AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W

Maytag 2.0 cu. ft. Microwave-Range Hood Combination Experience exceptional cooking performance and Maytag brand dependability with this 2.0 cu. ft. capacity over-the-range microwave model. Fits large meals and offers 1,100 watts of cooking power and a stunning stainless steel interior. The WideGlide tray is designed to move back and forth inside the microwave for uniform cooking results. Also included, a 300 CFM ventiation fan with charcoal filter that helps remove cooktop smoke and odors.
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (733 reviews)
5 stars
493
4 stars
173
3 stars
31
2 stars
21
1 star
15
668 of 730(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Review 1 for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Won't pop microwave popcorn well
Posted:5/10/13
"Small bags of popcorn tend to burn in this microwave & quite a lot of popcorn is left unpopped. The microwave looks good, but the performance has been questionable"
Review 2 for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:massachusetts
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Good basic mwave
Posted:2/6/13
Pros: less than 1/2 the price than a high end model but, looks high end.
Cons: can't figure out how to set the clock.
"Very attractive and easy to program/use. Great choice for folks who mostly use a mwave to heat or reheat. Like the counter light with 2 brightness settings."
Review 3 for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:South Berwick, Maine
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Very Disappointed
Posted:1/4/13
Pros: looked good
Cons: short life span popcorn button did not work well
"The microwave looked great and performed average for just over a year. With no warning it stopped working. It runs through the cycle but does not heat the food at all. It is also out of warranty as it was manufactured Jan. 2012. I expect a microwave to last longer than a year and a half! Very Disappointed!!!"
Review 4 for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Nice Microwave
Posted:4/5/12
Pros: very nice
Cons: little bigger then my old one
"I like the table in the Microwave, not the typical. The table is oblong and moves front to back side to side. You can use rectangle pans, no need to turn the table off."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Maytag OTR was the answer
Posted:11/15/11
Pros: design is superior - functionality is great., warms/cooks very evenly., easy to use and understandable controls.
Cons: the installation 'template' is a little daunting., too many 'options' and lines on the template., minor problem overall.
"We just purchased a new home, that was built in 1955. The home came without either a microwave or a range. We settled on a GE Range/Oven - but wanted the Maytag OTR since the reviews for this oven were better than the corresponding GE Micro's. We couldn't be happier.
The range is blk/SS and therefore we ordered the 'blk' Maytag OTR. Instructions on installation were complete and the hardware provided did the trick. We have left it in the 'interior circulating' mode since the overall CFM of this unit, was really not strong enough to go out and up/through the roof. The options for installation were nice, but since we were on an inside wall, not practical for external venting.
We love the large interior and the extremely large rectangular warming tray. I think the design they have to move the rectangular warming tray is simply great. Cooks/warms food evenly and the keypad is user friendly.
Both my wife and I are the handyman type, but not carpenters by any stretch. We managed the installation by ourselves, with no additional help. The only problem with installing the unit is that most of the weight is in one corner of the microwave, therefore it is a little unbalanced trying to lift/handle it.
I put an igloo cooler (on it's side) on top of the stove (with a large doubled towel on the stove surface) to act as a place to hold the microwave before final installation."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Portland, IN
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Does more than I expected
Posted:8/25/11
"This microwave is sooo user friendly. It has pre set settings for a lot of the items that we use our micro for, especially the kid's meals. The vent is great for over my new Maytag gas range, too. Automatically kicks into high when it gets too hot over the stove. I'm very happy with all of my Maytag products so far."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Philly
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Maytag SS microhood
Posted:8/1/11
Pros: style
Cons: keypad functions
"Installed it with some help from 15y.o. Daughter.
Instead of a turntable it has a tray that moves forward, backward and side-to-side.
Huge inside!
Needs one-touch speed cooking for 1-6 minutes."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Better than expected
Posted:3/30/11
Pros: high end quality
"we ordered it online, sight unseen and it was of higher quality than expected!!! looks like the high end brands but better!! cool side to side motion vice the old in a circle cooking..works great, highly reccomend!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
good product great value
Posted:1/28/11
Pros: price looks features and user friendly
Cons: ok doesnt have convection etc. but is still a good, value
"It does what microwaves are supposed to do for a good price. Looks good in black. The vents and light work well and I esp like that the vent iturns on automatically when the microwave is working so that the heat from the oustide of the oven is disbursed. You cant beat it for the price."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Texas
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Do Not Buy Maytag
Posted:12/29/10
Pros: looks good
Cons: built not to last
"My unit was a MMV5207AAW. It only lasted just over 5-1/2 years. The unit is poorly designed internally. Maytag has very poor tech support and quality control, and nearly useless customer support. All my Maytag appliances to include range, fridge, & microwave are failing after 5-1/2 years installation into a new home. I will never buy another Maytag."
3 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent
Posted:9/30/10
Pros: everything
Cons: none
"High Quality.....Would buy again for my next house I build"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great purchase
Posted:7/21/10
Cons: no cooking book
"So far we love our microwave, it would be even better if it came with a cooking instructing book."
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Maytag 30" Over the Range Microwave MMV5208W
Based on the average of (721) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating: 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 659 out of 718