothing about these machines and when they call LG's tech. support they are clueless also. Then when you talk to customer service, hang on because they will try to run you around in circles and you get nowhere and no help. Standing behind a product is what great companies do. This one Hides behind their products hoping no one notices them.
Will not buy another LG product no matter if its the only one on the shelf. Customer service is not there. That is why Sears announced today that they are closing 100+ store with in a year. No Customer Service. Sounds like LG will be next."
Review 18 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
5 hour dry time :(
Posted:10/17/11
Pros: ok for apartments or small unvented spaces
Cons: terrible for families or quick loads of laundry
"Should have done my homework, its a great space saver and looks awesome as well however an single load of laundry takes over 6 hours to complete from start of wash to finish of drying cycle even in the speed wash mode. the convience of forgetting about a load of laundry and coming back to it is there however you are unable to get all of a house holds worth done in a day. PLush at the end your laundry dosent have the clean fresh smell. Even with fabric softners it smells like it has been sitting in a hot car."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Dallas
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
AWESOME!
Posted:9/5/11
Pros: clothes launder beautifully, no transferring loads from washer to dryer, space saver; use it anywhere, looks beautiful
Cons: doing a single load at a time
"Was skeptical about purchasing this combo unit, but friends told me that it was great. They understated how cool this combo unit is! Buy the 4.2 cubic one, and you will not be disappointed. Yep, it takes longer, but really not any longer than if you were using a regular washer and dryer load...you just can't run multiple loads at the same time! I was nervous about the venting, so I put in a bathroom fan w/light, and it turns out that wasn't even necessary. Clothes feel a bit damp when the cycle is over, but as you take them out they magically dry instantly. I run a load every night, and it is quiet and economical to use. AJ Madison is delightful to work with, shipping was a breeze, delivery was the best. Promise, you will love this purchase! :)"
Review 20 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3987HW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
I bought 5 they're great
Posted:5/7/11
Pros: all in one so laundry can be done in your absence, small energy and water use
Cons: if you overload it will wrinkle
"I own several apartments. I live in one. Some of the places are so small the smaller version is the only design that will fit. I bought two of those. Places there was room for a standard washer and dryer. I installed 5 of the combinations. We love ours and all the folks in the other places like theirs as well. Most are working couples that use the delay feature so their clothes are ready about the time they get home. This design is not like our old washer and dryer. The old design dryer capacity or size was double that of the washer. So one jammed packed wash equaled one dryer load. For best results we don't fill the wash completely full. Then the dry leaves the clothes wrinkle free. All in all this is a great product even if you have the room. Did I mention the amount of electricity and water used...? As one the other users said, "I think it uses one electron and a molecule of water"."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.