AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Washer Dryer Combos or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H

Please Note: The Washer/Dryer Combo takes up to 6 hours to wash and dry your clothing Washer and Dryer combos will never dry your clothes at 100%. Established in 1958, LG Electronics, Inc. (LG) is a global leader and technology innovator in consumer electronics, home appliances and mobile communications, employing more than 82,000 people working in over 110 operations including 81 subsidiaries around the world. Comprising four business units - Mobile Communications, Digital Appliance, Digital Display and Digital Media with 2006 global sales of USD 38.5 billion - LG is the world's leading producer of CDMA/GSM handsets, air conditioners, front-loading washing machine, optical storage products, DVD players, flat panel TVs and home theater systems. LG's all-in-one washer and dryer combo does it all in just one machine. It's great for those who want to be able to do laundry at home but do not have an external venting source which conventional dryers require. Perfect for homes, apartments, businesses and vacation homes where space is valuable.
Average Customer Rating:
4.213 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
8
63 of 75(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Review 1 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Upper West Side
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Machine
Posted:3/17/14
"I've had this machine since 2003 and agree with most of the positive reviews on this site. To be specific, this machine actually cleaned some old jeans I had retired due to stains other washers couldn't remove, so it does the job. And it does so quietly and gently.
A couple of tips for anyone who has or is thinking about this machine. First, drying times are considerably longer than a vented machine, for good reason. In essence, the machine heats the air in the wash chamber and in doing so vaporizes a certain amount of moisture, which is then precipitated by a chiller, then being pumped out by the machine's pump. So you're paying for the heating element, the chiller, and the pump and motor rotating the drum. The answer, of course, is to use a drying rack and save all of that electricity and cost.
But more recently, after years of extensive use, an odor suddenly cropped up in our clothes and in the drum itself. It was caused by a moldy black substance which builds up on the inside lining of the rubber gasket which seals the front door. So do yourself a favor and wipe that out at the end of your last use. We were able to remove all but the toughest stain and certainly the odor, but I wished they had recommended that in the product literature as it is a simple 30 second task."
Review 2 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
LG Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Posted:11/20/13
Pros: not having to transfer clothes from washer to drie, high efficiency, sanitary and self-clean cycles, saves space
Cons: having to wipe the lint from the door after drying
"Great machine! Both washes and dries excellently.
I was a little worried based on other reviews that the drier wouldn't work well, but in my experience it dries everything perfectly.
I would definitely recommend this machine to those who have limited space but would like the convenience of having a washer/drier."
Review 3 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Royersford, PA
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Not a Good Product
Posted:8/7/13
Pros: good for spaces and apartments
Cons: high maintainence no lint filter can be noisy!
"I have written a previous complaint. I do not reccomment this item. Unable to clean lint, Service problems. Wrinkles clothes unless taken out immediately.
I am not satisfied with this item
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Amazing Appliance that will change your life
Posted:4/25/13
Pros: convenient space saver efficient
"I purchased this washer after reading the reviews....with a little skepticism...but in the end I needed this as part of my masterplan to free up 28" in order to place a stand up freezer in the laundry room, and the only way to to that was get rid of my dryer.
WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW
Not only did it solve my Freezer problem but this is one of the MOST AMAZING appliances that I have across and has made our life so much better!!!
My wife and I are professionals ALWAYS on the go, and time is a very special commodity. So whenever we find something that can free up even a few minutes, we cherish the moment.
Now when we do a wash, we simply pile in the clothes (and far more than I thought we could) into this beautiful machine, tap on some buttons, and then it does the wash, then AUTOMATICALLY continues on to DRY it!!!!!!
Unlike some of the other comments, you do not have to start the dry cycle separately, you simply tap the buttons for the wash, and tap the buttons for the dry cycle and press go!
What a PLEASURE it is NOT to have to transfer clothes from one machine to the next....now we just put them in and then take them out!
Also, NO PROBLEMS with drying. We pack that puppy pretty good, nearly as much as we did with our regular full size tub washer. But in the end the clothes are PERFECT and FULLY DRY and we are not even using the hottest or longest setting. If you have damp clothes you might want to try reviewing your settings, because we have no issues at all, even with a full load of heavy cotton towels.
