AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Induction Cooktops or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900

GE Consumer and Industrial spans the globe as an industry leader in major appliance, lighting and integrated industrial equipment systems and services. They provide solutions for commercial, industrial and residential use in more than 100 countries which uses innovative technologies and "ecomagination." It's a GE initiative to aggressively bring to market new technologies that help customers and consumers meet pressing environmental challenges to deliver comfort, convenience and electrical protection and control. GE brings imagination to work. Industry-leasing technology and extraordinary cooking performance. Introducing GE Profile induction cooktops-offering fast, efficient cooking. This innovative technology combines the responsiveness of a gas cooktop with the peace of mind of a cooler cooking surface. With induction technology, ice melts inside the pan, but not on the cooktop.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Review 1 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:East Quogue, NY
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Love Induction
Posted:9/18/14
Pros: responds quickly, looks great
Cons: burner starts on 5. better to start on h (high)
" This is our 2nd induction cooktop for our 2nd home. Induction is the way to go. Costco has great pots & pans for induction. "
Review 2 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Waco, TX
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
GE Induction Cooktop
Posted:3/25/14
Pros: instant from full hot to off. capable of very high, heat.
Cons: subtle shading makes "burners" hard to see
" Received this, installed the next day. It is impressive, even beats my old gas stove in getting water to boil. Can also use like a slow cooker, the heat is so precise and offered in half step increments from 1 to 9 and then high. Ours had a defective burner, but one call to AJ Madison and the GE repairman replaced it promptly. Overall, best cooktop we have ever owned for ease of use and cleanup. Would recommend the 5-year warranty; parts are not cheap. "
Review 3 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Coeur D Alene, ID
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
best stove top ever
Posted:4/3/13
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: great design, excellent response time on controls, very safe, layout of burners is great
Cons: amp rating was 40 but actual was just over 40
" This was even better than I anticipated. Boils water faster than you can imagine and temp control changes from full boil to simmer instantly. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Toledo, Ohio
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Induction is the BEST.
Posted:12/6/12
Pros: easy to use. easy to clean. energy efficicent.
Cons: cookware manufacturers lie.
" We have wanted one of these for over twenty years but they were so expensive. Finally enough are being sold to make them affordable. We LOVE it. The only problem is our cookware is not Stainless Steel like advertized. So we are buying new cookware, no big deal we've always like cast iron cookware.
It is so easy to clean, one big flat surface. And so easy to turn one and off. I have severe arthritis in my hands so turning a knob can be quite difficult. I love the touch features.
"
Review 5 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:San Francisco, CA
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Safety Feature
Posted:11/18/12
Pros: fast, great looking (just black w/ no border)
Cons: none
" I bought this cooktop a year ago. Its great having an induction cooktop for a few reasons. As many have mentioned, it heats up very quickly. And cleanup is not a chore. The best feature is the Overheat function. If the cooktop detects an overly hot surface, it will cut the power off. I was in a hurry to drop the kids off to school and left a pot of soup on the stove top. When I came home, the only thing ruined was the soup and not the kitchen. Any other cooktop would not have prevented a fire. "
Review 6 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
GE 30" Induction Cooktop
Posted:10/29/12
" So far this product has exceeded my expectations, and they were pretty high given the price premium for this cooktop versus more conventional ones. The ability to cook as precisely as this cooktop provides is a genuine benefit. Plus the smooth appearance against our granite countertop is aesthetically pleasing. "
Review 7 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Hudson, OH
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Nice Product
Posted:9/20/12
Pros: looks good no messy dials
Cons: special cookware required ss edge scratches easy
" Purchased this induction cooktop for our kitchen remodel. AJ Madison was quick to deliver the product and the delivery guy was polite (that doesn't happen very often) I'm still getting used to it; it's a totally different way of cooking. Purchased SS cookware at first...."no", they're impossible to keep clean. Purchased Calphalon non-stick for induction, much better. Looks great. Not sure I see the change in the amount of time it takes to heat though. I know the review say it heats much faster then conventional? Still getting used to browning on this cooktop. I haven't spilled anything hot yet so I can't let you know how easily it cleans, which I guess it's supposed to be easier than on a standard glass electric cooktop. I love the fact that there's no dials to keep clean. Stainless steel rim scratches very easy. The jury is out whether it's worth the extra $$ (including new cookware). Also you must use the correct size burner so if you have 2 pans that are the same size, it gets a little cramped on the left hand size with a 30". I'm a creature of habit so I'll probably like this cooktop more in 6 months than I do today. "
Review 8 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Ocala, FL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Awesome Cooking Experience!
Posted:8/7/12
Pros: cooks evenly boils quickly shortens cook time, aj madison was wonderful to deal with. the price, deeply discounted the shipping was immediate and, the sales dept. was informative and courteous!
Cons: n/a
" We purchased the GE 30" PHP900 induction cooktop for our kitchen renovation. Any concerns I had about cooking with induction heat have been eliminated. What a wonderful experience! Water boils quickly, food cooks evenly, and the cooking time is shortened.
