AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Built In Dishwashers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7

What's special about German engineering is special about Bosch. Bosch takes pride in their ability to overcome technological obstacles. They face these daunting challenges so they can produce world-class, intuitive machines that use fewer resources. And that's why they'll never be afraid of the work it takes to engineer the world's best machines. Available at AJ Madison. Their vision comes directly from the words of Robert Bosch, whose vision is still being lived by employees everywhere. This spirit is also embedded in all their appliances, which help their customer's lives day after day. Best-in-Class Quiet Bosch looks at noise reduction from all angles, as they've employed 18 unique sound-reducing technologies in their washers. And as the quietest line of dishwashers in the U.S., Bosch has a silence rating as low as 39 dBA (quietest dishwasher sold in North America). All Bosch quiet levels are certified by an independent lab and printed on the fascia. Most Efficient Winning the 2011 ENERGY STAR Award for Sustained Excellence was just the latest feather in Bosch's cap - after all, they've won two straight ENERGY STAR Partner of the Year Awards. German-Engineered Quality When they talk about German engineering, they're talking about their commitment to producing the world's best products. They use the smartest thinking to make complex machinery easy to operate while using the highest-quality materials to build them.
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 of 22(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Review 1 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:lOUSIANA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Dishwsher
Posted:8/27/14
Pros: cleans well and quite
Cons: strong smell of plastic
"While this washer is very quite and cleans the dishes very good it was listed as SS tub. This is not so as the bottom is plastic which has a very strong smell. If I had to do it over I would not buy this washer."
Review 2 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Morris County NJ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Dishwasher
Posted:4/8/14
Pros: gets dishes really clean
Cons: none
"Good dishwasher. Good value.Very quite. I am happy with product."
Review 3 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Quiet, efficient, looks great
Posted:2/17/14
Pros: quiet efficient looks great
Cons: none
"Great dishwasher!!! It's quiet, holds a ton of dishes and looks great alongside our other stainless appliances. We run it on the quick "Express Wash" and it does a great job cleaning all our dishes. The stainless interior looks clean and shiny even after months of use"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Atlanta, GA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Posted:2/6/14
Pros: great function and quiet operation.
Cons: expensive.
"I really like this dishwasher. We replaced a dishwasher whose motherboard died of natural causes (heavy family use for 15 years) and would have cost half of the cost of the new Bosch to fix. We love the clean lines and quiet operation of this model. Of course we wish it cost less, as it was a little hard to rationalize replacement when it was so hard to value the actual age of the Kitchenaid as a risk of early replacement if we fixed the motherboard for half of the price of the Bosch."
Review 5 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Gainesville, FL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent dishwasher!!
Posted:2/2/14
Pros: conserves water quiet cleans dishes beautifully
"I chose this dishwasher over all the others I was considering because so many of the reviews were 5 star (all of them at the time I bought it).
Boy am I glad I did!!
This does a great job on dishes, really clean, and uses small amounts of water.
It is very quiet too.
This is the best dishwasher I have ever used. I love it.
By the way, no heat element is a great thing, as you don't need heat. Just open the door at the end of the cycle. It's the same as putting wet dishes in the dish rack------the air drys them perfectly.
"
Review 6 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Eufaula, Al
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Best by Far
Posted:1/29/14
"In my 70+ years, this is by far the best dishwasher I have ever had. The price was great and AJMadison was easy to deal with.
I have told many people about the buy I got and will continue to do so. When needing another appliance this is the place I will go.
"
Review 7 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Denver, CO
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Best Appliance Ever
Posted:1/10/14
"I've never had such a positive experience with an appliance, this machine is amazing. After learning that one company doesn't make the best of everything (I had tried to standardize my kitchen on GE) and going through two terrible dishwashers in 8 years, I finally did the research and bought this one. No regrets whatsoever. It's effective, quiet, good looking, everything."
Review 8 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Columbus OH
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Love Love Love this!
Posted:11/17/13
Pros: quiet sleek excellent performance
Cons: arrange installation before they come to your door
"I appreciate every day that I have a dishwasher, and I LOVE this one. Quiet, high capacity, and the dishes come out CLEAN even when you take them from table to dishwasher (no rinsing). Seriously! Even better, 99% of the mugs are DRY when you go to put them away. Happy happy purchase. I will always buy Bosch for dishwashers. Great value, great look, get this!"
Review 9 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:San Antonio, TX
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
We like!
Posted:10/3/13
"Machine works well, and we got very good service from AJ Madison. We looked around and the price was better than any other - plus free shipping - NY to TX!
Almost too quiet though - hard to tell when it is done working."
Review 10 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Long Island, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent Dishwasher
Posted:8/13/13
Pros: very quiet and everything comes out spotless
Cons: seems smaller inside than the machine it replaced.
"It does an excellent job cleaning and it's very quiet. I have to put my ear next to it to hear if it is running."
Review 11 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Denton, TX
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Life is Good! (With Bosch, anyways)
Posted:6/13/13
Pros: Quiet, relatively inexpensive, thorough
Cons: no disposal, doesn't clean as well with liquid soap
"We bought our old GE dishwasher sort-of-new from a guy who had purchased a new home and wanted something better than a "stock" appliance. That $300 Craigslist GE took our guff for 7 whole years and, while it always performed "satisfactorily', we had no idea what we were missing until now!
