AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Built In Dishwashers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7

What's special about German engineering is special about Bosch. Bosch takes pride in their ability to overcome technological obstacles. They face these daunting challenges so they can produce world-class, intuitive machines that use fewer resources. And that's why they'll never be afraid of the work it takes to engineer the world's best machines. Available at AJ Madison. Their vision comes directly from the words of Robert Bosch, whose vision is still being lived by employees everywhere. This spirit is also embedded in all their appliances, which help their customers' lives day after day. Best-in-Class Quiet Bosch looks at noise reduction from all angles, as they've employed 18 unique sound-reducing technologies in their washers. And as the quietest line of dishwashers in the U.S., Bosch has a silence rating as low as 39 dBA (quietest dishwasher sold in North America). All Bosch quiet levels are certified by an independent lab and printed on the fascia. Most Efficient Winning the 2011 ENERGY STAR Award for Sustained Excellence was just the latest feather in Bosch's cap - after all, they've won two straight ENERGY STAR Partner of the Year Awards. German-Engineered Quality When they talk about German engineering, they're talking about their commitment to producing the world's best products. They use the smartest thinking to make complex machinery easy to operate while using the highest-quality materials to build them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.54 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (215 reviews)
5 stars
141
4 stars
61
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
5
200 of 210(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Review 1 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Greenville, Maine
Would Recommend: Yes
Not applicable
Posted:1/27/16
" The unit arrived damaged, and unusable. The representative, Gina, that we worked with to return the product was very helpful in the process. "
Review 2 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Vermont
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Quiet and Squeaky Clean
Posted:1/6/16
Pros: real real quiet, cleanest dishes yet
Cons: tray layout
" We replaced an older plastic tub dishwasher with this Bosch unit. Unit is incredibly quiek - the gurgle of the water in the drain is louder than the wash cycle! Dishes get much cleaner. We do find the layout of the trays not as efficient as we'd like, but overall an excellent product. "
Review 3 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Good buy for money
Posted:11/18/15
Pros: bang for buck, looks
Cons: drying could be improved
" Drying could be better, but overall satisfied. You must do the sanitize cycle with rinse aid to get adequate drying. "
Review 4 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:gastonia, nc
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Terrible
Posted:11/14/15
Pros: none
Cons: poor design of racks and silverware, bottom rack falls when pulling out
" One would expect a "class" product but you will not get it with this dishwasher. The racks are poorly designed and the capacity is much less than the Kenmore we replaced this with causing numerous loads for the same amount of dishes. The bottom rack must be held up when pulling out or putting back in. Not enough space for silverware. Overal a piece of junk. "
Review 5 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Rural Arizona
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Finest Dishwasher We've Ever Had
Posted:11/12/15
Pros: quiet quiet quiet
Cons: none that we've discovered
" We have, over the years, had a number of different dishwashers. It is as quiet as as it's reputation says. Almost impossible to tell it's running. Does an excellent job cleaning. Most impressive job of drying plastics something none of our previous dishwashers could accomplish. There are a variety of settings that we've not used. The auto cycle does a fine job on everything from pots and pans to glassware and plastic. "
Review 6 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
It will do
Posted:7/7/15
Pros: clean design, reasonable noise level, does a good job of cleaning dishes
Cons: poor rack arrangement, plastic bottom, doesn't completely dry dishes
" I bought this appliance because I had a 12-year old model in my other house that I absolutely loved. This model seems to be a step down from that one, but is still a decent machine.
The noise level is reasonable. You can hear the dishwasher if nothing else is on, but it isn't annoying. If a ceiling fan or something else is on I don't notice the dishwasher at all.
The bottom of the tub is no longer stainless steel. It is a hard plastic. Not sure if I like that yet.
The tines in the racks are not well-suited for the dishes I have and on the top rack, you have to fill an entire row with glasses or they will topple over. I have already lost one glass to this.
If you have anything plastic in your load, it will not get completely dry and there is often a significant amount of moisture left in the machine after a load. I worry about mold developing if you don't run the machine very often. "
Review 7 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:California
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Posted:4/13/15
Pros: great price for such a wonderful dishwasher., dishes are spotless and it is incredibly quiet.
Cons: none
" We have had this dishwasher for approximately one month. I purchased it to replace my old Bosch dishwasher, which lasted 13 years! I am completely sold on these products. The price was excellent, the dishes come out spotless and it is so quiet, you have to put your ear right next to it to determine if it's on or not! This was a Consumer Reports Best Buy, and it is easy to see why. Would highly recommend. "
Review 8 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Sterling, VA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Good value
Posted:11/2/14
Pros: fairly quite
Cons: a little small inside when compared to other, similar models.
" Item washes good and is not too noisy. Price was good for the quality received. "
Review 9 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:lOUSIANA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Dishwsher
Posted:8/27/14
Pros: cleans well and quite
Cons: strong smell of plastic
" While this washer is very quite and cleans the dishes very good it was listed as SS tub. This is not so as the bottom is plastic which has a very strong smell. If I had to do it over I would not buy this washer. "
Review 10 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Morris County NJ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Dishwasher
Posted:4/8/14
Pros: gets dishes really clean
Cons: none
" Good dishwasher. Good value.Very quite. I am happy with product. "
Review 11 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Quiet, efficient, looks great
Posted:2/17/14
Pros: quiet efficient looks great
Cons: none
" Great dishwasher!!! It's quiet, holds a ton of dishes and looks great alongside our other stainless appliances. We run it on the quick "Express Wash" and it does a great job cleaning all our dishes. The stainless interior looks clean and shiny even after months of use "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Atlanta, GA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Posted:2/6/14
Pros: great function and quiet operation.
