AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Under Cabinet Mount Hoods or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood RP130

Fresh salmon fillets are reason enough. But that's really just a start. Cooking smoke and greasy build-up are more than unpleasant, they're unhealthy. In fact, cooking churns out airborne contaminants like nothing else in the home can. This concentration of contaminants requires effective ventilation. That's where Broan comes in. As the residential ventilation leader, Broan offers more range hood kitchen ventilating solutions than anyone. From high-performance ducted models, to the most effective non-ducted units ever made. And they're all built to Broan's demanding quality standards. So you can count on them to help keep your kitchen cleaner for years to come. Built-in lighting means you can count on your Broan range hood to keep your kitchen brighter. Some units even include a convenient nightlight feature. There really is a difference with Broan. It's in the details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood RP130
Review 1 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood RP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Broan Range Hood
Posted:4/11/11
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: lights cfm sharp looking value
Cons: some items under hood could be better hidden.
"This range hood is fantastic. It's a very clean beautiful looking piece. I am very happy with it.
This hood is a GREAT value, and in my opinion, the best looking under-cabinet hood available.
Only cons, some things under the hood could be better hidden. UL sticker, mounting hardware, etc. I mounted mine much higher than normal though, probably not an issue with a standard mount."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood RP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Annapolis
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Range hood
Posted:7/12/14
Pros: quiet efficient fits a small kitchen space
Cons: none
"It's perfect for the small space I have. It's super quiet and efficient. AJ Madison matched a lower price I found on the internet."
Review 3 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood RP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Chicago IL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great product
Posted:11/26/13
"This hood has clean, professional lines and looks great in my contemporary kitchen. The fan draws really well. Even the low setting is enough for most pans of bacon, etc. Was easy to install and the 2 halogen lights with 2 settings are perfect. Recommended."
Review 4 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood RP130
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Awesome
Posted:11/11/13
Pros: simple elegant easy to install.
Cons: needs to be led bulb compatible in future versions, could maybe use a middle fan speed.
"Love this hood, easy to install... the first fan mode you can't even hear which is perfect. The next mode is full on and really removes smoke when you need to. I installed LED lights though and on the dimmer mode they flicker, something that could be improved. Great value. This hood actually has double the fans and hence better performance than our previous Broan that was fancier in style and more expensive... my advice: go simple, get more power and a bolder design for your kitchen."
Review 5 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood RP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:San Diego
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Best Value
Posted:4/20/13
Pros: quality and value
Cons: none
"I am a builder and do not want to spend overspend on a hood because its got a great name. Even though Broan is a good name they do not over price their hoods. I use this in million dollar homes. Its got a great commercial look to it. Easy to install. Quickly converts to updraft or back draft."
Review 6 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood RP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Philadelphia suburbs
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Great product; neeeds a few addons
Posted:4/3/11
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: solid well made attractive hood with exhaust fan, and lighting. a quality and competitive product
Cons: only two fan speeds.
"Nothing cheesey or flimsey about this product. Bought this range hood because (1) our mini-kitchen renovation includes a gas cook-top in an otherwise electric kitchen; and (2) we liked the "professional" stainless hood appearance to enhance the other stainless appliances in the kitchen renovation project.
We made sure we pre-wired for the hood, and it slid between the existing and under the new 30" cabinets like a greased pig. It is a bit difficult sliding the hood in place while feeding the power cable into the holes at the same time. Took two people.
Only negative comment so far is that I had hoped for continuous variable fan speed instead of just "Low" and "Tornado". Another very similar model has continuous variable speed.
Other areas where Broan might have given more product installation assistance to those of us who only do one or two of these in a life-time include:
1. How high to mount the hood. I saw the on-line controversy of 24" (you must be kidding) to 30" (pretty good, I think...a bit high for some) from the cook-top to the lower edge of the hood. The cook-top manufacturer said 30" minimum to a combustible surface, but the Broan hood is not a combustible surface so where should it go? It's a major decision that must be made early, in our case when we ordered the cabinet that went over the hood. So where should it go, Broan? Please share your guidlines.
2. Retro-venting the exhaust air. We had no choice but to vent to the outside via a 6" duct which goes up into the overhead cabinet and then makes a 90 degree right turn through the side of this and adjacent cabinets through the upper-most shelves and then through the outside wall to a wallcap. (see photo). It worked out successfully after several changes in the plans (go vertical to the top of the cabinets or through the cabinets? Use rectangular ducting all the way, circular ducting all the way or some combination?), but it would have been much easier, as a one-time do-er, with guidance from Broan regarding what is available in the way of purpose-designed ducting pieces to get the air from the hood's damper to the outside, and the options available. Especially key is the rather hidden fact that Broan sells a 3-1/4" X 10" rectangular to 6" diameter conversion duct to marry the 3-1/4" x 10" rectangular hood exit port to a standard 6" diameter duct for exiting to the outside (a home-improvement-bought floor vent duct doesn't do it). Such directly pertinent info from Broan would have been much appreciated BEFORE installation if placed on their website.
Other than these comments (which really have nothing to do with the quality of the product itself) and the note on the variable speed control above, I give it a firm thumbs up."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood RP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
awesome product
Posted:11/2/10
Pros: price looks and performance
Cons: none
"Bought this product online as it was 60 dollars cheaper than the local box store. I have to admit i was a little leary as i ordered a double oven also but everything arrived in excellent condition although it took them 3 weeks to process my order. But overall very satisfied with the experience and product, very quiet and moves more than enough air and it looks very professional."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood RP130
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Nice Hood
Posted:10/27/10
"This is a great hood with very clean lines. This will ensure an easy clean up. Aluminum filter replacements are readily available. Exterior venting, the only way to go."
Review 9 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood RP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Everything I wanted
Posted:9/28/10
Pros: great look quiet super lighting
Cons: installing the bulbs wasn't as easy as i'd hoped
"Low speed is so quiet, we've accidentally left it on overnight. High speed really moves lots of air. Follow the installation instructions from the website, though, 'cause the ones in the package had some erroneous dimensions. Installation was straightforward and easy."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.