AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Built In Dishwashers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX

What's special about German engineering is special about Bosch. Bosch takes pride in their ability to overcome technological obstacles. They face these daunting challenges so they can produce world-class, intuitive machines that use fewer resources. And that's why they'll never be afraid of the work it takes to engineer the world's best machines. Available at AJ Madison. Their vision comes directly from the words of Robert Bosch, whose vision is still being lived by employees everywhere. This spirit is also embedded in all their appliances, which help their customers' lives day after day. Best-in-Class Quiet Bosch looks at noise reduction from all angles, as they've employed 18 unique sound-reducing technologies in their washers. And as the quietest line of dishwashers in the U.S., Bosch has a silence rating as low as 39 dBA (quietest dishwasher sold in North America). All Bosch quiet levels are certified by an independent lab and printed on the fascia. Most Efficient Winning the 2011 ENERGY STAR Award for Sustained Excellence was just the latest feather in Bosch's cap - after all, they've won two straight ENERGY STAR Partner of the Year Awards. German-Engineered Quality When they talk about German engineering, they're talking about their commitment to producing the world's best products. They use the smartest thinking to make complex machinery easy to operate while using the highest-quality materials to build them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX
Review 1 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Teaneck, NJ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
shhhhh
Posted:7/24/12
Pros: Quiet
Cons: none
" I'm an Audio Engineer so I don't like excessivly loud anything. I expected this to be quieter than the GE unit I once owned. But I cracked up the first time I ran it and stopped it twice to open it and make sure it was working. This thing is surprisingly big (holds more dishes than I anticipated) and so quiet you only hear the water flowing in and out. "
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Arcata, CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Great for a small space
Posted:8/12/15
Pros: small size, looks good, cleans dishes well, reasonably quiet, great for a small space
Cons: dishes only dry if you leave the door open, user manual not very good
" The unit looks great and cleans dishes very well. It's reasonably quiet (especially compared to my old one). I bought it because I have a small kitchen and it's smaller size makes it perfect from that sense.
I'm still figuring out how to load it most effectively, particularly the silverware rack. The rack seems to be designed to nestle down into the bottom rack, but when you do that it interferes with the rotation of the bottom sprayer. Unfortunately, there's nothing in the manual about where it's supposed to be located. There has to be a better way than the way I'm doing it, but I haven't figured it out yet.
The biggest negative issue I have with the unit is that after the cycle is complete the dishes stay wet unless you open the door and let them air dry. If you don't open the door, the interior space stays so humid that everything is wet, the dishes, the walls of the unit, etc. Again, there may be a way to deal with this that I haven't figured out (other than opening the door and waiting for it to dry), but if so I can't find any information about it in the user manual. "
Review 3 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:San Francisco CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent for small kitchens
Posted:1/6/14
Pros: extremely quiet energy efficient high quality
Cons: price but wait for a sale
" There are not many choices when it comes to 18" dishwashers for small spaces. This Bosch dishwasher is excellent. It is more expensive than a lot of dishwashers out there, but the benefits outweigh the price. It is super quiet, efficient (hardly makes a blip on our power and water bills) and gets the job done. The smaller size means you may have to run it more frequently i.e. once a day, but for two adults and a baby household it is perfect. Excellent quality and design, which is to be expected from a German appliance. It was also pretty easy to install. My husband did it over a weekend. I definitely would recommend this dishwasher. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Best Dishwasher for Small Places
Posted:7/15/13
Pros: extremely quiet great basket layout water softne
Cons: none
" Exceptional quality, easy to use, extremely quiet, water softner a great bonus. You get what you pay for and this one is well worth the money just wish i had enough room for a full size Bosch. "
Review 5 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Alexandria, VA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Bosch is the Best
Posted:5/8/13
Pros: attractive quiet cleans well can do half a load
Cons: no real cons!
" I love my new 18" dishwasher. I have a very small kitchen and decided the counter top dishwasher had to go. My new one looks great and does a great job cleaning the dishes. Thank goodness there is a light on the floor when the machine is running, otherwise it is hard to tell that it is on.
Two things about it...I wish I had ordered the model without the handle on the front...too many handles in my kitchen! I gave 5 star rating across the board because it is a marvelous machine...only difficulty is in knowing where to load the deep round bowls that I use for oatmeal every morning....they don't fit into any of the wire holders very well. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Brooklyn Heights
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Looks and works GREAT!!
Posted:5/7/13
Pros: looks amazing!!
Cons: expensive but worth it
" This thing is amazing!! I love it so much and perfect for a small apartment. Quite and the panel front looks so good in a tiny space!!! Worth the extra $$$ "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:New York City
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
Not that quiet and doesn't dry dishes
Posted:9/24/12
Pros: gorgeous
Cons: doesn't dry dishes
" Disclaimers: 1. I live in a studio apartment and 2. this is the first dishwasher I've owned.
I'm also switching it out for a different brand.
Here's why - while yes, it's gorgeous, it is not that quiet. This might pertain to living in a small space but I do hear churning and water. It's not so loud that it's distracting, but trust me, you hear it.
That's not the deal breaker.
This machine doesn't dry dishes. The cycle finishes and you've got a machine full of wet dishes.
Unfortunately instead of just stating that in the sales material, they don't mention it at all. Major bummer and (in a sense) false advertising.
For $900 your dishes should be dry. "
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Altadena, CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Great dishwasher
Posted:9/8/12
" Perfect for small spaces. Spotless cleaning. Like all European appliances, the cycles run longer than American products', but the result is flawless. Energy efficient and very quiet. The custom panel my model required makes the machine integrate seamlessly into the kitchen. Couldn't think of a better product. "
Review 9 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Very Satisfied
Posted:5/23/12
Pros: dishwasher works great.
Cons: terrible directions
" Good price and it was IN STOCK. No wait at all and delivered earlier then estimated. The dishwasher works very well after you fumble through the vague directions. Bosch on the other hand has directions that are very general and the drawings showed no detail. In one case, the drawing showed only two screw holes but on the machine there were 6 screw holes in that area. Make the drawing the same as what you working with I say?? "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Quiet Quiet Quiet
Posted:3/22/12
Pros: quiet quiet quiet
Cons: doesn't do laundry
" Wow, that's quiet, and such a reasonable price. Very sturdy and well made. Have had it about a month and am very satisfied with the dishwasher's design and sound level. I've been told it's quieter than other Bosch dishwashers from some guests who heard this one (or didn't hear it) and were amazed. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great dishwasher for small areas
Posted:3/8/12
" Great addition to our small kitchen. Looks awesome. "
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SPX5ES55UCX
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4