AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Liners Inserts & Blowers or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390

20 Inch Custom Hood Power Module Insert with 390 CFM Centrifugal Blower, 3 Speed Slide Control, Heat Sentry, Dishwasher-Safe Aluminum Filter and Convertible to Non-Ducted Operation
Average Customer Rating:
3.972 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
23 of 29(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Review 1 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Mn
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Light didn't work
Posted:7/6/15
Cons: didn't work
" We had to get someone to take it out again to put in a different light
Sad
"
Review 2 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:TX
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
Piece of junk
Posted:1/11/14
Cons: expensive yet poor quality. lasted only 14 month
" We wanted a high quality vent for our custom home. I "upgraded" to this 390 model because I hoped it would be better than the standard builder's grade vent. After only 14 months of very infrequent use, imagine my surprise at the motor having a horrible sound and being unusable! This is a piece of junk, and I would recommend running fast from this brand and model. "
Review 3 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Houston tax
Owned Product:0-6 months
Would Recommend: Yes
Problem with filter cover
Posted:4/15/13
" Installation went great until it was time to install the filter screen/cover. Would not latch on one side. Had to modify to get it to catch properly. "
Review 4 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:California
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Not a bad buy
Posted:2/7/13
Pros: price noise level and exhaust
Cons: looks and lighting
" Considering the price of this fan, it's a great buy. It's super quiet and does a great job exhausting but leaves a little to be desired in the lighting department. It only has two candlelibra 40 w bulbs which does a minimal job lighting up the area. It's too bad it doesn't use halgen bulbs. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Pensacola, FL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Product
Posted:8/26/11
" This product is so quiet, even on high and takes the odor of what I am cooking right out of my house! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Module
Posted:10/29/09
Pros: great air flow suction looks good, easy access to filters for cleaning
Cons: none
" Great unit! We wanted a seamless line on our upper cabinet units. We pulled out our old vent hood and installed this module inside the upper cabinet to flush mount to the bottom exterior of the cabinet. It looks great and works great! The filters are easy to access and clean. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
This thing Sucks!
Posted:5/1/09
Pros: great performance with expected noise level., filter removal is quick & easy!
Cons: just not crazy about switch placement.
" Sorry to be so obviously "tongue in cheek", but this blower is fantastic! It has so much suction, it quickly clears the room. While installing it, I was outside and had my wife turn it on, it nearly blew my hat off!
Also during construction, they were cutting the granite for the cooktop. I pulled the filter off and the blower quickly cleared the air of the dust the shopvac was not collecting. Not sure how Broan feels about this, but it worked great just the same.
I am not crazy about the placement of the switches, but this is a preference gripe. The unit is not overly loud, especially when you consider the amount of air it is moving. With our last Over the Range exhaust fan, you had to be sure to shut it off prior to dining, it was annoying.
I cannot say enough good things about this unit. Believe me guys, my friends were impressed. It is like a great tool out in the garage, you want to show your friends how well it performs.
These reviews tend to always be negative in nature, but trust me, you will not be disappointed in this unit. Hope my title caught your attention. The only reason I gave it 4 stars on appearance is the switches, but again, it is a personal preference. The switches work just fine.
If you are installing this yourself, like me, be sure to measure before hand. I had to do some adjusting to get it to fit. Talk with your cabinet guy before you rough it in or work on the ducting. Good luck. "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent vent
Posted:2/9/09
Pros: air movement
Cons: has a little bit of noise.
" I am well pleased with the vent. It really moves the air and the noise isn't that loud on low. Which is enough for most cooking. I have fried shrimp twice with very little smell inside the house. I would recommend this event to anyone.
Great Product "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Awsome Value
Posted:10/13/08
Pros: price, sound level is resonable, easy install
Cons: silver not stainless, controls are tough to find if not looking at them
" I purchased this hood insert when I remodeled my kitchen. I shopped for several weeks on line and could not find a better deal than this. Others that I looked at were at least twice the price. The finish is silver and not stainless, so that was probably part of the price difference. However, once it is tucked up under the hood, you never see it unless you make a point to. It cleans up real well with a sponge. The lighting is adequate and the fan works real well. I have not needed it on high even when pan frying fish. The controls are a little tough to access, but for half the price and the amount of time you actually use the hood, it is worth having to look up to find them. It also installed super easy, just slide it into the liner, plug it in, and connect the duct..and your cooking! "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Germantown, TN
It's small but does the job
Posted:3/2/08
" I chose this Broan because it was the only vent small enough to fit into my space above the cooktop. It works better than the downdraft Jenn-air that I had previously. Given that I have induction and not gas, the pull is sufficient and I am pleased with the purchase. "
Review 11 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:New Orleans Louisiana
It's a hood
Posted:10/1/07
" Installation was easy. Unit is a little louder than I expected. Sorry, I can't get excited about a range hood. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Atlanta, GA
Excellent bargain
Posted:9/18/07
" Arrived earlier than expected. Also ordered the LB36 trim ring. Both were in perfect condition. Product works well. Lighting is perfect for cooktop. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Potomac Maryland
Broan Range Hood Fan
Posted:8/24/07
" This is a great compact and quite powerful range hood fan and light combo. Has a temperature sensor that will automatically turn on the fan should something on the stove get too hot. Only small complaint is that the light has only one setting, which is not a big issue. [...] "
Review 14 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:UT
Inexpensive...
Posted:8/20/07
" I like the face removal, dual light feature and the 390 CFM capacity. However the face finish (grey/silver) is cheap looking and the fan is loud. The filter screen is also poorly fit. This product is inexpensive, so don't expect too much. "
Review 15 for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Lancaster, OH
Very satisfied
Posted:8/16/07
" I'm very pleased with the product and [...]. The price was unbeatable by comparison. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Broan PM 21" Custom Hood Insert PM390
Based on the average of (21) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 16 out of 20