This is truly an amazing appliance, and like others you will find yourself standing in front of it watching it do its mysterious spinning and whirring and the super fast spin!!! It's so cool!
Finally about time, I was actually surprised how quick the wash cycle was. The dry cycle takes a little longer, but there is practically no heat generated in the room its in, and both water and electricity usage is at a bare minimal.
Again AJ Madison did an amazing job with quick and polite delivery."
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Perfect for me, but with quirks
Posted:4/13/13
Pros: small and efficient, washes really well and fast, easy controls and lots of programmability, easy to hook up - no special outlet required
Cons: drying takes forever, clothes are wrinkled
"Single guy who mostly washes gym clothes and towels. This ventless combo unit is perfect for me, once I got used to it's quirks.
If you get this, buy yourself a $20 drying rack, and use the wash-only mode. Your laundry will be done in a fraction the time, will end up less wrinkled, and you'll save tons of cash on electricity. When you need to dry something, it can do it.
If you use the dryer mode, be prepared for a load of laundry to take 4-5 hours, and it will be very wrinkled. This is *not* a flaw in the unit, but a limitation of ventless dryers in general.
Wash smaller loads ... they actually go faster. Somehow the unit knows how much you stuff in it. If you overload it, it just takes forever, and the clothes are embarassingly wrinkled.
Wipe out the lint after every load. It builds up in the drum, because there is no venting."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Connecticut
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent
Posted:9/19/12
"I love this washer and drier cOmbo it's di great and conviniant to use performs great and the only thing is that it doesn't drie it completly but I love it and it's so convenient specialy if u live in a condo it's great . I love it and would recommend it to everyone ."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Norwalk, CT
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
Washer is great, dryer not!
Posted:2/22/12
Pros: washer works great
Cons: drying function stopped working, expensive for the results, poor customer service from lg, extensive wait time for parts(months)
"Purchased this washer 1.5 years ago the washing works great, the drying cycle takes a while when it worked. However the dryer stopped working all together and its been almost 2 months without parts, and when they finally arrived, it still would not dry clothing(second repair)!!!
LG has had some problems with the condensation dryers. They are not helpful at all and don't really stand behind their products. Now looking into a conventional stackable washer and dryer....BOSCH will be my net try. Avoid LG!!!!!!!
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Ithaca, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Fantastic compact machine
Posted:1/24/12
Pros: fantastic quality wash, very quiet, very energy and water efficient
Cons: dryer only handles half a full wash load
"We had to wait several months for this machine, but boy was it worth the wait. I have absolutely *no* idea why anyone would complain about this machine. The washing side is fantastic, incredibly quiet, very efficient and relatively quick. The drum size is huge for a machine of this size and is only a little smaller than many of the full size machines on the market. The dryer function is (as you'd expect) not as good as a dedicated drier, but seriously - did you think it would be? It takes longer and only handles half the amount that it washes, but it's perfectly good when the weather makes line or airer drying difficult."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Brooklyn, New York
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Super Little Washer & Dryer Machine
Posted:12/13/11
Pros: it works great for two working individuals.
Cons: do not over load the machine.
