AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Downdraft Hoods or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Broan Elite RMDD Downdraft Ventilation System RMDD

Downdraft Ventilation System with Internal or External Blower Options, Infinitely Adjustable Control, Heat Sentry, Dishwasher-Safe Filters and Optional Remote Control
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 9(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broan Elite RMDD Downdraft Ventilation System RMDD
Review 1 for Broan Elite RMDD Downdraft Ventilation System RMDD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Louisiana
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Very good replacement
Posted:4/8/16
Pros: appearance, good performance for downdraft unit, easy filter maintenance, Quiet, would buy again
Cons: it is a downdraft unit - overhead ventilation is, better when available.
" This product was purchased to replace an old unit (~ 24 years old) that had failed, was obsolete and couldn't be repaired. The new unit is better on all counts - better ventilation, more attractive appearance, quiet and more compact under the counter. The DIY replacement was challenging, but straightforward. The new unit is quieter, has better access to the filters, taller when extended (more effective), and has as much airflow. I would prefer an overhead unit - but it performs well for a downdraft system. "
Review 2 for Broan Elite RMDD Downdraft Ventilation System RMDD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Ormond Beach, FL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Fits well in limited space
Posted:2/15/16
Pros: easy to keep clean fits well works flawlessly.
Cons: at full speed a bit noisy like all range hoods
" We purchased this range hood to replace what looks like a rebranded older model. When the installer came to put it in, he just stared at it and finally said "I have never seen a replacement that went in so easily!"
This hood raises about 2" higher than our old pop-up range hood, has filters that are much easier to clean, and looks like it was designed to exactly match the new cook top we also installed. "
Review 3 for Broan Elite RMDD Downdraft Ventilation System RMDD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Olympia, WA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Do not buy
Posted:12/17/15
Pros: attractive
Cons: does not work. service will take over a month.
" Purchased an RMDD3604EX that was professionally installed on 11/06. Unit failed 12/15. Broan knew immediately the problem when I called which tells me this is a consistent issue. Service will take over a month. "
Review 4 for Broan Elite RMDD Downdraft Ventilation System RMDD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Product
Posted:7/29/15
" Does all it supposed to. Great value for money!! We got it installed recently and the product is pretty sleek in stainless steel. It has only one button which we think is great compared to having entire panel which starts choking once some grease starts mounting on it. "
Review 5 for Broan Elite RMDD Downdraft Ventilation System RMDD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:little rock, ar
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
wife likes what i bought
Posted:3/24/14
Pros: works great
Cons: somewhat loud but not to the point of bothersome
" when i ordered the vent, my wife was not happy with me as she was worried about the cfm being to low. had the vent installed and we are both happy with the purchase. the cfm is adequate even for smoky frying and we are both extremely pleased with the unit and a j madison "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Broan Elite RMDD Downdraft Ventilation System RMDD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Oakland, CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Does the Job
Posted:2/9/13
Pros: nice look, infinitely adjustable fan, easily cleaned
Cons: noisy, hoping the motor to raise and retract doesn't fail
" This is a retractable downdraft ventilation hood for our cooktop, replacing the same model that was previously there. The motor had failed to be able to raise the hood from the retracted position. The hood works well and has a sleek look in stainless steel. The adjustable fan allows infinite downdraft speed options, but the fan is rather noisy. The filters are easily removed and will be easily cleaned when that becomes necessary. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Broan Elite RMDD Downdraft Ventilation System RMDD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Houston. Texas
Would Recommend: Yes
Installation Instructions are lacking.
Posted:11/2/12
" We added this unit as a part of our kitchen remodel. We stripped the kitchen to the bones and rebuilt it. The unit has the internal blower which made it a good value. We had a wall to vent it through properly - but the directions were hard to understand. There is a pattern for the riser but what is described as the hole is not defined. I believe it is to be included in the hole for the cook top with the pattern to be used for granite/other counter top. We had to guess our way around configuring the unit and found an obscure document online that did not come with the unit which helped a bit. There is no direction for removing the top piece from the riser to install it. plus the motor seems to want to bring the top piece all the way to lowest position even though it shows that part of the riser housing is on top of the counter while part is beneath to secure it to the counter top. Confusing. Once in it is great. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Broan Elite RMDD Downdraft Ventilation System RMDD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Oregon
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Good pop-up vent...
Posted:5/28/12
Pros: reasonably high rise fairly powerful blower, fairly quiet seems well built
Cons: down-draft venting is not as effective as hoods
" Our kitchen layout made a standard vent-hood impractical. A pop-up vent was a good option. The original vent purchased about 6 years ago was never quite powerful enough, didn't rise high enough, and eventually failed. The Broan was purchased as a replacement, largely because it would fit without too many modifications to the cabinetry and duct-path, but also because it had a higher rise and a more powerful blower.
In an ideal world, I would have gotten this with the external blower (more powerful, and quieter because outside). But that would have required fairly extensive modifications, and would have cost a lot more.
In the end, if one needs a pop-up, down-draft vent, this is a good one. If there is room in your kitchen for a standard hood, you'll be happier if you go that route. "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Broan Elite RMDD Downdraft Ventilation System RMDD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Not very effective
Posted:5/27/10
" The downdraft looks good, except for the sheet metal that's on top of the counter. The contractors swear that it's installed correctly, but it looks pretty poor and needs additional trim. It also doesn't do a very good job in what it's supposed to do, an external blower would have been better. My range is under a skylight so I mostly just open the skylight. "
18 of 21 people found this review helpful.