AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Electric Cooktops or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989

GE Consumer and Industrial spans the globe as an industry leader in major appliance, lighting and integrated industrial equipment systems and services. They provide solutions for commercial, industrial and residential use in more than 100 countries which uses innovative technologies and "ecomagination." It's a GE initiative to aggressively bring to market new technologies that help customers and consumers meet pressing environmental challenges to deliver comfort, convenience and electrical protection and control. GE brings imagination to work. GE Profile and GE cooktops offer designer looks and redesigned performance. Discover radiant good looks in the newly enhanced GE Profile and GE electric cooktops with upgraded style and performance features. Now there is a gorgeous, full stainless steel frame on Profile stainless steel models, while GE versions have handsome stainless steel trim on front and back, as well as redesigned knobs with a sleek stainless appearance. Both offer the superb performance of the PowerBoil element for faster, more powerful heating.
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
30 of 31(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Review 1 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Washington, GA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Love it!
Posted:12/20/11
"Arrived in a timely manner and was in excellant condition; it was exactly what I ordered! I did a lot of shopping and AJ's prices couldnt be beat!"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Shaver Lake, CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Nice addition
Posted:10/16/14
Pros: beautiful and smooth looking
Cons: horrible to keep clean!
"Looks nice with my almost black granite. Seems to cook a little faster than my previous one. (We live at 5700 feet so water takes longer to boil) Like that the code by the knobs are easy to follow."
Review 3 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:colorado
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
GE 30 Inch Smoothtop Electric Downdraft Cooktop
Posted:8/14/14
Pros: beautiful functional downdraft works like a dream
Cons: installation unecessesarily difficult small knobs, cleaning a hassle
"After reading reviews(apparently none of these downdrafts are available on store floors) and already having a GE Profile cooktop, we ordered this model.
It is a beautiful cooktop if you can keep it clean and shiny, difficult as the glass is absolutely black with no speckles to distract. Be sure to use Cerama Brite and finish the cleaning with a microfiber cloth, that is key.
Installing it was a challenge, a previous cooktop with downdraft had been replaced with the plain cooktop and we decided to use the old vent. Well, the old vent was just fine but fitting the new motor with the special new rectangular to round was unnecessarily difficult. My only question is "why?". Even though it was a standard cabinet we ended up having to cut out the floor in order for the thing to fit. So when folks review the difficulty of installation they are not kidding.
As far as performance is concerned, the burners do seem to be hotter than my old unit and I find myself cooking mostly on 5. I am very pleased with the way it cooks and the downdraft is amazing! One mention of a small thing, the knobs are way smaller than on my old unit, odd.
So, overall I am pleased with the cooktop and downdraft, installing the downdraft part was a real pain and cleaning it is aggravating but maybe that is the way it is with all the newer cooktops. Have not used the bridge burner yet but since everything else is working nicely do not expect any problems."
Review 4 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Very Good Unit
Posted:2/14/14
"Very Good Unit. Thanks AJ for your assistance in Procurement."
Review 5 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Lumberton NC
Would Recommend: Yes
Check for Damage
Posted:9/30/13
"Even though we have no problem with the GE cook top we did a total house renovation ordered our cook top knowing it was 30-60 days before we would us all of the to say when it was shipped the box showed no damage so we did not open and inspect when we did open to use the cook top was broken. Please inspect even if it shows no damage/ we has to re-order the money we saved we spent on the 2nd cook top to replace the first one. They did give us a discount but did not replace the damage one."