"I wanted to avoid having my New Tenant take their laundry out to a local laundry. Because of my limited space, I selected this LG Combo for the job. I placed it next to the kitchen sink under the counter. The Tenants indicated "not only does it looks great it does a super job". Once the machine completed the job they were pleased to see how clean and hot their cloths turned out.. They feel the LG is a life saver much better then having to travel to an outside Laundry. I would highly recommend this LG for an apartment."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:New Hampshire
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Machine
Posted:10/12/11
Pros: size cleans well
Cons: need to set dry time after wash cycle is complete
"This is my second combo washer/dryer. I have selected this combination machine for the usual reasons - size and convenience. So far, I really like this LG. The size is good, the time it takes to wash and dry is what I expected based on my previous experience. The dryer also produces clothes that are a lot less wrinkled than the Asko I used to own. That's not to say they are not more wrinkled than a standard dryer- but its not bad. The only thing I don't like is that you have to wait until the wash cycle is over before you can set the dry cycle - shouldn't I be able to set both and walk away? I just hope the machine has a long life time."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:San Antonio, TX
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
great washer/dryer
Posted:8/30/11
Pros: saved tons of time. put it in & forget it. awesome
Cons: must read instructions carefully otherwise might, seem really complicated at 1st
"works really well. I use the pre-program setting which works great."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great purchase
Posted:8/21/11
Pros: price, size
Cons: desinged for two water inlets i use a y adapter
"Considered the larger LG, but this works better for an apartment and is just ad effective."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:CT
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Machine, Delivery was Lacking
Posted:8/18/11
Pros: compact attractive quiet & effective as washer
Cons: expense & longer than usual drying time
"We purchased our LG 3455 washer/dryer combo in July and it was installed in early August. We have been on vacation the past two weeks so we've had a few days to try it out. Overall, we give it high marks. The item is very compact and fits neatly into a corner in the kitchen (it would also fit nicely into most closets).
Despite other reviews that have touted the ability just to plug the item into any 110V outlet, we found it necessary to hire an electriction to wire a separate outlet just for this machine. Otherwise, the machine's usage might overload other appliances on the same outlet. This is especially true in older homes. But it was still worth the $200 for electrical work.
The machine's operation seems quite smooth -- washing cycle is quick, effective and very quiet. The spin cycle does cause vibration on the kitchen floor.
The drying cycle, as many others have already noted, takes a very long time -- we have needed to add 30 minutes to the automatically programmed time, for a total of about one hour. Even then, the items comes out slightly damp. Another half hour on the clothes line takes care of it.
AJ Madison out of Brooklyn, NY, was very professional -- they gave us a military discount on top of a sale price and stuck to their agreed-upon delivery date.
The delivery company was another story. They resisted our requests to unpack and position the item where we wanted it, refused to take away the packaging, and their truck clipped our cable TV line on the way out of the driveway. If AJ Madison could find a better delivery contractor, they would get 5 stars from us.
Overall, we are very satisfied so far."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Tips to use this great machine
Posted:8/6/11
Pros: great wash quality, good on high speed spin; quieter than conventional
Cons: the dryer is really hot!!!
"Been reading the reviews here and noticing that many of them complain about the cycle time. Well here's a way to deal with what is the only negative about this great machine.
The machine has a setting "speed wash". Select that. Then select the dryer time to the maximum, which is nominally listed as 120 minutes. (People are right that the machine makes some on-the-fly adjustments based upon sensing moisture and weight).
The machine will flash up a time of 2:33, which is much shorter than the 4+ hours on many of the other cycles. But the actual time can be much less than this.
I have found, with reasonable loads of non bulky stuff (no plush towels, for example) that when the clock reads 1:00 (one hour) that most everything, if not everything, is done. Heavy stuff does take the full time.
I have never had a problem with the quality of the cleaning on this short cycle. To give an idea, this perfectly does two king sized sheets and four pillowcases, and they are good at the 1:00 mark, or a total running time of 1:33.
In addition, the time delay is vey nice. I can set it to have things finished when I get home from work. They are warm and clean.
I have this in a modern rebuilt condo in a 1902 building in DC that does not have nor allows direct outside vents. This machine works perfectly here."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Machine!!
Posted:6/3/11
Pros: it's all good
Cons: maybe the price?
"I have not had the WM3455HS but for a couple of weeks, but I think it is a great washer/dryer. Once you learn how to use the settings washing your clothes is a snap. It cost a little more then the others, it's worth it. I think most people are use to their clothes being done quicker, but I just set it and go to bed. I wake up in the morning and shake my clothes out.
SO FAR SO GOOD!!!!
"
Review 16 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
LG Combo Washer Dryer
Posted:2/28/11
Pros: washes clothes great, extremely energy efficient, extremely quiet, looks beautiful
Cons: takes several hours to do a load of laundry
"This is a great little unit, though it's does take several hours for it to do a single load of laundry. I was a little concerned by some of the reviews but this unit works very well and cleans clothes better then my last washer.
