AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC

Welcome to SAMSUNG. For over 70 years, SAMSUNG has been dedicated to making a better world through diverse businesses that today span advanced technology, semiconductors, skyscraper and plant construction, petrochemicals, fashion, medicine, finance, hotels, and more. Their flagship company, SAMSUNG Electronics, leads the global market in high-tech electronics manufacturing and digital media. Through innovative, reliable products and services; talented people; a responsible approach to business and global citizenship; and collaboration with their partners and customers, SAMSUNG is taking the world in imaginative new directions. Available at AJ Madison. The Samsung Philosophy. At SAMSUNG, they follow a simple business philosophy: to devote their talent and technology to creating superior products and services that contribute to a better global society. Every day, their people bring this philosophy to life. Their leaders search for the brightest talent from around the world, and give them the resources they need to be the best at what they do. The result is that all of their products - from memory chips that help businesses store vital knowledge to mobile phones that connect people across continents - have the power to enrich lives. And that's what making a better global society is all about. Their Vision. Their Mission. SAMSUNG is guided by a singular vision: to lead the digital convergence movement. They believe that through technology innovation today, they will find the solutions they need to address the challenges of tomorrow. From technology, comes opportunity - for businesses to grow, for citizens in emerging markets to prosper by tapping into the digital economy, and for people to invent new possibilities. It's their aim to develop innovative technologies and efficient processes that create new markets, enrich people's lives and continue to make Samsung a trusted market leader. Everything they do at SAMSUNG is guided by their mission: to be the best "digital-eCompany". When space is at a minimum, the Samsung RF197AC is the perfect fit. This 18 cu. ft. French Door refrigerator is almost 3" slimmer than conventional models. And also delivers the same innovative features Samsung is known for, like its Twin Cooling Plus cooling system. It keeps your food fresher longer. And surround air flow keeps the refrigerator at the ideal temperature. Expecting guests You can also fast chill or fast freeze your food whenever you need it. Worried about the electric bill This refrigerator is ENERGY STAR rated so you can rest assured that it's energy efficient.
Average Customer Rating:
4.08 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
4
39 of 50(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Review 1 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Just want I wanted
Posted:4/26/11
Pros: bottom freezer no bending to get veggies., counterdepth without the high price
Cons: none
"I searched for a couple of years for a refrigerator that would fit in the space allotted by the original builder of the house without spending two thousand dollars. This one is perfect. Just the right size, installation was a cinch, and the freezer stays very cold. Delivery was no problem. The delivery service called a couple of days in advance to set up a time window. The guys took off the packing and brought it into the kitchen. No dents, no scratches, no missing parts, Didn't need an installer, there were clear instructions on putting on the handles and setting up the ice maker. We have had it a month with no problems."
32 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Love this fridge
Posted:4/11/11
Pros: good looking well built
Cons: none
"This is a great deal for a counter depth good looking fridge. The fridge is well thought out and well built."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:NYC, NJ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Small fridge = small storage
Posted:2/13/14
Pros: nice finish.
Cons: limited space. freezer fills quickly.
"Very little space for taller items like milk cartons, Brita canister, soda bottles, etc. I wouldn't buy or recommend. Right hand door always stays open because left hand door makes it pop open."
Review 4 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Looks good, works fine.
Posted:1/24/14
Pros: very quiet. nicely lit.
Cons: the refrigerator doors don't close on their own.
"Overall, I'm very happy with this purchase. The refrigerator looks good and works fine. The compressor is very quiet. I could lay down and take a nap next to this thing, and I wouldn't be bothered at all. I recently purchased a (less expensive) refrigerator from a competitor which generates a whole array of clicking, buzzing and whirring noises.
Note that the refrigerator doors won't close on their own -- they must be pushed shut. That's because there's a sealing strip which pops out to seal the gap between the doors. It takes force to close the doors, causing this strip to pop out.
The other thing about this refrigerator is that it's very leisurely. When I first turned it on, it took hours to cool down. Unlike most refrigerators, this one has virtually no circulation of cold air throughout the refrigerator or freezer compartments."
Review 5 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:pennsylvania
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
french door fridge
Posted:12/17/13
Pros: none
Cons: none
"so far all went well, delivered almost on time. a little difficulty in directions. all is well so far otherwise."
