AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Portable Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Friedrich 11600 BTU Portable Air Conditioner P12B

Since its founding in 1883, Friedrich Air Conditioning Co. has had one manufacturing standard - quality without compromise. Over the years, the company's products have changed, but the commitment to quality has endured. Today, the fundamental direction of Friedrich is to be the top manufacturer of specialty air treatment products for the worldwide market. Moving the company forward are dedicated employees who are committed to excellence and have a passion to succeed. Friedrich is a company that is respected for a high degree of integrity and professionalism, as well as being recognized as the best in the business. The Friedrich name is synonymous with quality... shaped by the spirit that launched this company over a century ago. Friedrich is known for manufacturing some of the world's most durable air conditioners. You won't believe some of the places you'll find them. Friedrich air conditioners are made from higher grade materials and components that delivery dependable operation for years. But don't take their word for it. Some of their customers are business that operate in harsh environments where equipment just has to work. Period. Oil companies rely on them to cool offshort oil rigs, and they can be found on military bases and in government offices all over the world. Friedrich air conditioners are in use at Northrop Grumman, Eastman Chemical and the Kennedy Space Center, just to name a few. If they can handle their jobs, just think how well they will perform in your home.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 9(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Friedrich 11600 BTU Portable Air Conditioner P12B
Review 1 for Friedrich 11600 BTU Portable Air Conditioner P12B
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:New York, New York
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Keeping Cool!
Posted:8/16/11
Pros: two hoses easy installation easy to use.
Cons: it looks like a little robot in the room.
" We love this portable air conditioner. On the hottest day of the year, 2 days after we received it, we had it plugged in. My husband put the attachments together in 15 min. easy. The window attachment just slides together like a mesh screen for the window. With the two hoses the machine has not overheated.
We have an open living room/living room/kitchen. When it was 100 degrees outside we were 84-86 degrees inside. The air was, dry, breathable, and not sticky. We did add a box fan in the living area to disperse the cool air better on the 100 degree days. On cooler days 80 degrees outside we are 72 inside. We have it on throughout the day.
It does not get frezzing cold. Not as strong as window air conditioners for the same price.
My family are very happy with this portable air conditioner. "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Friedrich 11600 BTU Portable Air Conditioner P12B
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
This machine is simply _awesome!
Posted:3/15/11
Pros: cold air excellent thermostat controls and not t
Cons: as for me? i can't find any.
" This Friedrich P12B is one beautiful piece of equipment. Extremely cold air, and well built. I love this baby! Thanks AJMadison. Great service. "
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Friedrich 11600 BTU Portable Air Conditioner P12B
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Boston, MA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Product
Posted:8/6/12
Pros: cooling efficiency design wheels for easy moving
Cons: hose placement can be involved.
" This unit is well-built and cools very effectively. The dual hose design, while built for better efficiency, tends to make placement of the unit a little more involved, but once you've got it, you can be assured that this AC will serve you well. Controls are intuitive and the enclosed remote control allows for control across the room. "
Review 4 for Friedrich 11600 BTU Portable Air Conditioner P12B
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Ridgewood, New Jersey
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Really Good Choice
Posted:8/1/12
" I really love this air conditioner. It's quiet, yet does the job. It was also easy to set-up. The only negative is that it looks like a mini-diswasher. "
Review 5 for Friedrich 11600 BTU Portable Air Conditioner P12B
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
Would return them if I could
Posted:7/3/12
Pros: cools well no bucket to empty.
Cons: hideous.
" Giant and ugly--this machine will give any room the look of a hospital ward with not one but two bulging dryer hoses that must exit through the window.
I chose them (and stupidly bought TWO because that's what I needed) because I thought they'd be less obtrusive than window units. Not so. They take up a huge amount of space, have to sit away from the wall a bit to accommodate the above-mentioned hoses which then snake their way through a flimsy and poorly designed window panel that's an eyesore all on its own.
"
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Friedrich 11600 BTU Portable Air Conditioner P12B
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:lower Manhattan
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
so far so good
Posted:4/26/12
" This AC has yet to do battle w/ the now-standard super-humid lower Manhattan summer air, so I have yet to discover whether its "self-evaporating" system can really process the moisture w/o a pump & drain. But it's relatively quiet, the thermostat works well, & it cools/dries a greater area than the BTUs would indicate; & this is from a semi-open kitchen in a 750 sq. ft. apartment w/ due south exposure (lotsa sunlite). Definitely beats any AC I can fit in the thru-the-wall slots of my apt, at 1/2 the price. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Friedrich 11600 BTU Portable Air Conditioner P12B
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:new york, ny
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Really cools
Posted:8/26/11
Pros: chills really well
Cons: noise
" This unit very effective at cooling room- much better than the two previous brands I've owned. Only negative is that it is noisy. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Friedrich 11600 BTU Portable Air Conditioner P12B
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Noisy AC
Posted:6/12/11
Pros: cools good
Cons: very loud
" It does cool for sure, but nois is too much even a low fan speed. Can not use it anymore, it is going back! "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Friedrich 11600 BTU Portable Air Conditioner P12B
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
For loss of power
Posted:4/29/10
Pros: well madedual hoses
Cons: wish it were just a bit quieterbut its bearable
" Living in "hurricane alley",it pays to have a back up plan in case of power loss. My generator can power this and everything else in my home,except Central AC. This unit can get my bedroom nice and cool to make it easy to sleep during loss of power. Its well made and very sturdy,not a knock off by any means. The dual hoses are great so I dont have to empty a bucket all night long.Wish I had it during Hurricane Ike,would have been easier going thru 15 days of no power in Texas heat! "
29 of 35 people found this review helpful.