AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Liners Inserts & Blowers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390

Why Kitchens Need Ventilation. Fresh salmon fillets are reason enough. But that's really just a start. Because cooking smoke and greasy build-up are more than unpleasant. They're unhealthy. In fact, cooking churns out airborne contaminants like nothing else in the home can. This concentration of contaminants requires effective ventilation. That's where Broan comes in. As the residential ventilation leader, Broan offers more range hood kitchen ventilating solutions than anyone. From high-performance ducted models, to the most effective non-ducted units ever made. And they're all built to Broan's demanding quality standards. So you can count on them to help keep your kitchen cleaner for years to come. Built-in lighting means you can count on your Broan range hood to keep your kitchen brighter. Some units even include a convenient nightlight feature. There really is a difference with Broan. It's in the details. High-Performance ventilation solutions. These integrated units provide the ventilation and lighting you need for your custom application. Flush-fitting integrated power packs and liners provide modern style, ventilation, dual 40 watt lighting (bulbs sold separately) and protection for custom cabinet and hood applications. The PM390 has a 390 CFM internal blower and features a three-speed slide control with Heat Sentry.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
17 of 20(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Review 1 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:TX
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
Piece of junk
Posted:1/11/14
Cons: expensive yet poor quality. lasted only 14 month
" We wanted a high quality vent for our custom home. I "upgraded" to this 390 model because I hoped it would be better than the standard builder's grade vent. After only 14 months of very infrequent use, imagine my surprise at the motor having a horrible sound and being unusable! This is a piece of junk, and I would recommend running fast from this brand and model. "
Review 2 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Houston tax
Owned Product:0-6 months
Would Recommend: Yes
Problem with filter cover
Posted:4/15/13
" Installation went great until it was time to install the filter screen/cover. Would not latch on one side. Had to modify to get it to catch properly. "
Review 3 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:California
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Not a bad buy
Posted:2/7/13
Pros: price noise level and exhaust
Cons: looks and lighting
" Considering the price of this fan, it's a great buy. It's super quiet and does a great job exhausting but leaves a little to be desired in the lighting department. It only has two candlelibra 40 w bulbs which does a minimal job lighting up the area. It's too bad it doesn't use halgen bulbs. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Pensacola, FL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Product
Posted:8/26/11
" This product is so quiet, even on high and takes the odor of what I am cooking right out of my house! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Module
Posted:10/29/09
Pros: great air flow suction looks good, easy access to filters for cleaning
Cons: none
" Great unit! We wanted a seamless line on our upper cabinet units. We pulled out our old vent hood and installed this module inside the upper cabinet to flush mount to the bottom exterior of the cabinet. It looks great and works great! The filters are easy to access and clean. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
This thing Sucks!
Posted:5/1/09
Pros: great performance with expected noise level., filter removal is quick & easy!
Cons: just not crazy about switch placement.
" Sorry to be so obviously "tongue in cheek", but this blower is fantastic! It has so much suction, it quickly clears the room. While installing it, I was outside and had my wife turn it on, it nearly blew my hat off!
Also during construction, they were cutting the granite for the cooktop. I pulled the filter off and the blower quickly cleared the air of the dust the shopvac was not collecting. Not sure how Broan feels about this, but it worked great just the same.
I am not crazy about the placement of the switches, but this is a preference gripe. The unit is not overly loud, especially when you consider the amount of air it is moving. With our last Over the Range exhaust fan, you had to be sure to shut it off prior to dining, it was annoying.
I cannot say enough good things about this unit. Believe me guys, my friends were impressed. It is like a great tool out in the garage, you want to show your friends how well it performs.
These reviews tend to always be negative in nature, but trust me, you will not be disappointed in this unit. Hope my title caught your attention. The only reason I gave it 4 stars on appearance is the switches, but again, it is a personal preference. The switches work just fine.
If you are installing this yourself, like me, be sure to measure before hand. I had to do some adjusting to get it to fit. Talk with your cabinet guy before you rough it in or work on the ducting. Good luck. "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent vent
Posted:2/9/09
Pros: air movement
Cons: has a little bit of noise.
" I am well pleased with the vent. It really moves the air and the noise isn't that loud on low. Which is enough for most cooking. I have fried shrimp twice with very little smell inside the house. I would recommend this event to anyone.
Great Product "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Awsome Value
Posted:10/13/08
Pros: price, sound level is resonable, easy install
Cons: silver not stainless, controls are tough to find if not looking at them
" I purchased this hood insert when I remodeled my kitchen. I shopped for several weeks on line and could not find a better deal than this. Others that I looked at were at least twice the price. The finish is silver and not stainless, so that was probably part of the price difference. However, once it is tucked up under the hood, you never see it unless you make a point to. It cleans up real well with a sponge. The lighting is adequate and the fan works real well. I have not needed it on high even when pan frying fish. The controls are a little tough to access, but for half the price and the amount of time you actually use the hood, it is worth having to look up to find them. It also installed super easy, just slide it into the liner, plug it in, and connect the duct..and your cooking! "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Germantown, TN
It's small but does the job
Posted:3/2/08
" I chose this Broan because it was the only vent small enough to fit into my space above the cooktop. It works better than the downdraft Jenn-air that I had previously. Given that I have induction and not gas, the pull is sufficient and I am pleased with the purchase. "
Review 10 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:New Orleans Louisiana
It's a hood
Posted:10/1/07
" Installation was easy. Unit is a little louder than I expected. Sorry, I can't get excited about a range hood. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Atlanta, GA
Excellent bargain
Posted:9/18/07
" Arrived earlier than expected. Also ordered the LB36 trim ring. Both were in perfect condition. Product works well. Lighting is perfect for cooktop. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Potomac Maryland
Broan Range Hood Fan
Posted:8/24/07
" This is a great compact and quite powerful range hood fan and light combo. Has a temperature sensor that will automatically turn on the fan should something on the stove get too hot. Only small complaint is that the light has only one setting, which is not a big issue. [...] "
Review 13 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:UT
Inexpensive...
Posted:8/20/07
" I like the face removal, dual light feature and the 390 CFM capacity. However the face finish (grey/silver) is cheap looking and the fan is loud. The filter screen is also poorly fit. This product is inexpensive, so don't expect too much. "
Review 14 for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Lancaster, OH
Very satisfied
Posted:8/16/07
" I'm very pleased with the product and [...]. The price was unbeatable by comparison. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Broan 21" Range Accessory PM390
Based on the average of (12) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating: 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 10 out of 12