AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR

GE's new Profile 1.7 cu. ft. over the range microwave oven features convection cooking which is the desired setting when baking or browning. And with Fast Bake you can enjoy oven-quality results up to 25% faster than conventional cooking. The sensor cooking controls automatically adjusts time and power for delicious cooking results. Just set the controls according to the recipe and the oven automatically converts standard recipe temperatures to proper convection settings.
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
17 of 18(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Review 1 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Raleigh, NC
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great OTR Microwave
Posted:9/8/13
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: auto cook features
Cons: operation a bit complicated to learn
" We did a kitchen remodel February 2013 and struggled to find our first over the range microwave. Although this one was pricier, we decided to get it since it also had the convection oven feature. After using it for 7 months, it was one of the best purchases. The auto cook feature is great. It cooks fresh or frozen vegetables perfectly. Fresh broccoli comes out perfect and evenly cooked, no burn spots. The popcorn setting is likewise perfect no matter the size of the bag used. I like the dial feature rather than a number pad. It vents the range well. The light is bright. We are very happy with it. "
Review 2 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Austin, Texas
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Best ever
Posted:6/29/13
" I do not know why I drug my feet about an over the range microwave/convection oven. I have so much more counter space now. YEA! "
Review 3 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:New York
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Awesome purchase
Posted:4/29/13
Pros: heats and cooks great looks good
Cons: price
" This microwave/convection oven is fabulous, not only does it look sharp it's microwave heats evenly and the convection oven cooks great, I use it more then my convection oven. A little on the pricey side but well worth it! "
Review 4 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Maryland
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Match for Profile Range
Posted:11/25/12
Pros: many features; expected performance.
Cons: expensive
" Installation was no better or worse than expected. Has many features and still learning to use them all; has done well with standard microwave cooking and used the convection oven for first time successfully. If not for being somewhat expensive, would have given it a 5. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Spanish Fort, AL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Looks great installed!
Posted:10/11/12
Pros: good looking!
Cons: directions very confusing for convection!
" Have had this since September 2012. Haven't learned how to use the convection cooking yet. We bought it to use instead of our full size oven for baking. Trying to keep energy bill low and house cooled. Haven't baked yet! :<( "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Myrtle Beach, SC
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Alternative to the Advantium
Posted:6/25/12
Pros: good features and performance.
Cons: user manual poorly written on convection cooking
" When we remodeled the kitchen in our home, we were seeking a less expensive microwave/convection oven than the GE Advantium we had in our previous home. This new model fit the bill and it looks nice too. Hope it will give us years of trouble-free service. "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:long island
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
AJ Madison has good pricing
Posted:6/1/12
" You have good prices on everything, only the words in reference to "no sales tax" that say "but not in NY" are a little hard to see. "
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Florida
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Very nice appliance!
Posted:5/22/12
" This is my first GE product ; so far , so good. My Sharp microwave/convection bit the dust after 20 great years; i wanted a larger oven so I went with the GE. Item arrived in a fairly timely manner; no problems. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:California
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Purchase
Posted:5/10/12
Pros: ease of use. efficient. stylish design.
Cons: none so far
" Have only been using this microwave for about a week but have found it to be excellent. "
Review 10 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Parkville, Maryland
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
The Dream Oven GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM
Posted:4/23/12
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: lights exhaust easy to use convection &, microwave. warms cooks nukes cleans up great., useful for large dishes roasts baking options, light options fan options defrost options cooks, digital read out screen tells you what to do next., now i paid a lot for this oven and i think it is, worth very bit of what i paid. a great value, quality item for a kitchen.
Cons: i haven't found any cons...yet.
" I am happy to give a nice review for this appliance. The GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR is the oven that thinks for you. It knows exactly how hot to warm a cup or plate...just right. It has exhaust fan 2 speeds and night light and day light under the oven it is especially nice to know you can bake in this oven with a moving fan convection oven to cook and bake things in a speedy way evenly cooked thoroughly through. It has a stainless steel interior easy to clean. moving option or not for microwave large interior for roasting and large pans with large contents. I just love it. There is so much more to say about it....I couldn't have room here to let you know its the best oven I ever owned. I am retired and love things that are easy and things that don't take a lot of trouble to use. This is a good match for people of that sort also. It comes with cookbook and lots of manuals to install to meet your needs. AJ Madison only sells the best. And this out ways all the rest in its field....Sincerely Ms Betty, Parkville, MD "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Long Island
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Twice the oven at half the price
Posted:3/31/12
Pros: multiple functions
Cons: none
" This is so much more than a microwave
I love the fact that I can bake a cake
In this oven of I need too. It is really
A great oven
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:MA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
GE profile conv microwave
Posted:3/7/12
Pros: looks convection ease of use like the dial, control
Cons: none so far.
" We got this GE micro along with Ge indiction range. They make a great combo and serve as a double oven set for my small kitchen. No problems so far, use it like a MW mostly but have baked cookies in it and they came out perfect. I will put it to the true test on Easter as we do all the family holidays. Havent tried fast bake yet. No complaints so far. "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:NY NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Double Your Oven
Posted:2/26/12
" This microwave operates as a "wave" and as a convection oven. With my matching stove that has two ovens, I can bake any number of different temperature items. "
Review 14 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Brooklyn, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Product
Posted:2/23/12
" Great product. Worth every dollar. My wife just loves it!
(Make sure you have the necessary tools before attempting installation, afterwards it is a breeze) "
Review 15 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:N.C.
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Value
Posted:2/16/12
Pros: energy cost savings compared to conventional oven
Cons: wish it was 1/4 bigger for large hams/turkey ect.
" I owned model number JVM 1490 for 8 years. It saddens me it went out while microwaving one day and the part is too expensive to replace. It is exactly like this model. The convection oven heats to 475+ degrees, compared to a regular oven takes about the same time to heat to your desired temperature. I like the fact instead of burning electricity on 220 you are using only 110 which is a great savings. Cooks great, has a sensor cook for rewarming a place of food or 1-2 cup settings. Sensor ettings for cooking potatoes, other foods. I paid MORE 8 yrs ago than current price. Lowes price is $599.00 check it out! I cannot believe the listed price and savings here on this product! Only Con is the Vent fan is loud, has 2 settings, but nice it will automatically come on if it senses the need to from too much heat from the convection oven or your stove top. You can't turn the vent fan off if comes on auomatically,until it senses it is cool enough to do so. You can otherwise use the vent fan manually when wanted. "
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:LA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Microwave Review
Posted:2/15/12
" Looks impressive and very roomy. Cooks quietly and effectively. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:SF Bay Area
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Microwave matches stove
Posted:1/5/12
Pros: looks ease of use and programming.
Cons: none that we can see
" We bought this microwave because we did not want a white microwave to be above our new SS stove, so the salesperson at AJ Madison reccommended this one. I am glad he did, it matches perfectly and works real well. We are both very happy with our purchase and would certainly buy from AJ again. Could not get it this fast even in my own area. Go figure. Good price, service and shipping. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GE 30" Over the Range Microwave PVM1790DR
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Doesn't preheat fast enough
Posted:6/6/11
" I've had my microwave and convection for four years. I do not like that it takes 15 minutes for oven to preheat to 375 degrees, to bake someting for 20 minutes. This is not a good feature. The microwave is great, I do not have any problems. "
23 of 33 people found this review helpful.