Review 6 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:northern Colorado
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Refrig but delivered w bedbug
Posted:10/22/13
Pros: good size for small kitchen
Cons: not the most affordable frig; delivered w/ bedbug
"We searched long and hard for a counter-depth frig we could afford for our very small kitchen. This item also was on back order for weeks, but fortunately we were not in a huge hurry. This frig works very well so far, although the different door closure takes some getting used to. The refrig has a very quiet door-open alarm because the doors don't self close at all. What we did NOT appreciate was that our delivery came along with a live bedbug. There is no way to be certain if the bedbug came from A.J. Madison or somewhere else along the delivery chain. The frig is fine, but it's tough that you have to pay so much more when you want a smaller frig."
Review 7 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Crossville, TN
Would Recommend: Yes
As described
Posted:10/5/13
"The unit was delivered on time as described and in perfect condition. The delivery folks were clean, courtious and helpful."
Review 8 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Lake Charles, La.
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Love it... clever design. Works super
Posted:9/20/13
Pros: big style and space in a small footprint
Cons: limited shelf arrangements available
"Exactly what I expected...at quite a bargain, too."
Review 9 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:North Palm Beach, FL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Easy and trouble-free purchase
Posted:9/9/13
Pros: nice design; and good ice-maker
Cons: not quite counter-depth
"This particular refrigerator with bottom freezer was one of the few available to meet all my criteria. It is advertised as counter-depth, but it protrudes out by an inch, which I don't like. Maybe the installers didn't push it back far enough, and being elderly, I am unable to do it myself until company happens to come by. Otherwise, it was exactly as stated. Its icemaker in the freezer makes plenty of ice, and the cubes are a good size. Only other drawback is that the top shelf is a little higher than I am used to - I am only 5 ft., so maybe the fault lies with me."
Review 10 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Eastern Long Island, NY
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Run from this Refrigerator
Posted:8/6/13
Pros: pretty
Cons: failure prone unrepairable
"What a nightmare this refrigerator has been. After cooling failure in the 2 yr old refrigerator we had 4 repair visits in 8 weeks. Problem never fixed and purchase price refunded in full by extended warrantee company."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Oregon
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Not a refrigerator for foodies or cooks
Posted:6/17/13
Pros: nice looking, good freezer, great interior lighting
Cons: badly laid out shelves and drawers, cheap plastic interior parts, terrible crisper drawers
"We bought this refrigerator because it cost significantly less than comparable French Door, bottom freezer refrigerators. In this case, you get what you pay for... which is to say, we should have spent the extra money.
1) Others have said this, but I will reiterate: this refrigerator is VERY limited in terms of how tall anything can be. You must use the doors for anything as tall as a gallon of milk. That's fine with us, but once you've used the door shelves for milk, juice, wine, etc. it's extraordinarily hard to organize the rest of the refrigerator--the shelving options are so limited.
2) The crisper drawers aren't good--Carrots and celery wilted in two days.
3) The plastic parts on the crisper drawers, etc. feel fragile and cheap. These aren't going to hold up.
We cook and entertain often and found this refrigerator to be impossible. We returned it after two weeks of frustration and forked out the extra money for a refrigerator that can be better organized and keeps our lettuce crisp."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Yuma, Az.
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Norcold Replacement
Posted:3/29/13
Pros: very quiet / constant temperatures /large freezer, and ice maker compared to our original fridge.
Cons: need door locks while traveling!!
"Replaced the faulty / not so cold Norcold 1210 fridge in our motorhome with a new Samsung RF197ACRS - delivery was as promised, although slight damage to one door during shipping - called customer service and received replacement door in 2 days.
Refrigerator is very quiet, constant 38 deg. F in fridge section, -2 deg. F in freezer section.
Nice bright upgrade to our M/H.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Wausau, WI
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator
Posted:3/27/13
Pros: looks price
Cons: space common sense use
"Nice refrigerator but the bottom freezer is very small and everything needs to be stacked on top of everything else. A definite drawback to this type of freezer. The top refrigerator is nice but lacks a lot of common sense engineering... you cannot put a milk jug in the main compartment, they only fit in the doors. Also the trays do move but they have only 2 options for the middle and only 1 option for the top. All in all looks nice but not one I would buy again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Bay Area, California
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
Disappointing
Posted:3/11/13
Pros: looks good.
