AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Front Load (Tumble) or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Amana Front Load Washer NFW7200TW

You seek practical answers for your daily needs. At Amana, their goal is to respond with appliances that fit the bill. Not only do they design their products to match your home, they design them to match your lifestyle. Every appliance they create offers clever features that make everyday tasks more manageble. Whether you're purchasing a single replacement appliance or an entire houseful, they like to think Amana plays well with others. Get fresh laundry by the basketful. Your home is full of life. At Amana, they aim to reflect that in your laundry room. Amana Traditional washers and dryers offer practical features that fit your lifestyle. From antimicrobial component protection to an ideal array of cycles and options, each laundry pair works with you to complement the life you lead and the clothes you wear.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
4 of 7(57%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Amana Front Load Washer NFW7200TW
Review 1 for Amana Front Load Washer NFW7200TW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Omaha, NE
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Love It!
Posted:2/23/13
"I have had my washer for about 3 years now, and have never had a problem with it, and it's nevet smelled bad either! My hisband have 2 teens, one of which is a boy, do it's handled very dirty loads, and many coins, etc. have gone through it with no problem. I do always ensure that the door and detergent cup are left open when it's not in use, and usually do at least one load of bleached clothes rach week."
Review 2 for Amana Front Load Washer NFW7200TW
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Michigan
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Worst Purchase Ever
Posted:1/16/13
Pros: liked musical announcement when cycle finished
Cons: not hearty didn't last long., couldn't seem to keep it balanced., bearings went within 7 years.
"Thought it being an Amana made a good choice. NOT! Lasted less than any other washer I've owned. Did not handle heavy loads well. Lasted less than 7 years, poor for a washer. Bearings went. Didn't seem to balance well even with light loads - would hop around and I even had it balanced with a level. Won't buy another Amana product."
Review 3 for Amana Front Load Washer NFW7200TW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Cleveland, OH
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
DOOR CRACKS OFTEN!
Posted:2/26/12
Pros: washer great; cleans well.
Cons: manufacturer defect on door which cracks often!
"The washer works very well, BUT the door cracks often near the hinge! I've had to replace the costly door parts 3 times in 3 years!"
Review 4 for Amana Front Load Washer NFW7200TW
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:St. Louis, MO
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Money Eater
Posted:10/12/11
Pros: nice white color, easy to use
Cons: pump is fragile--no filter which, means service calls will be necessary, doesn't clean well if clothes are dirty, worst choice/purchase in last 10 years
"I was excited to purchase my first front loading washing machine, and trusted the Amana products. The machine looked great and the reviews and pricing were good. First of all, I noticed that clothes were not getting clean. We tend to get our clothes dirty, working in the yard and garden. Maybe this washing machine was made for people that don't get very dirty. I started pre-rinsing dirty clothes in my sink (never did this with my top-loading Maytag). Then, the washer shut down with a load of clothes inside on the Friday of a holiday weekend. 5 days later some very smelly clothes and a bobby pin were extracted from the machine. Turns out the machine has no filter so any little item can get stuck in the pump and shut the machine down, and cost a lot for a repair. (Felt like the Pentagon, paying $200 for a bobby pin). A year later, a quarter in my pocket was overlooked and shut down the pump again, this time damaging the pump and requiring a new part--$350! I am a very careful person, but once a year I might let a coin or something escape my pre-laundry perusal, and what a costly oversight... I am extremely disappointed in this machine. In fact, I will never buy another Amana product, and my next washer will have a filter!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Amana Front Load Washer NFW7200TW
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great washer - front door cracks
Posted:2/2/11
Pros: great washer
Cons: doorcracks; lousy reponse from amana
"If you can persuade
Amana to replace the front door on this model every time it cracks, hooray for you.
I bought this great washer in 2008 and replaced the door in 2010 and now in 2011 I need another front door. Ironically, the door on the matching dryer does not crack. HELP!!!!
I need a new door or a new washer, Amana.
POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Amana Front Load Washer NFW7200TW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Orlando, FL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Quiet and Efficient
Posted:2/18/09
Pros: efficiency, capacity, cycle options
Cons: drain and fill noise, cabinet size (the unit is quite large)
"This machine does what it is meant to do and does it extremely well. This washer offers numerous cycles, temperatures, spin speeds - which allows you to customize your laundry as you want it to be done.
The normal cycle takes about 60 minutes for a large load, and on max spin speed it comes out almost dry. The 3.2 cubic foot capacity is enough for a family to get most of their wash done in one or two loads - and allows you to clean large bulky items like comforters or pillows at home!
The machine itself is quiet - all I can hear is the laundry sloshing around - though the drain pump and the filling action are rather loud. The spin is fast and quiet, as well.
I love how it plays a tune when it is done."
41 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Amana Front Load Washer NFW7200TW
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great washer
Posted:12/12/08
Pros: uses very little water and cleans really well
Cons: must be perfectly level all 4 ways and is very, heavy-requires 2 people to move it.
"qualifies for Energy Star rating and possibly for electric company rebates. This washer uses like 12 gallons of water per wash load start to finish. Extremely important if you are on a well in a drought area, like me. Nice looking, works well, easy to use. I would like to have a setting so that I could tell the washer if i had a small, medium or large load, but other than that it is great. By the way, mine has never had a bad smell, or any smell for that matter.. These front load washers are VERY HEAVY-several hundred pounds, so make sure your floor can support it. Also important is to make sure the washer is perfectly level otherwise it will vibrate unmercifully and knock pictures off walls and cups out of cabinets, as it spins the clothes almost dry. My kitchen floor is not level and is buckelling under the weight of this machine, so I can only use the gentle spin cycle, rather than medium or full spin cycles, which puts extra time on the dryer for the clothes."
41 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Amana Front Load Washer NFW7200TW
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:bedford, tx
Great, but has awful oder.
Posted:6/5/08
"My washer just came yesterday. There is an awful smell coming from the washer. I called Amana and they told me to run a cycle with just bleach, then do a few loads of laundry and it should go away. Well it hasn't and I may have to move in with my daughter until it does or send it back to[...]. The performance is A+.... Not sure I would recommend it until or if this odor goes away."
49 of 67 people found this review helpful.