When it became apparent that our GE was not going to improve at mediocrity, we decided it was our turn to go high-end. This Bosch was our selection because CR rated it in the top 10 and it was HALF the price of the other models (who had only beat it out by one point at 82, this one scored 81!).
So I searched and found the least expensive online retailer and held my breath until it arrived. On that glorious day the first wash was so-so, but its' performance did improve after that. We learned that this machine prefers powdered detergent and our dishes are SPARKLING now!
It is indeed the QUIETEST machine in the house. Even with my ear up to it, I cannot hear it. I can only tell that it is on, by the sounds coming from our sink, when it pulls from the water line. So waaaay cool, Bosch!
This model does have a manual filter that you need to check often, like every 2-3 cycles, as I found that my long hair can find its' way into the washer and clog the drain pan. But that is part of why it is so quiet, with no disposal.
It dries only so-so, but I do not care very much about that, I simply crack the door after it is done and save energy anyhow. This also means that without a heating element, my delicate items are safer and less likely to melt.
Speaking of saving energy, the other cool part of this machine is that it has an on/off button, so you don't have beeping every time you open and close it to load something. You only turn it on when you want to run it, and upon emptying it you can select off until the next time. A small thing, but very cool, nonetheless.
Overall, I am happy to be living the good life with such a beautiful appliance to gaze upon as I cook. :-D
"
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
cleans great, weird racks
Posted:3/26/13
"it works really well, dishes come out so much cleaner than my GE washer in my second home
only negative is the racks have very small spaces between the bars, takes some getting used to"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Farmington, MI
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Love my dishwasher!
Posted:3/26/13
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"I could not possibly be any more thrilled with this dishwasher. I purposely leave the dishes "as is" (no rinsing) when loading (including dried cereal, eggs, and peanut butter). Dishes come out sparkling every time. I've had no issues with dishes not being dry (I do usually use the sanitize feature, this probably helps). If there is some resting water, I just leave the door open a bit for an hour or so while doing other things and I come back and they are dry - even the plastics. This dishwasher is so quiet, it is difficult to know it is running even when standing next to it. It also looks great. I am very glad that got the model with the buttons on the top, so they don't destroy the view! A new dishwasher isn't the most exciting part of a kitchen remodel, but when friends ask how it's going, the dishwasher is usually the first thing I rave about. Note - so far I've only used the Finish products as recommended."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
The silence is blaring
Posted:1/10/13
Pros: it does very well what you bought it to do
Cons: none
"What a quiet D/W should be.
It cleans the dishes and leaves them sparkling. If you open the door before it has cooled down water will form. We do them late at night and in the morning they are sparkling and dry."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Purchase
Posted:12/29/12
Pros: clean dry dishes
Cons: not happy with the loading but learning
"Love the special china cycle. Cleaned up after huge holiday dinner in no time and at the end of clean up all was washed and ready to put away. I am learning to load. Change doesn't always come easy even when it is an improvement."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:FL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Nice!
Posted:9/30/12
Pros: Quiet
Cons: long cycles
"The best thing is that it is quiet!
I would never have paid over 600 dollars for a dishwasher except it had a $300 rebate card. I gave "value" a 2 star based on the original price.
The cycles run for a very long time. Why is that? I rinse my dishes well before loading them. When in Florida you don't want to keep food around the kitchen area...."
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:chowchilla
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
great dishwasher if you use the right detergent
Posted:9/20/12
Pros: appearance, Quiet, easy to opperate
Cons: dish spacing, expensive detergent required, small tines, small compartment
"the dishwasher is a great dishwasher but you have to use the right detergent. we used the finish tabs supplied with the dishwasher and they left the dishes feeling greasy so we switched to the cascade liquid we used with our old dishwasher. the cascade works better but we are still going to try the cascade tabs and hope they work better. it is quiet, all you hear is the watter running out the drain and it looks really good in the kitchen. it has much less room than our old dishwasher that took up the same space. it also does not dry the dishes at all. the tines are small as well large things fall over."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Battle Ground, WA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Satisfied Customer
Posted:8/2/12
Pros: quality and price make this machine a good value
Cons: black front panel is blah -prefer textured surface
"I installed the Bosch Dishwasher SHX3AR7 myself about 1 month ago and learned to appreciate it's features. Above all it is well insulated and a quiet machine. There are several setting options (i.e. settings) that you can choose from. The beeping at the completion of the wash notifies you that it is finished, a nice reminder. The controls at the top of the door make reading the controls easy. The racks are adjustable with ample storage and good quality. The stainless steel interior is attactive and functional."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
On the Whole I Love It!
Posted:7/12/12
Pros: in my review!
Cons: wish it had a little more room
"I have nothing bad to say about this dishwasher. Consumer Reports recommended it highly in its price range and I bought it. It is so quiet that I can't hear it all from the next room and am barely aware of it in the kitchen. It doesn't have quite the capacity of my old Kenmore, but I am so happy with the cleaning job it does that I don't really mind. I wash some larger items by hand now, but that's not really a problem."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bosch Built In Dishwasher SHX3AR7
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Purchase
Posted:7/10/12
Pros: super quiet. cleans the dishes well.
Cons: none
"After much deliberation and online research, we decided to go with this dishwasher as it was the highest rated in Consumer Report. So far, we love it. It does the job and is so quiet that sometimes we are not sure it is on! The integrated controls give the dishwasher a sleek look."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.