AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Portable Dishwashers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sunpentown Portable Dishwasher SD9239

SD-9239: 18" Portable Dishwasher Spacious cavity loads up to eight standard place settings. Features easy controls, durable stainless steel interior and water temperature up to 154 F. Quick connect to any kitchen faucet eliminates the need for direct plumbing or permanent installation. Available at AJ Madison.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sunpentown Portable Dishwasher SD9239
Review 1 for Sunpentown Portable Dishwasher SD9239
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:San Diego, Ca
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Decent
Posted:9/30/13
" The dishwasher works okay but you have to pre-rinse completely. The door doesn't open flat, which causes the rack to roll back in so you have to hold it while you load.
It does look good, has the setting I need and it makes doing dishes simpler.
AJ Madison was super easy to work with. The website was helpful, and delivery was on time and painless. "
Review 2 for Sunpentown Portable Dishwasher SD9239
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Great!
Posted:6/28/13
" Love it!
Total life saver.
It comes with everything you need to hook it onto the faucet and it works great.
It has no instructions though, on how to "install" it you have to figure that one on your own.
It is quite big with the wheels and the space in the back where the hose and cable are stored.
(The box is huge and heavy!! but once its out rolling around its fine)
I would have loved to pay less of course but I it is good value for your money. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sunpentown Portable Dishwasher SD9239
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:jacksonville Fl
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Ms
Posted:5/9/13
" I have hard water and this dishwasher works wonders on my dishes. They come out clean, sprakle. I needed a small dishwasher for my small kitchen. This dw looks good is portable enough for my small space. I wouldn't change a thing. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sunpentown Portable Dishwasher SD9239
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Canton, OH
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great!
Posted:4/13/13
Pros: cleans well - quiet - attractive - made well
Cons: none
" This is a great little dishwasher! It cleans well, and it is quiet. The water where I live is extremely hard, and everything comes out shiny clean and spot free. It is attractive, and it seems to be made well. I have not had it for a long time, therefore; I cannot comment on how it will do over time. I appreciate that that the racks have removable parts and some of the dividers flatten to accommodate different pots, pans, cups, etc. I highly recommend this dishwasher! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sunpentown Portable Dishwasher SD9239
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Pipestone, MN
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent Product
Posted:12/26/12
Pros: price use of space and ease of set up
Cons: none
" This dishwasher has all the advantages of a built-in with the convienence of a portable.
The faucet attachment was super easy to install!
The dishes come out very clean.
The shelves are set up with more than enough seperations for dishes, cups, etc. The silverware holder is more than adequate.
The dishwasher was purchased as a gift for my daughter and she loves it. She has 5 children at home and the dishwasher keeps up with their needs.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sunpentown Portable Dishwasher SD9239
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Bolingbrook, IL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Wonderful Purchase!
Posted:11/26/12
Pros: cleans very well; easy to move & hook-up;, very quiet dishwasher
Cons: cycles are too long; needs to explain soap levels
" At first, I was concerned about ordering a dishwasher online, because I wanted to see it up close and personal before buying. I must say, I am very impressed by this dishwasher. It's cleans my dishes very well. I'm still learning about the different cycles and trying to understand how to measure how much soap to use, but the heavy duty cycle work best for me, because it take the full level of soap, so I don't have to measure, even though it's a very long cycle. The cycle length, I don't mind, because the dishwasher is very quiet and I forget it's running. I start the machine right after dinner and unload it in the morning. Very happy with this dishwasher. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sunpentown Portable Dishwasher SD9239
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Compact and Efficient
Posted:10/3/12
Pros: small efficient quiet and looks good
Cons: may need additional adapters flimsy in places
" We needed a small portable dishwasher to fit a very limited space in our city apartment kitchen. The SD9239's ~18" width was perfect and the reviews were extremely positive; along with the low price, it was the obvious choice for us. In the weeks since it arrived we haven't been disappointed—although there are a few things to be aware of.
First the positives: it cleans very thoroughly and quietly. There are several operating modes and the controls are simple to use. It looks very contemporary with the stainless exterior and black trim; and fits into very compact spaces. It rolls well on our kitchen floor, and the hard plastic top can be covered with a cutting board for additional prep space in a small kitchen.
Now the caveats: The hose attaches with a press-on seal. An adapter is provided for fitting to a basic standard-threaded faucet. Our faucet ("pull-down" type with a spray/stream head) had to be modified by removing the head completely and fitting an additional adapter—which in turn had to be sourced and ordered online. This hassle added an extra week after delivery before we could use the dishwasher—and meant our "premium" faucet lost its spray head function. Nothing in the product listing or manual will warn you about this possible scenario.
The other caveat is that with a low price, corners have to be cut somewhere. Some parts seem less than sturdy. The pull handle on the front feels flimsy and likely to break when opening the door. We've taken to pulling with our fingers around the door sides rather than using the handle. Also, there is a small spring-loaded bypass button on the hose attachment which popped off the second time we used the washer. It had to be reattached several times, but seems to be on for good now.
Despite the caveats this is a solid performer for the money. So far it's cleaned everything we've thrown in to it, which is all we wanted. Assuming it works this well in a couple of years, I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a portable dishwasher. "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sunpentown Portable Dishwasher SD9239
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Blacksburg, VA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Recommend it to anyone
Posted:9/13/12
" It's a great little dishwasher. Haven't had any problems with it, but I have only had it a month or so. I have never had a dishwasher before but it seems relatively quiet, cleans well, fits into space. I love it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sunpentown Portable Dishwasher SD9239
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Rhode Island
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Best Purchase Ever
Posted:7/25/12
Pros: the delivery was excellent too!
" Everything is great about this product. I would definitely tell friends about it. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sunpentown Portable Dishwasher SD9239
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:San Francisco
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Compact Dishwasher
Posted:6/28/12
Pros: runs quietly, spotless cleaning
Cons: hoses are plastic
" This dishwasher does everything you'd want in a portable dishwasher: compact size, spotless clean dishes, runs quietly, looks great. So far its been amazing. I'd recommend. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sunpentown Portable Dishwasher SD9239
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:New York City
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Does the Job
Posted:4/26/12
Pros: easy to maneuver; easy to use
" Moving into an older home & being without a D/W was just rediculous. I purchased this until a full kitchen remodel can be done. I actully thought it was going to be a nighmare. On the contrary, right out of the box, it was not. Although is a bit smaller than a traditional built-in, one can get quite amount of dishes in this machine if you plan on not placing your pots in there as well. The machine is simple to use and like most dishwashers out there, it gets the job done. The average cycle is about 2 hours from start to finish so its neither longer or shorter on the cycle times. Its easy to maneuver and rather quiet when running. No negative feeback.... "
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.