AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Wine Coolers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875

SUMMIT SWC1875 is a built-in capable two-zone wine cellar designed to store up to 108 bottles. With an easy-fitting 24" footprint, the SWC1875 can be used built-in or freestanding and features two distinct temperature zones, each with its own reversible glass door. Store white and sparkling wine in the upper zone while preserving your reds underneath at a warmer temperature. Two digital thermostats let you set the proper conditions for your collection, with a digital readout in Fahrenheit or Celsius. Inside, the SWC1875 includes fourteen slide-out wooden shelves to properly hold bottles. Recessed LED lighting offers an elegant display and two factory installed locks ensure the unit is secure. This model has a jet black cabinet and stainless steel trimmed doors complete with professional chrome handles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.462 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Review 1 for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Chico, California
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Wine Whisperer
Posted:9/13/12
Pros: size easy to operate design
Cons: some larger bottles are a tight fit
"I've owned this unit for a month. Fits in my closet. Beautiful design. Easy to use. I recommended this unit to my friends. They must be popular because they're on back order until October."
Review 2 for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Love my Purhase!!!
Posted:6/8/11
Pros: the stainless trim and wooden shelfs.
Cons: nothing yet
"I purchased this wine cooler exactly one month ago, and decided to wait 30 days before I wrote my review. The Looks of this unit is incredible. Very Sleek and Modern! Makes a beautiful addition to my kitchen. Looks really high end for the bargain price. The digital temperature controls are accurate. I have individual thermostats in each compartment to make sure. The blue lighting is so cool. Love this cooler."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Sparta, NJ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Summit Wine Chiller
Posted:3/18/14
Pros: aj madison was a great company quick delivery, and one problem taken care of immediately., delivery people extremely helpful.
"Absolutely the best! We looked at many different Wine Chillers for a few months after the one we had stopped working. The common comment was always that the shelves weren't sturdy and you had to remove shelves to put in Pinot Noir wine bottles.
Not the Summit Wine Chiller! The shelves are wooden, stops prevent them from falling out, additional shelves are not an extra expense...and the big thing... Pinot Noir bottles fit under the other shelves. We love it."
Review 4 for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Texas
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Summit SWC1875 review
Posted:12/23/13
Pros: temperature stability quiet capacity.
Cons: none
"Overall excellent product. Holds the temperature well in all areas, quiet, and holds the number of bottles advertised as long as the bottles stored are not unusually large."
Review 5 for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Maryland
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Poor Quality - Avoid
Posted:10/29/13
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: low cost
Cons: poor quality, loud
"I have three different wine coolers. This one is the worst unit I own. It's very noisy and I suspect not very efficient. Worst thing is that water does not drain from the top compartment. I called and emailed the company's technical support department to get diagrams that would show how the drain is connected. The company didn't have a service manual or diagram that showed the tubes and had no idea what it should look like. They told me to call a service company. Instead I took the drains apart and found the drain tube between the upper and lower compartments was squeezed shut during assembly. While the price is low, so is the quality. I'll replace this with a better brand. Picture of the faulty tube is attached. Visible damage was caused during removal, but the crushed part is visible."
Review 6 for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:San Jose, CA
Owned Product:6-12 months
Would Recommend: Yes
Great wine cooler!!!
Posted:3/28/13
Pros: accurate temperature
Cons: short lifespan
"This wine cooler keeps the temperature fluctuation at a minimum unlike Wine Enthusiast N'Finity wine cooler. I like my wine cooler but it started to stop working after 11 months and luckily it is still under warranty.
In the end, Summit decided to replace my wine cooler with a new one. Great product and Okay warranty service from Summit."
Review 7 for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Chicago burbs, IL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
summit wine cooler
Posted:12/26/12
Pros: nice value good use of space
Cons: none that i can think of
"I had a limited space to fit a cooler, so this was the one to get. Its got great features and does what its supposed to do. Everything feels and looks good. Because it vents out the bottom in front it can be installed in a cabinet or right up to the wall behind it. If there is one issue, it is that the long bottles of cabernet make it difficult to fill the cooler to capacity. Not surprising in a compact unit, but with a bit of planning I was able to fill it to capacity."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:San Francisco Bay Area
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Very adequate wine 'frig
Posted:11/22/12
Pros: good value; attractive appearance;, quite compact for its bottle capacity
Cons: not energystar rated -not well insulated
"The unit is rated for 108 bottles. It's a very tight fit with just the right diameter bottles for that quantity. The unit has a nice appearance. It runs fairly quietly. Since it is not EnergyStar rated (well-insulated), if you want to store predominantly white wines in the low 50's, the unit will run a lot which is costly. For wine storage in the low-mid 60's (close to average ambient temperatures) it's quiet, the compressor runs infrequently and the unit operates economically. After an electric power outage, when power restarts the unit restarts and is factory set to cool to 53-degrees. It does not appear from the instructions that feature can be reset. That can be costly 'til the unit is manually reset to a higher desired temperature. All-in-all, I am quite satisfied. It is a very good value for my needs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:san francisco
Owned Product:0-6 months
Would Recommend: Yes
a bit loud
Posted:9/3/12
"looks and works very good but louder than our kitchen frige."
Review 10 for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:DC Metro Area
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
This is the one
Posted:5/3/12
"Did not have an option to place a wine cellar in my house and made the decesion to purchase a cooler.......well this is the one. Great looks -- easy controlls -- and keeps the wine just perfect"
Review 11 for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent!
Posted:4/19/12
"Perfect - this is exactly what we were looking for - keeps perfect temperature, can be locked, runs quietly and is extremely sleek and nice looking. We bought two and had them built in to our wine grotto. If you want to store larger bottles like Pinot Noir or Prosecco, you can take out the bottom rack. Very satisfied with this product!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Midland, MI
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Look
Posted:3/31/12
Pros: can really keep cold at 39-40 degf with no problem, nice look
Cons: trays seem designed for odd sized bottles, trays are not set up for oversized bottles
"Was hesitant of ordering on line, but I have been very pleased and the unit is as much as I hoped for. Looks great and lives up to its promise."
Review 13 for Summit Built In Wine Cooler SWC1875
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Austin, TX
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Summit Wine Cooler
Posted:12/28/11
Pros: good looks. temperature control.
Cons: a bit too noisy.
"Received the wine cooler on date and time specified. Was in excellent condition. Had the "inside delivery" option and the delivery guys were really good about moving the unit carefully into the room specified. Wish they would have removed all of the shipping materials - was difficult getting rid of the large items.
Unit is a bit more noisy than I had hoped for. Is definitely louder than our refrigerator. Holds temps in each of the sections really well. Unit seems to cycle almost continuously - perhaps a circulating fan rather than the compressor.
The larger bottles of pinot noir, burgandy, champagne, chardonnay do not fit well between most of the shelves - had to remove a couple of shelves to get these bottle types to fit. This really reduces the effective capacity."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.