AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Freestanding Ranges or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X

Built to last. That's the one characteristic that has defined Maytag brand since Frederick Louis Maytag began building washers in 1907. Every machine they make continues to live up to that ideal. They start with durable and long-lasting parts. They add the most advanced thinking in appliances, building in features that you can count on. They continually examine their designs and their machines, rethinking every step of the process to deliver a more durable, reliable product. Maytag has added a full line-up of home appliances along the way, from refrigerators and ranges to trash compactors with everything in between. But the one thing they've never changed is their commitment to quality, to being better built, so you can depend on Maytag. This double oven gas range delivers the industry's largest available capacity* at 6.0 cu. ft. The Power Center cooktop features a 16,000 BTU Speed Heat burner and a griddle burner with included griddle for flexibility with a variety of high-heat cooking options. EvenAir true convection in the lower oven roasts up to 30 percent faster than a thermal oven and uses Auto Conversion to automatically convert recipe times to eliminate guesswork. Power Preheat allows you to preheat your choice of either the upper or lower oven faster than conventional Maytag ovens. Plus, the 10-year limited parts warranty** on burners and cast iron grates give you peace of mind. *Among leading brands based on a combined capacity of both ovens. **See warranty for details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.395 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
5 stars
72
4 stars
27
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
4
101 of 113(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Review 1 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Orion, MI
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Stunning
Posted:6/28/12
Pros: very nice looking. works great, cooks evenly cleans easily
Cons: bottons are a little hard to push
"So far, we love it. Looks great, works great. Buttons are a little harder to push than our last range, but this prevents mistakes, so it is something that we plan to just get used to."
Review 2 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Full Featured Range
Posted:6/15/11
Pros: full feature set.
Cons: pricey but for us worth it.
"We couldn't be happier with our purchase of the Maytag MGT8885X. We chose white, due to black and stainless showing pingerprints. We are very happy with our decision. The flat top and fast boil burner are great for canning. The smaler top oven has been great for frozen Pizza, Brownies, and cookies. The lower is perfect for Turkeys and Hams. We haven't used the oval center burner yet, but expect to use it for skillet creations.
This is a full featured range with options you usually only get with builtins, and we can take it with us if we ever choose to move. i would recomend to anyone not on a tight budget."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Vandenberg Village, CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Got My New Range!
Posted:4/18/12
Pros: double oven five burners griddle stainless
Cons: none that i have found
"I received my new range on time and in perfect condition. The delivery folks were professional and took great care when moving the range into my new kitchen. I have had a chance to use the range and I'm completely satisfied with the product. The price value that I received from AJ Madison was outstanding! No way could I have found the same cost locally. I would recommend AJ Madison to anyone looking for quality appliances and I would use them again if the need arose."
Review 4 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Nashua, NH
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Quick Delivery
Posted:4/7/12
Pros: save $ on food prep costs log term
Cons: dryer cooking than electric
"It did go up in price from when I first looked at it to when I purchased it BUT delivery was much quicker than I expected. So much quicker that I suspected it might be broken and mis-routed from the loading dock. When it arrived, I got the electrical hookup changed and the gas line connected (+$XXX.XX) and it still did not work. Fortinately we got all this done within the 2 days AJ MAdison gives you to make an immediate claim about the appliance and they sent someone out to repair it. Turns out there is an undocumented trick to getting it to work. You will need a Maytag repairman to help with the install (+$XXX). The burners do not always light up right away so you may smell a little gas at first. It cooks a little dryer than an electric stove BUT the savings in electricity is well worth it. We are compensating for the dryness. We chose this over the others for the griddle top, two ovens, and oven sizes as well as the perfect match to the size of the stove we were replacing"
Review 5 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Dallas, Texas
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Very Happy
Posted:3/6/12
Pros: 2 ovens 5 burners and a great griddle
"The only negative thing I could say is that I wish the controls could have been somewhere else so that the burner grate could have been a little larger. Otherwise I am very pleased. The controls are very easy to use and I really like using the smaller oven and broiler most of the time and only have to use the larger oven when we entertain."
