AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Front Load (Tumble) or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

GE Front Load Washer WCVH48

GE Consumer and Industrial spans the globe as an industry leader in major appliance, lighting and integrated industrial equipment systems and services. They provide solutions for commercial, industrial and residential use in more than 100 countries which uses innovative technologies and "ecomagination." It's a GE initiative to aggressively bring to market new technologies that help customers and consumers meet pressing environmental challenges to deliver comfort, convenience and electrical protection and control. GE brings imagination to work. Available at AJ Madison. This high-end Energy Star compliant GE model features a large 2.6 cu. ft. internal capacity, which can almost almost any load. Ten wash cycles and five wash spin speeds allows this model to tackle any load. All of this is controlled by the easy-to-use electronic controls.
Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 of 21(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Review 1 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Perfect washer
Posted:11/15/10
Pros: efficient quality lots of features great price
Cons: none. really!
"We needed a compact washer for our condo and were afraid nothing would be good enough or priced reasonably. This washer is cheaper than the Bosch washers by hundreds, but outperforms them. Particularly like the hand-wash setting, the built-in heater for sanitize cycle, lots of space. It balances the load perfectly so never any shake even on very high spin with towels/sheets."
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Maryland
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Be sure to buy an extended warranty
Posted:9/15/14
Pros: works fine and looks great...
Cons: previous model failed after just 3 years...
""Washer works and looks great... I purchased this GE compact washer because the dimensions are the same as the model it replaced, and it would work with my existing GE stackable dryer... I previously purchased the preceding model washer along with the matching dryer... The previous GE washer died after just over 3 years of service... Central drive bearing failed and the cost to repair exceeded the original purchase price ($750)... Thank goodness I purchased the 5 year extended warranty which paid me the full purchase price... I would not have purchased this washer again if I didn't already have the matching dryer... If you are considering this washer, be sure to purchase an extended warranty...""
Review 3 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Albany, NY
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Never worked well - had to replace
Posted:11/19/13
Pros: cute end of cycle music
Cons: loud and shaky
"We bought this washer two years ago and it broke beyond fixing last week. It never worked very well - was loud and shook terribly during the spin cycle. The jarring spinning finally broke the basket loose and the repair estimate was over $400. The fact that you have to use GE repair people does not help - this machine is NOT worth the price."
Review 4 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Cape Cod, a
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
efficient yet compact
Posted:11/8/13
Pros: efficient yet compact
Cons: may be too small for large loads
"Purchased this to replace my outdated, 18 year old top load washer. Impossible to compare the two really, but I'm loving it so far. There's more room in this than you'd think, yet it takes up so much less space and uses about 1/5 of the water my old one used! That in itself is worth it. It's not too quiet, but is a lot quieter than the old one. I love all the features, and the modern look."
Review 5 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Miami Beach, FL
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
perfect for family of 4
Posted:8/7/13
Pros: fits more clothes than you think. cleans very well
Cons: none.
"Excellent washer. Heavy duty use - minimum 1-2 loads a day with weekends 4-5 loads a day (daughter comes to do laundry at home on weekends). never any problems. ALTHOUGH IT'S ONLY 2.2 CUBIC FEET, IT FITS EVERY LOAD WE EVER PUT IN THERE! WE ONCE WASHED 6 LARGE TOWELS WITH TONS OF COTTON SHIRTS. Excellent machine. Fits a lot more clothes than the convectional top loading one piece w/ dryer attached that is also 24 inches."
Review 6 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
GE WASHER
Posted:6/18/13
Pros: compact & convient stylish..
Cons: shallow drum
"It does its job well, would be nice if the drum was a little deeper even tho the washer is 24 inches wide."
Review 7 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Alexandria, VA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Exactly what we wanted
Posted:4/9/13
Pros: large capacity for small footprint, most water removed after spin cycle
Cons: none
"We had depth limitations in the space for the washer so we had to go with small units. We have them configured side by side. We have had no capacity constraints. It is just two of us, but we work outdoors and have dogs so we put it through the test. Washing sheets, towels, larger loads of clothes is not a problem. The machine works great. I like the settings available. The clothes come out very dry after the spin cycle it doesn't really matter what dryer you use. They line dry in minutes. The capacity limitations are maybe in the dryer size where the sheets sometimes get all balled up. Maybe that effects dry time, but I haven't noticed and it hasn't been a problem."