Also, I read that vibration was bad with these machines but that's likely because it was not level. This machine spins very fast so if it's not level then it will vibrate badly but it doesn't take much to get it level and we don't have any vibration problems at all."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
The best washer I ever purchased!
Posted:2/10/11
Pros: everthing about it!!!
Cons: none
"I searched this product for two months before I actually brought it. It's the best washer/dryer I ever owned. When I finish learning how to work all the options, I'm going to show my daughter how to work it so she can make sure her and her brother always have a clean uniform for school. I wish, I would of knew about this product before hand, because I would of purchased this last year. '
I have no room for a washer or dryer, but this incredible little machine has made it all happen for me. I'm in love with my washing machine...
ok! It's worth the price and don't bother with other name brands you never heard of. Go for what you know the best!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Think Twice!
Posted:11/7/10
"Our machine was three YEARS old in August. For the past year, we could wash, rinse and spin. Then, the clothes had to be removed to our 14-year-old dryer downstairs. The spin cycle shakes the entire house and it has created a hole in the linoleum under each leg [leveler?]
On the plus side, it does look fabulous, is truly a spacesaver and takes only 55 minutes to complete the wash, rinse, spin cycle"
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Washington, DC
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great little washer
Posted:10/14/10
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: cleans clothes wonderfully, compact & efficient, dries really well- no damp clothes, pretty quiet (after the below mentioned fix)
Cons: no delayed timer for *this* much money. really?, awful water hammer noise until you fix, towels come out a little more linty i've noticed
"So, we needed a small combo washer/dryer for our laundry as we were planning to put it into an already packed utility closet. We had a typical white stacked unit in a kitchen closet, but we wanted to open that up for our ongoing kitchen remodel. This LG unit was just the ticket.
After 2 months, we are settling in well with our new LG.
A tad expensive, especially compared to other combo units (even bigger ones made by LG!), but I was comforted that it technically has a larger capacity than our large stacked unit. With no agitator, it holds a good amount of clothing. It can't be filled all the way up as it will have trouble drying, but I get similar drying results at 75% full as I do at 50% full. Clothes come out HOT. So hot I have to leave the door open for a few minutes and let them chill out. They do come out a little wrinkly though. I've noticed that if I remove my clothes right when the machine is finished, it helps to minimize the wrinkles.
As for washing, this thing is amazing. I don't know if it is the machine, the HE detergent that we have to buy now, or the fact that I use a dab of liquid fabric softener, but my clothes *smell* clean and fresh now. I don't remember that with any washer in the past. The machine does a good job of sensing how full the drum is and can adjust the cycle time accordingly. I have found that the speed wash setting + Fast Spin + the normal dry setting works great and usually has the load completed in just under 3 hours. I like that it will continue to spin your clothes occasionally after the dry cycle ends (I think up to 3 or 4 hours) to help keep wrinkles at a minimum.
I think that sums up the good. For the bad, or more irritating really, there are a few things. This machine, for *this* much money, does not have a delayed timer. It would be awesome to set the machine to run while I'm at work and come home to just finished laundry. I understand past models have that feature. Not so with this one.
Also, don't bother with "flood-safe" washer hoses. They won't work. Normal washer hoses only. Also, after finally figuring out that which hoses we needed (the included hoses were too short), we kept hearing this awful banging sound every time the washer would pump water in. Turns out this is called water hammer and many front-loading LG machines have this problem as the water inlet valves are too fast (as I understand). So, after buying two 3rd party water hammer arresters for installation on the back of the washer, all is good and quiet now. I sure wish we had known that to begin with, you can see the space we are working with. Pulling that thing in & out is no simple task.
Overall- Quite happy with the machine. It washes & dries well. For a family of 2 + dog, it is more than enough. I only wash my clothes every 1-2 weeks, and used to be able to do everything in one color load and one white load. With this new machine, my routine is still intact. Nice!"
23 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LG Front Load Washer Dryer Combo WM3455H
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Horrible
Posted:10/8/10
Pros: looks great
Cons: does not work properly
"The washer to forever to wash and left the cloth wet, wrinkled and it got stuck on 6 mins. never turned off by itself."
6 of 19 people found this review helpful.