Cons: broke after about 4 weeks of use.
"The refrigerator looks good and fit my size requirements and has fairly good adjustments inside. However, it stopped working completely after only about 4 weeks of service. Samsung was awful to deal with - long wait times on the phone, "Customer service" agents who could only do what was scripted, no supervisors available and a VERY long wait for a decision. It took a total of 3 visits from the certified Samsung technicians, to determine that the refrigerator was beyond repair. All this time I was using a tiny, apartment sized refrigerator. When they finally decided to replace the refrigerator, it took over a month for them to get the paperwork to the retailer where I bought the thing. AJ Madison was great to deal with, especially Michelle in customer service, but Samsung was terrible. In telling others this horror story, I have discovered 2 acquaintances who have bought a bottom freezer Samsung and both have had to be replaced during the warranty period. Wish I'd known that before. Let the buyer beware on this product. The replacement is working fine, but it has only been about 4 weeks, so its only made it as long as the first one so far."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Upper West Side, NYC
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Uniquely Perfect
Posted:12/27/12
Pros: look lighting finish
Cons: tall item storage somewhat limited
"We bought this fridge as part of a full kitchen reno back in Fall, 2010. We have a galley kitchen in a Manhattan brownstone and so size was critical. Finding a unit that fit was easy. Finding one that fit and met our expectations for looks and functionality, not so easy. Until we found this unit.
Love the French doors, good size storage on each for both large (gallon) and tall, as well as adjustable shelves for smaller items.
Glass shelving is less adjustable but meets our needs. Again, we're used to working with less space than your average homeowner.
Finish is beautiful and SS cleans up well with specialized products. Freezer drawers are huge and hold much more than you would expect, but conversely are not hard to dig through to find stuff. Factory settings make for hard freeze and I've never experienced and issues. Ice maker is a bit on the slow side but we're not keeping a bar. Leave it on for 24 hours and the bin is full."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Would not buy again
Posted:12/16/12
"I bought this 8 months ago due to space limitations in my kitchen, it's ss looks, low cost, and good reviews. The good first. It's very energy efficient compared to my old fridge and it does look nice. The interior lay out is small but nicely designed. The bad: it will only cool to 38 degrees (set @ 34) in fridge and over cools freezer to -4 (set @ 0). It began pooling water in fridge after 5 months due to condensation requiring repairman visit (covered under warranty but still inconvenient). Given the two "bads" I do not expect this unit to last long (more than 10 years). Weak engineering and construction are now apparent and is probably why it costs less than half that of comparable units. You will get what you pay for with this unit. I would not recommend or buy this if it is meant for the long haul."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Bay Area, California
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Pretty refrigerator
Posted:10/15/12
Pros: nice looking big quiet good value
Cons: internal organization tall items are a problem
"Great in all aspects except internal organization. Reviewers aren't just being fussy or unimaginative when they say tall containers are a problem. The only place for them is inside the doors (or lay them flat on a shelf). The main shelves are fixed and therefore don't allow any flexibility. It's not horrible but you'll need to devise your own workarounds... And, the inside drawers aren't the smoothest or intuitive (no pulls... you have to reach under). Still like it very much... and it's extremely handsome. The platinum is pretty and doesn't show fingerprints. The inside lights are LED and a little *blue* but they do the trick. Love the bottom freezer drawer."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Chicago
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
So pretty, but so unreliable
Posted:10/4/12
Pros: great counterdebth size for the money
Cons: frequently stops cooling
"Love the look of this unit and I thought it was a good value, too.
But since getting it in May, it has stopped cooling four times. That equals four spoiled freezer throw outs.
It's clearly a lemon, since there are many satisfied reviews. Just wish Samsung would exchange it for a new unit."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:East Texas
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
new icebox
Posted:8/28/12
"Purchased this icebox to replace an older and less reliable one in our motorhome. It needed to fit into the same opening tht the old one had. Worked perfectly. Victor helped me with the purchase and was vwery gracious. the tracking worked perfectly also."
Review 20 for Samsung Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator RF197AC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Maryland
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
very pleased
Posted:7/13/12
"Refrigerator was delivered in perfect condition. The delivery company called me to let me know they were near my house after calling previously to let me know the delivery day. I would definitely order another appliance from AJ Madison. I also liked the fact that they have service companies near my home."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.