Review 6 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Very satisfied
Posted:4/16/13
"Have had the downdraft cooktop for a month and very satisfied with appearance and use. Replaced an old Gen-aire with the new GE Profile downdraft. Like the burner options and the downdraft fan is powerful and noise level is very low. AJ Madison's delivery was on time and arrived without any damage. Would buy from them again"
Review 7 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Nice Range
Posted:1/21/13
Pros: appearance easy to clean functionality
Cons: space between rangetop and countertop
"We purchased this GE 30" Electric Downdraft Rangetop (White) to replace a Jenn Air unit that was 32 years old. This unit has been in service for about a month and we are very pleased. We were concerned that the white surface would be difficult to keep clean, but have been pleasantly surprised that is is easy to clean using the recommended cleaner (Cera Bryte). The exhaust piping was different, so we had some difficulty connecting the GE exhaust housing to our existing piping. The only thing we did not like about the unit itself is that it sets about 1/8" above the surface of the countertop. Installation instructions were very explicit about applying the 1/8" thick felt strip to the underside of the outer edge so that the range top does not sit directly on the counter top. Therefore there is a 1/8" gap around the entire outer edge which presents an area for food particles, etc. to collect. I contacted GE about this apparent design flaw, and they did not have a recommended solution. I have installed a bead of clear 100% silicone around the outer edge to eliminate this problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Tennessee
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Nice Cooktop
Posted:12/22/12
Pros: appearance & aj madison experience
Cons: air gap between range top and counter top
"This pure white GE downdraft cook top range replaces a 32 year old Jenn Air range top. First I want to say that this first AJ Madison purchase was an excellent experience. We have purchased numerious products online including several household appliances, and AJ Madison ranks as probably the best company we have purchased from. They gave personal attention to our order and provided prompt delivery. The range top appears to be excellent quality and nice appearance. Retrofit of the fan exhaust was a challenge, but not impossible. The unit has only been installed one day, so it is too early to give a good performance rating. The one thing that represents poor design is the 1/8 inch air gap between the range top and the counter top. It will be impossible to keep food particles from getting under the edge and therefore difficult to keep clean. I have contacted GE to see if there is a fix for this problem. If we can resolve this problem I will revise the review to give all 5 stars."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Elgin, IL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great addition to our kitchen
Posted:11/25/12
Pros: under cabinet duct work takes up a lot of space
Cons: great looking
"This is a cook top that looks great and is easy to use. We purchased it to replace a JenAir cooktop that was 20 years old. This was a great improvement to our kitchen. There are special cleaning supplies to keep the cooking surface clean but once you have those, it is very easy to keep clean. I highly recommend this cooktop."
Review 10 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
GE 30" Cooktop
Posted:7/23/12
Pros: center downdraft good looks.
Cons: minor food burns are very hard to clean
"Overall this is a very good looking cooktop that filled the need I had, limited space, replacing a 30" cooktop, and downdraft ventilation. Tried to get away from knobs, but that was not an option, so went with this model after much searching. The installation was very straightforward and clean. One item to point out, that the brackets (which are listed as optional in the installation manual) were not mentioned as options to buy on the website, minor oversight, as the cooktop, in my opinion, do not require them, and they cost just shy of $50.00 from GE. Overall quite pleased with the unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Houston, TX
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great cooktop and perfect seller.
Posted:6/21/12
Pros: looks great easy to clean.
Cons: none
"This is a beautiful cooktop (in Stainless) and works very well. Love the quick heat burner.
Also I have bought several items from AJ Madison and price and delivery has always exceeded expectations.
Thanks!
"
Review 12 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Posted:6/6/12
Pros: down draft exhaust fan
Cons: fan motor had rectangular exhaust port.
"I will definitely buy from AJ Madison again. Good price and excellent delivery. The product is everything as advertised. The only draw back was the rectangular instead of round exhaust port on the exhaust fan. Had to do a little more duct work than what I wanted as well as some inside cabinet modifications to a shelf to clear the fan port. This unit replaced a 34 year old JenAIR range top of the same dimensions. Otherwise very pleased with the product. Looking forward to purchasing a WhirlPool built in double oven from AJ later this year."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Clemson, SC
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Stove Top
Posted:5/29/12
Pros: great appearance great performance great vent
Cons: may not fit older 30" cooktop hole small knobs, for child lock and vent fan are hard to remove to, clean under.