Cons: expensive.
" I really like this dishwasher. We replaced a dishwasher whose motherboard died of natural causes (heavy family use for 15 years) and would have cost half of the cost of the new Bosch to fix. We love the clean lines and quiet operation of this model. Of course we wish it cost less, as it was a little hard to rationalize replacement when it was so hard to value the actual age of the Kitchenaid as a risk of early replacement if we fixed the motherboard for half of the price of the Bosch. "
Review 13 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Gainesville, FL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent dishwasher!!
Posted:2/2/14
Pros: conserves water quiet cleans dishes beautifully
" I chose this dishwasher over all the others I was considering because so many of the reviews were 5 star (all of them at the time I bought it).
Boy am I glad I did!!
This does a great job on dishes, really clean, and uses small amounts of water.
It is very quiet too.
This is the best dishwasher I have ever used. I love it.
By the way, no heat element is a great thing, as you don't need heat. Just open the door at the end of the cycle. It's the same as putting wet dishes in the dish rack------the air drys them perfectly.
"
Review 14 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Eufaula, Al
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Best by Far
Posted:1/29/14
" In my 70+ years, this is by far the best dishwasher I have ever had. The price was great and AJMadison was easy to deal with.
I have told many people about the buy I got and will continue to do so. When needing another appliance this is the place I will go.
"
Review 15 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Denver, CO
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Best Appliance Ever
Posted:1/10/14
" I've never had such a positive experience with an appliance, this machine is amazing. After learning that one company doesn't make the best of everything (I had tried to standardize my kitchen on GE) and going through two terrible dishwashers in 8 years, I finally did the research and bought this one. No regrets whatsoever. It's effective, quiet, good looking, everything. "
Review 16 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Columbus OH
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Love Love Love this!
Posted:11/17/13
Pros: quiet sleek excellent performance
Cons: arrange installation before they come to your door
" I appreciate every day that I have a dishwasher, and I LOVE this one. Quiet, high capacity, and the dishes come out CLEAN even when you take them from table to dishwasher (no rinsing). Seriously! Even better, 99% of the mugs are DRY when you go to put them away. Happy happy purchase. I will always buy Bosch for dishwashers. Great value, great look, get this! "
Review 17 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:San Antonio, TX
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
We like!
Posted:10/3/13
" Machine works well, and we got very good service from AJ Madison. We looked around and the price was better than any other - plus free shipping - NY to TX!
Almost too quiet though - hard to tell when it is done working. "
Review 18 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Long Island, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent Dishwasher
Posted:8/13/13
Pros: very quiet and everything comes out spotless
Cons: seems smaller inside than the machine it replaced.
" It does an excellent job cleaning and it's very quiet. I have to put my ear next to it to hear if it is running. "
Review 19 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Denton, TX
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Life is Good! (With Bosch, anyways)
Posted:6/13/13
Pros: Quiet, relatively inexpensive, thorough
Cons: no disposal, doesn't clean as well with liquid soap
" We bought our old GE dishwasher sort-of-new from a guy who had purchased a new home and wanted something better than a "stock" appliance. That $300 Craigslist GE took our guff for 7 whole years and, while it always performed "satisfactorily', we had no idea what we were missing until now!
When it became apparent that our GE was not going to improve at mediocrity, we decided it was our turn to go high-end. This Bosch was our selection because CR rated it in the top 10 and it was HALF the price of the other models (who had only beat it out by one point at 82, this one scored 81!).
So I searched and found the least expensive online retailer and held my breath until it arrived. On that glorious day the first wash was so-so, but its' performance did improve after that. We learned that this machine prefers powdered detergent and our dishes are SPARKLING now!
It is indeed the QUIETEST machine in the house. Even with my ear up to it, I cannot hear it. I can only tell that it is on, by the sounds coming from our sink, when it pulls from the water line. So waaaay cool, Bosch!
This model does have a manual filter that you need to check often, like every 2-3 cycles, as I found that my long hair can find its' way into the washer and clog the drain pan. But that is part of why it is so quiet, with no disposal.
It dries only so-so, but I do not care very much about that, I simply crack the door after it is done and save energy anyhow. This also means that without a heating element, my delicate items are safer and less likely to melt.
Speaking of saving energy, the other cool part of this machine is that it has an on/off button, so you don't have beeping every time you open and close it to load something. You only turn it on when you want to run it, and upon emptying it you can select off until the next time. A small thing, but very cool, nonetheless.
Overall, I am happy to be living the good life with such a beautiful appliance to gaze upon as I cook. :-D
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
cleans great, weird racks
Posted:3/26/13
" it works really well, dishes come out so much cleaner than my GE washer in my second home
only negative is the racks have very small spaces between the bars, takes some getting used to "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.