I am more than satisfied with choosing the PHP900 cooktop from GE. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews before purchasing and I highly recommend this particular cooktop. "
Review 9 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Stovetop
Posted:7/4/12
Pros: looks
" It's a keeper, does all it advertised. I had to add an stovetop during kitchen renovation. Based on use and safety (small kids) this was my choice. It has met all my expectations "
Review 10 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Best Cooktop Ever
Posted:4/16/12
Cons: you need magnetic induction cookware to cook on it, you have to buy new pans but it is worth it
" This is the most amazing cooktop. It heats instantly and cooks evenly. No hand burning anymore. It's magnetic induction heat so it heats from pan inside, not cooktop. No mess on stove after. Just worth every dime. "
Review 11 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
I Love this Cooktop
Posted:2/22/12
Pros: temperature control, doesn't heat up the kitchen, no burnt on food
Cons: need special cookware, buzz may bother some
" We weren't able to get gas so this was the next best choice. I can now say I am very happy with this cooktop. I was worried about the "hum" or "buzz" mentioned by others. I will admit it was bothersome at first but I have gotten used to it and if the fan is on it is not noticeable at all. The cooktop functions beautifully, the temperature control is amazing. I was especially happy to see that food doesn't burn onto the cooktop, it can't, because the only area getting hot is directly under the pot. If food spills anywhere around the pot, even if it is within the burner area, it will not burn/bake onto the surface. AJ Madison had the best price and delivery was fast. I have used AJ Madison in the past and would come back to them again for any major appliance purchase. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Viera, FL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
GE Induction Cooktop
Posted:12/20/11
Pros: fast cooking sleek look easy cleanup
Cons: burners hard to make out while cooking
" Have owned this cooktop for about a month now and have cooked some awesome dinners on it! It is truly faster in cooking.
Some concerns: You must have induction cookware (most stainless steel will work) - will not work otherwise and you may actually break the cooktop if you attempt to use something else. Also, the 'burners' are very hard to make out while cooking. They do not light up as an electric range might - they just stay black. So, when the pans get moved during cooking, you have to 'search' for the outline of the 'burner'. Not a biggie, but if you lift the pan off, the contact with the cooktop is broken and it will flash 'F' for failure. As soon as you put it back down, it continues with its job though. I prefer cooking with stainless steel and cleanup is no problem. I can recommend this cooktop, you will have to get used to it though. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Short Hills, NJ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Looks great and works great!
Posted:8/11/11
Pros: looks great, works great
Cons: none
" We were remodeling kitchen and ordered this cook top from Home Everything. After 3 weeks they charged our credit card, but were still promising to ship it.
We canceled our order using help from Amex and ordered this frig from AJ Madison. Cook top was delivered the next day.
After it was installed we love it. It looks great and works great, - no complains so far. We had electrical cook top and were looking for regular electrical cook top and noticed induction cook tops as alternative. Induction cook top warms bottom of you cattle or pen and does not have to transfer heat through the glass surface as does regular electrical cook top. So we decided to buy portable induction cook top and try it. We were using portable induction cook top for a while and loved it.
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
superb stovetop
Posted:1/31/11
" can't believe I didn´t purchase this sooner.
Beats gas hands down.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Induction is Great
Posted:12/30/10
Pros: quick heating and cooling. easy cleaning
Cons: buzzing with some cookware
" This is my first induction stove. I'm very impressed so far. Pans heat up instantly and cool down much faster than with a conventional smoothtop stove. The burner surface does not get nearly as hot as a regular smoothtop stove which makes it much easier to clean since spillover no longer get baked onto the stove. Also the absence of knobs makes it much easier to clean. The 11 inch burner is great for even heat distribution on large frying pans. The biggest downside is buzzing noise at high setting. It is primarily a cookware issue however. It is very slight with cast iron. It is moderately loud with my Caphalon Tri-ply cookware. It is worse when the pan is cold. It is relatively quiet at settings at or below 7. I would recommend a higher quality cookware. "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Powerful Cooktop
Posted:5/31/10
Pros: fast and efficient, looks great
Cons: controls take some getting used to
" It has taken a little getting used to induction cooking but now it would be difficult to cook any other way. The controls require you to use the flat of your finger and not tip but once you get the hang of it, it becomes second nature. I remember the saying "a watched pot never boils" but that is the one amazing thing about induction is how quickly it heats the water to a boil. If you are willing to invest in this cooktop then make sure you buy good stainless cookware. This is the second major appliance I have purchased from A.J. Madison and each has been delivered when promised and in pristine condition: and I live on the west coast. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Wonderful
Posted:4/29/10
Pros: great price very good quality easy to use. looks, great as well.
Cons: we worry about scratching or breaking the glass.
" I purchased GE because the reviews were top rated. I also wanted GE because electrical is what they do best, and are an American company. Our kitchen is still under construction so I have only made one meal & boiled lots of water for tea. The tea kettle boils in 3 minutes on the smallest burner. The unit is so fast responding, it will take some time to learn how to cook with my new pans and the meals I usually prepare. Thus far I am very pleased. "
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GE 30" Smoothtop Electric Cooktop PHP900
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Very satisfied
Posted:4/22/09
Pros: good high and low temerature limits.
Cons: poor timer and lock out control
" I've been using this unit for about 2 months and it works great! I was drawn to it because of it's high power ratings (up to 3.7 kW on the large element!) but find I rarely need that much. Most of my cooking requires no more than 60-70% power and the ability to reach really low heat is more important. Fortunately, this unit goes all the way down to just warm.
There is room for improvements. It's a bit hard to identify the cooking elements without good lighting (black on black), the timer has such a low volume (not adjustable) that it's useless unless you're right next to the cooktop and the lock out switch is hard to activate - requires careful finger placement and pressure. All of these are relatively minor. "
46 of 47 people found this review helpful.