Review 8 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Washer
Posted:2/18/13
"Just don't forget to remove the shipping bolts! It's not obvious that not removing them will cause your wacher to become a possessed demon :) Once we removed them the washer has been a dream."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Opelousas, LA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Posted:2/6/13
"This unit seems to be well built and operates as designed. It was delivered well packaged and undamaged. Installation was easy and well documented. The price was slightly higher than the Samsung but I think the quality is there."
Review 10 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:California
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
No good - don't buy it
Posted:2/2/13
Pros: very good looking
Cons: worse reliability irecord of any, washer consumers report has surveyed.
"Consumer Reports gives GE washers the worst repair record of any washer studied (Feb 2013 page 42).
The front loader (WCVH48 etc) I purchased recently cant make it through a wash cycle without weirding out - lights blinking, starting and stopping, etc.
The GE repairman was is going to replace the door. Until the factory ships the new door, I will line up with the college kids at the local.
I wonder who paid these 5 star users to post these glowing reviews?"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Love this washer!!!
Posted:12/23/12
Pros: great looking cleans very well fits a full load
Cons: nothing!!!
"I bought this washer and matching dryer to be under counter in my kitchen. I absolutely love it!!! All of my friends thought I was crazy buying such a small machine but I'm definitely having the last laugh. It works perfectly and surprisingly accommodates a normal size load. I love the fact that it's a little smaller so I can do the laundry every 3 days or so instead of waiting for enough to pile up to go in a huge washer. It makes my life so much easier. I have even been able to fit a full comforter inside. We are a family of four with 2 boys involved in sports, so trust me there is a lot of laundry in our house. There are other machines on the market at this size that are so much more expensive and my machine works so well, I don't know why anyone would want to spend the extra money. The clothes come out so much cleaner than they did with my Kenmore front loader. There are multiple washing modes so you can do delicates, whites on extra hot, sanitary, extra rinse, etc... We've been using the washer and dryer for 3 months now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Texas
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent purchase
Posted:11/14/12
Pros: perfect for a smaller home
"I bought this for a small rental home - currently one guy and two daughters every other weekend.its a perfect size. Washes well. Don't forget to remove the transit bolts on the back"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Texas
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
GE Front Load Washer
Posted:9/17/12
"This machine is great! Fast, gets everything very clean, easy to use. I especially like the soap and bleach loading drawer. Sometimes I wish it had a selection for towels."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Minneapollis, MN
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Cute, sweet, strong
Posted:8/6/12
Pros: musical signals wonderful digital controls
Cons: price
"It was hard to find a compact washer and dryer to fit into my tiny space. These fit the bill. I've used them for a week and for me they're perfect. I live alone so they are plenty big. I just did a queen comforter and had no problems. I just wish the mini washers weren't more expensive than the standard sized ones."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Atlanta, GA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
A great buy
Posted:2/16/12
"We love our washer! Its perfect for small spaces. We are a family of four, so although the washer is small, it is large enough to wash all our clothes in 2 loads (1 whites and 1 darks!) It is very efficient and quiet. There are multiple cycle options and its gentle on the clothes.
Its was also very easy to install. My husband was able to stack and install the unit with the help of a friend. Neither of them are particularly handy!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:San Francisco, CA
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great compact washer!
Posted:12/23/11
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: small large capacity
"After a long time researching we finally decided on this washer because it actually fit in our small closet and it has a good capacity. I am impressed by how much can fit in one load. It works great, looks great, and we have been very happy with it for the 9+ months that we have had it. We definitely recommend this washer if you are tight on space and need something compact."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Houston
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent Washer
Posted:9/9/11
"Perfect counter depth and size for kitchen. Cleans as well as my Miele which cost over four times as much. I'm very pleased with this purchase from AJMadison."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Monterey, CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent choice
Posted:8/30/11
Pros: versatile quiet efficient.
"Best choice for a closet installation. This machine is quiet, efficient, with many washing cycles. Drum size surprisingly large for a 24" machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Works great once I took the shipping bolts off!
Posted:4/14/11
Pros: looks great and works great.
Cons: shipping bolts! lol
"I purchased this as well as the stackable dryer that goes with it. Like the smart guy I am I didn't read the directions and didn't remove the shipping bolts from the back of the washer. If you don't do this the machine vibrates very violently during the spin cycle. Once I realized the problem and removed the bolts it worked perfectly. Very happy with the purchase!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for GE Front Load Washer WCVH48
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great buy!
Posted:2/25/11
"Please see my dryer review - bought this washer and matching dryer and love them both. Perfect."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.