AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Countertop Microwaves or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31

GE Consumer & Industrial spans the globe as an industry leader in major appliance, lighting and integrated industrial equipment systems and services. They provide solutions for commercial, industrial and residential use in more than 100 countries which uses innovative technologies and "ecomagination." It's a GE initiative to aggressively bring to market new technologies that help customers and consumers meet pressing environmental challenges to deliver comfort, convenience and electrical protection and control. GE brings imagination to work. In 1979, GE revolutionized microwave cooking with the introduction of the original Spacemaker oven. Today GE Profile and GE Spacemaker ovens usher in a new era of microwave innovation. An advanced cooking system heats and defrosts with perfectly even results, and easy-to-use touchscreen menu and a 2.0 cu. ft. two-oven rack interior make microwave cooking more convenient than ever. Outside, clean lines and bold curves offer a truly dramatic look. A breakthrough in technology and design, new Spacemaker ovens are the ultimate tools for everyday cooking. Unbelievably extraordinary. From clean, sleek exteriors to large interior capacities and easy-to-use, advanced touch controls, these GE and GE Profile countertop microwave ovens provide delicious home cooking in a fraction of the time. Innovative inverter technology, cooking elements and many more progressive features make these convenient, elegant and anything but ordinary.
Average Customer Rating:
4.118 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
42 of 51(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Review 1 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:New Market. Md
Would Recommend: No
no reliability
Posted:12/20/13
" It broke the third day we had it - could have spent alot less and had the same outcome. "
Review 2 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Beverly Hills, CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
Good performance, shoddy construction
Posted:4/17/13
Pros: works well
Cons: looks shoddy
" This is advertised as a counter-top microwave, but as it can also be mounted over-the-counter, it has 3 plastic screw covers on the top. This cannot be seen in the pictures on the website, only when taken out of the box. Additionally, the top panel was wavy rather than straight, making it appear to be shoddily constructed. Given that this is not the cheapest microwave sold, I expected a more polished appearance. Definitely not for those who want a sleek looking counter top microwave. "
Review 3 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Good fit for limted space
Posted:2/20/13
" This was perfect for undermounting to our cabinets and spared countertop space. The door is a bit difficult to open and needs some leverage while opening. It is slightly underpowered but extending the heating time by 10-15 seconds is usually enough. It is sufficiently large for our use though others may have difficulty with large dishes. Overall a good value purchase. "
Review 4 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Lawton, MI
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great product and service
Posted:12/10/12
" We wanted to get this microwave for our new kitchen and we found it for a lower price on this website. We ordered it a day or two before Tropical Storm Sandy hit and it was being sent from Manhattan, NY. Although it took a little longer to get to us due to the weather, it arrived in perfect condition along with the mounting kit. It's beautiful and works great! Thanks, AJ Madison! "
Review 5 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Delaware
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
REplaced same microwave
Posted:12/10/12
Pros: size
Cons: stopped working after power outage
" Had power outage and then microwave did not work. It was not on at time of outage. Like the features so boght the same oneagain. "
Review 6 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Noisy microwave
Posted:11/3/12
" This is an exceptionally noisy microwave and it's not very easy to open the door. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:South Miami Fl
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
Very disappointing
Posted:10/8/12
Pros: it fills the 24" space it heats food.
Cons: door works poorly sounds poorly, difficult to interface with beeps too much
" I read the reviews before I bought this unit and a few people remarked that the door didn't work well. I figured they installed it wrong or that it was just their unit. They were 100% correct and it is surprising that more people didn't comment on that flaw. When you want to put something in the microwave you usually have the plate in your hand when you open the door. You can't do that with this unit. You have to use 2 hands to open the door. One hand to push the button and the other to pull it open from the bottom edge. The push button doesn't pop the door open.
The second flaw is the noise it makes, it sounds like it is struggling to work, like it's on the verge of breaking. It's either the turntable or the magnetometer, I don't know which.
The third flaw it the timer. I used the timer a lot on the last unit I had. This timer asks you what time you want it to go off. For example if you want it to go off in 23 minutes you can't enter 23 minutes. You have to know what time it is say 6:48 (but clock information is not available in the timer input mode) now add 23 minutes to 6:48 to come up with 6:71, that translates to 7:11 Sound complicated?
