AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Gas Cooktops or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BlueStar 36" Open Burner Gas Cooktop RBCT365BSS

Since 1880, BlueStar has committed to producing the finest cooking equipment available. Originally a manufacturer of high-powered commercial ranges, today BlueStar markets exclusively to the residential market. BlueStar acquired its name from the shape and color of its open burner flame. Their products are hand assembled in Reading, Pennsylvania. BlueStar ranges provide up to 22,000 BTUs of cooking power for consistent, controlled heat and shorter cooking times. And for delicate soups and sauces, no stove matches BlueStar's gentle simmer. Heavy-duty construction combined with innovative features produce an appliance of uncompromising durability, functionality and beauty that will be the focal point of your kitchen for years to come. If you love to cook, you deserve a hand-crafted BlueStar range. New for 2007, BlueStar's new drop-in cooktop delivers BlueStar's signature power and performance while consuming minimal kitchen space. With all the same accoutrements as their BlueStar ranges, their drop-in cooktops set the stage for creating great meals for family and friends. BlueStar drop-in cooktops provide high performance at its best, with burners reaching 22K BTUs and a gentle simmer that can turn down to 130. Heavy-duty commercial stainless steel construction with heavy duty control knobs, and full-motion grates. There's nothing else like it.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 of 6(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BlueStar 36" Open Burner Gas Cooktop RBCT365BSS
Review 1 for BlueStar 36" Open Burner Gas Cooktop RBCT365BSS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Worst online purchase
Posted:3/10/14
Pros: two good burners
Cons: not that powerful as advertised, very difficult to clean, costly compared to what you get.
"RBCT365BSS showed several different organization of the burners which was very confusing. The two burners with 22K are only useful burners for me. I will now never trust the review I see online from where I purchase items. Those people probably do not cook much or who knows reviews may be fake."
Review 2 for BlueStar 36" Open Burner Gas Cooktop RBCT365BSS
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
A mixed bag
Posted:10/17/13
Pros: fundamentals - burner design grates
Cons: sheet metal work
"This is a tough review to write, because I really wanted to believe in this thing.
Pros: The burners are amazing. It beats me why more cooktops aren't designed like this. The controllers, with the flame sensing ignition and reignition, are wonderful. The thing is a well designed and well made workhorse. I have fiddled around with ring-style burners on stoves for the longest time, and finally here are burner designs that don't make me mad. I like the overall design of lifting the top to clean inside. Finally, the grates are outstanding.
Cons: The sheet metal design and manufacturing is sloppy. The top is flimsy, and this is because they cut a notch in the center support beam to clear the gas pipes. This is unbelievable, considering they could have just rerouted the gas pipe. The hinges for the top are spot welded sloppily; one hinge is crooked. It still functions, but it is alarming they couldn't do it better. The box on the underside is folded and riveted on the outside, making the necessary cutout dimensions larger than they specify. My installer had to grind away my granite to make it fit; the folded metal should have gone on the inside, and fastened with spot welds. And the manual! Good lord, it's awful! My middle school children could have written it better. There are misspellings and omitted words!
It's sad because I think Prizer Painter could have a simply amazing cooktop on their hands; they just need to tweak the design and manufacturing."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BlueStar 36" Open Burner Gas Cooktop RBCT365BSS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Madison, CT
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Aggressive styling & performance!
Posted:10/29/12
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: performance aggressive styling serviceability
Cons: gets slightly messier than sealed burner cooktops
"After extensive research, I chose the Bluestar 36" cooktop over the more "traditional" premium brands because I was focused more on performance than name recognition. I also really like the aggressive styling of the Bluestar, it looks like a mean cooking machine that nobody could confuse with the more dainty-looking Viking/Wolf offerings!
Performance is absolutely king with the Bluestar. This unit pumps out more heat than I've ever seen in a cooktop thanks to the open-style flame burners. Simmering is terrific because the heat is still evenly distributed below the pan as opposed to concentrated in a very small circular pattern (I never understood the style of most traditional "simmer" burners). There just isn't much more that I can say about the performance of the cooktop other than it is truly incredible.
A few last notes about this item: clean-up is a little more difficult given the way the burners are configured. You often have to remove the grates and then the burner rings to give it a deep clean. The nice thing is that the whole unit flips up like a car hood to give unfettered access to the internals. So while it may get a little messier than a sealed burner cooktop, the access for cleaning is VERY good. The stainless is very high quality, and wipes up very easily."
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BlueStar 36" Open Burner Gas Cooktop RBCT365BSS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Blacksburg, VA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Definitely worth it!
Posted:2/27/12
Pros: attractive, great value for the price, works beautifully
Cons: pins on grates may scratch stainless steel
"I received this cooktop back in October of 2011. Unfortunately, since I was going from a 30 inch to a 36 inch cooktop (and from electric to LP gas), my current kitchen configuration had to undergo MAJOR alterations in order to accommodate not only this cooktop but the new exhaust fan I purchased along with it. I finally got it installed and hooked up to the gas just this past week (02/24/2012). In addition to the renovation delay, the manufacturer forgot to package the gas regulator along with the cooktop and it wasn't until I was ready to hook up the line in February that I realized this. AJ Madison was able to get the manufacturer to send the regulator and I had it in my possession within 4 business days.
It's been so nice to finally, after all of these years, to have a gas cooktop again. Though I ordered this cooktop back in June of 2011 and I didn't receive it until October of 2011, it was well worth the wait. It works flawlessly, the design is very attractive and it cooks so much better than electric--no more boil overs! The only thing that is a negative (and it has been mentioned by others on this site) is that the pins on the grates do scratch the stainless steel if you're not careful. Other then that, I love it and would buy it again. It's not cheap but it's more economical than similar Thermador and Viking models out there."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BlueStar 36" Open Burner Gas Cooktop RBCT365BSS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Awesome
Posted:5/12/11
Pros: 5 burners lots of btus easy to clean heavy duty
Cons: grates pin/hole concept -too easy to scratch ss
"If you want commercial quality but can only accomodate a drop-in cooktop, then this is the cooktop for you. It is beautiful, commercial looking and delivers in BTU's.
5 burners, pots easily slide from one grate to another. I like the heat that it produces; it is hot! You got to make sure you use the right size pots and quality of pots does make a difference when cooking. The only thing I do not like is the 2 pin/hole concept used to rest the grates in the main stainless steel base. If not careful, you will scratch that baby fast. Other than that, I love it. I had considered other cooktops but this is by far the best."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BlueStar 36" Open Burner Gas Cooktop RBCT365BSS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
One of the best purchases I've ever made
Posted:4/6/11
"This is the greatest cooktop in the universe. It's got the power for high heat but what is truly great is the low end of the heat range....it's very, very low when you need it, giving great control. If you've never used a commercial stove before there is a slight learning curve: things happen FAST with this baby (unless you've got the simmer burner on low). This thing is brilliant."
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BlueStar 36" Open Burner Gas Cooktop RBCT365BSS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:San Luis Obispo, CA
BlueStar 36" cooktop is a winner
Posted:4/2/08
"My BlueStar 5 burner 36" cooktop is not a toy and I couldn't be happier. After looking for some time at what was available, I decided I wanted an open burner cooktop but I didn't need a 6 burner rangetop or want the additional cabinet installation issues. When the five burner BlueStar became available, it was exactly what I wanted. It is easy to clean. The top hinges up for repair or cleaning. The knobs can be extremely hard to remove if they pushed on to far. Mine is LP gas. I love the burner set up - 2 high heat burners, 2 simmer burners (good for smaller pans), one medium burner. It's perfect."
57 of 60 people found this review helpful.