"Down draft is excellent, cooking surface and appearance are excellent. Small knobs are hard to take off to clean under. Other than that works great!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Alabama
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
30" Smooth Cooktop
Posted:5/20/12
Pros: heats fast good air movement
Cons: none
"We replaced an old JennAir smooth top when we installed granite countertops. The delivery guys brought the unit inside and had me examine it for damage. Installation was a breeze except for hooking the new exhaust to the old piping. There is not much room from the bottom of the unit to the base of the cabinet. Luckily, I was able to get it connected to the existing duct without too much pain. So far so good. It heats much better/faster than the 16 year old JennAir. At this point I am satisfied."
Review 15 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:N. California
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Cooktop
Posted:5/19/12
Pros: well packed good delivery easy install.
Cons: none
"Used the GE Cooktop to replace an old 70's JennAire.
It fit the old cutout dimensions well, though just barely. I'd recommend ordering the "optional" brackets used to secure the stove to the counter.
Suggest you get all the parts, metal tape, ducting, etc., you could possibly need for an install. You can always take back what's not used.
I'm an AARP grey-hair and replaced/installed the stovetop in @4hours, including breaks ! If you can't lie on your back, even padded, for this long then have someone else do the install.
My biggest problem was measuring 3" short on the electric wire from the outlet. Another was finding a plenum and ducting for my old 5" exhaust pipe. Used a lot of metal tape in bending and making it fit properly. Directions otherwise are complete & easy to follow.
The wife loves its looks and quick heating functions. This is her first ceramic oven and it took her over a week to feel comfortable using and not fearful of breaking it. Works wonderful for us oldies.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Spicewood, Texas
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
GE'd
Posted:5/10/12
Pros: great design
Cons: poor construction materials
"It looks very good and it cooks well but it's not well made. I slid a small pot against the plastic stemmed vent control knob and the knob broke off. It shouldnt have. AJ Madison did their part well -- great prices, prompt delivery as usual and GE saved 20 cents a unit with cheaper knobs"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Cooktop
Posted:4/30/12
Pros: many cooking options, downdraft fan, great looking and easy to clean
Cons: have not found one
"This is a great cooktop for the money. The fact that your fan is built in is wonderful. For me this was a requirement as my cooktop is built-in the island. I had no wish to have an object hanging down over my cooktop. I have not seen a need to run it above low and that even with 3 burners going. The flexibility with the bridge and then the small large burner is wonderful and has come in handy. Cooking for one the need for a small burner for me is far more frequent. Buying it from AJ madison was a plus as well well package and prompt delivery and the best price."
Review 18 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Memphis, TN
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent downdraft for the price!
Posted:2/20/12
Pros: heats evenly and quickly, bridge burner, oversize burner, attractive design
Cons: controls hard to remove for cleaning
"I'm very happy with the features and capability of this cooktop. It heats up fast, has bridge and oversize burners, and generally does everything I need it to do.
The surface is fairly easy to keep clean using the provided sample cleaner. The only downside to cleaning is that the smaller knobs (for control lock and fan operation) are more difficult to remove to get it clean under/around the control area.
Would also be nice if the installed unit sat just a hair lower (it may settle with time, not sure). The installation guide has you install a foam strip for sealing just a little inside from the edge, but that leaves the unit elevated a small fraction of an inch above the counter height. Not a complaint, but could be a little more flush at the edge."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Too soon
Posted:10/13/11
Pros: looks great
Cons: glass...scratch and break danger.
"Haven't had time to give it a good test....Great looking but awfully fragile compared to the old coil top."
Review 20 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PP989
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Service
Posted:6/14/11
"The price was good and the service was GREAT. Shipping was free and it went out and was delivered within 5 days, including a weekend. I was very happy with purchasing from A J Madison and would recomend them to anyone who is in the market for appliances."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.