"
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Connecticut
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Perfect replacement
Posted:9/28/12
Pros: easy to install, quiet operation, fast delivery
" I have been looking for a replacement for my under cabinet mounted microwave and was very happy when I found this one. It fit perfectly where I needed it and was very easy to install. It looks and works great. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Cincinnati, Oh
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
It is was the only one that would fit
Posted:6/13/12
Pros: the size
Cons: the rest
" For the price you would expect a much better product. The door does not open unless you push the button and pull the door at the same time. It seems really cheap and I wonder how long it will last. It was the only one that I could find that would fit in the space that our builder provided. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Maine
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Posted:6/2/12
Pros: great looking custom fit without a custom price.
" I was so happy to find this replacement "built-in" microwave. I purchased a home that had a GE Space-saver microwave built into the upper cabinets. It was a challenge to find a microwave to fit in the original cut-out space but this one fits fine. Thank you GE! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Very Noisy
Posted:4/20/12
Pros: fits in my small space
Cons: noisy
" Seems to be microwaving fine, but it is very noisy esp at a certain point when it gets to a turn "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Chicago, IL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Not bad, but....
Posted:2/2/12
Pros: sleek design ( when used as countertop), good functionality
Cons: weak housing and not very suitable for, under cabinet mount
" Good Microwave, does all it is supposed to do. Looks good too. However, when used with under-cabinet mounting kit, it all looks everything but well integrated:
First off, it seems all manufacturers of microwaves for under cabinet mount give the thing dimensions that still make it stick out by one or two inches in the front. Such a nice unit - ends up looking jerry-rigged. Second: The threaded inserts underneath the housing that connect with the bolts that go through your cabinet are pulling up and deform the entire housing. Looks even worse now. Even after installing a filler strip underneath the cabinet ( most cabinets are like that, the bottom of the cabinet is not flush with the face frame, therefore, a 1/2" or so gap between your microwave and the front of the faceframe), it is still slightly out of wack, because the weight of the microwave is pulling it away from the housing/cover.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Havertown, PA
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Stainless Steel Siren
Posted:1/3/12
Pros: small size
Cons: everything else.
" The GE Profile microwave that came with the house lasted 8 years before it stopped heating. The one that I purchased to replace it was this model. It lasted less than 3 years before it wouldn't shut off (as soon as the door was closed it started running). Because of the way the previous owner laid out my kitchen I had to buy this microwave oven again; it is the only one with dimensions shallow enough to fit the space. So I bought another one last month. So far the stainless steel near the button to open the door has fallen off and the door is very hard to open. The top hinge also feels loose. If size doesn't matter stay away from this microwave, it's not very well made. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Wyandotte, Mi
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Space saving Microwave
Posted:11/7/11
Pros: helps me to maximize the space in my kitchen
Cons: needs to be a couple inches deeper.
" I purchased this microwave because I don't have a lot of space in my kitchen and so far, I am very pleased with it's performance. My only complaint is that I wish it was a little bit deeper. My square plates are too big for the turntable. However, this microwave does provide ther option of turning off the turntable. A definite bonus! Overall, a good microwave. "
Review 15 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Dunkirk, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
GE 24" Microwave PEM31
Posted:7/31/11
" This microwave may be only 800 watts but it defrosts meats and other frozen foods PERFECTLY! My old microwave was 1100 watts but cooked the meat around the edges when defrosting no matter how careful I was. So, really, we couldn't be more pleased with the product. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Awesome product
Posted:7/23/11
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
" Great web site and super fast delivery!! Great store. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
good overall microwave
Posted:6/23/11
" needed to replace old microwave in prebuilt space. this fit the space well and also ended up having a bigger inside capacity (could handle larger size plates) than the old one. Does everything we need for everyday use. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
ge 24" counter top microwave
Posted:5/10/11
Pros: small slick modern design powerful
Cons: none
" this microwave is the perfect size for a counter top. It works wonderful and looks sleek and modern.. Absolutely love it. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Nice Microwave
Posted:5/3/11
Pros: looks great. fits our cabinet space perfectly!
Cons: first one we recieved was a dud!
" First one was a dud. BUT, GE service was quick and punctual and tried on three different occassions to fix/repair. After the third time, AJ Madison was quick to send us a brand new microwave. The replacement through AJ Madison was professional and easy! They took care of us as quickly as they could. New microwave works great so far!!! "
Review 20 for GE 24" Counter Top Microwave PEM31
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Best purchase
Posted:4/20/11
Pros: none
Cons: lighter then the older ge.
" Had a GE for 25 years. Wanted the same one that I had. Works great even better. "