Review 6 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
AWESOME GAS RANGE
Posted:3/2/12
Pros: double ovens; fifth burner/griddle
Cons: none that i have found so far
"This range is everything I wanted and more. Recommend highly."
Review 7 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
good value
Posted:2/7/12
"I looked at dozens of ovens and this one was the best price for the features we were looking for.
have only had the oven for a few weeks now, but so far so good.
the griddle in the center is very handy, we use it every morning to cook breakfast for the three of us.
"
Review 8 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Saint Helen, MI
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Not sure if I'd buy again
Posted:9/16/11
Pros: looks good. heats up quickly ignights fast
Cons: not enough room on stove not enough room in top, oven when rack on bottom. food hits top of oven, when on higher rack setting.
"The first thing I noticed is that the top oven rack is oddly located. If you have it on the top adjustment your food hits the metal on top. If you put it on the lower rack setting its hard to get the rack/food out.
Ive noticed the upper oven takes A LOT longer to cook than my other oven. Like tonight. I baked a cake for the max time recommended. checked it to find there was still liquid in middle of pan. Had to cook it for another 10 minutes.
Pans fit tightly on stove. The back of the stove where the electronic reading are sticks out. Taking away space from the stove. Black top on stove shows every speck of food/dirt.
Haven't used the lower oven yet.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Charlotte, NC
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
If I were a cook I would like this item
Posted:8/30/11
"I do not personally do a lot of cooking, but my wife loves this gas oven. She was hesitiant at first when I converted from electricity to gas. Now she loves it and the stove makes it so easy."
Review 10 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Marietta, GA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Bad Prodiuct
Posted:7/28/11
"Oven came damaged in box. Light in oven wouldn't go off. Cheap stainless on top. Poor quality"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Love this stove so far
Posted:7/10/11
Pros: beautiful appearance, large front burner cooks very fast, griddle great for small amount of pancakes, sunken burners easy to clean and keep nice
Cons: griddle might not be as useful for large household
"Love the burners and griddle!
Haven't used the two ovens much yet. Looking forward to Thanksgiving to see if they make a big difference in all the cooking to be done."
Review 12 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Range
Posted:6/14/11
"Everything works great. We loved the quality. My mother in law has a viking range and is very picky with her appliances. She saw it and used it and was very impressed as well. I am very happy with the purchase."
Review 13 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Geneva, IL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Pleasantly surprised!
Posted:5/2/11
Pros: double oven five stove burners w/ middle griddle
Cons: none so far
"I've always wanted to get a double oven and cooktop setup in our kitchen and originally wanted an electric builtin oven, but quickly found out that we would have to pipe more electricity to the kitchen for $$$$. We found this range by accident and investigated further. We liked that it had the features of a lot of high-end ranges such as the middle griddle. Preheating is still slower than an electric oven, but the top smaller oven is a lot more faster to pre-heat than our former 7 year old oven. It looks very nice, the stainless steel is commercial grade. I can't wait to have an event where I get to use both ovens!"
Review 14 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
My Dream Gas Range
Posted:4/14/11
Pros: user friendly
Cons: i don't know when and with what to use the convect
"For a couple of years now I knew I wanted a double oven gas range. I recently received my Maytag Double Oven (Convection oven) Gas Range and I love it. Its everything you can dream of in a stove. Digital displayand user friendly my 15 yr old daughter even loves it. Best investment I've made towards an appliance"
Review 15 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Oven
Posted:3/21/11
"Overall, I am very pleased with this oven. The 5 gas burners on top are great and I love the different sized burners for cooking different things. I am still getting used to how the top and bottom ovens cook. I have an electric version of this oven as well and the two cook differently. The top oven takes a little longer to heat than the electric. The appearance of the stove is very good and it is easy to clean."
Review 16 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Love it
Posted:3/16/11
Cons: black shows even finger prints. wish i did stainle
"Great oven. Our first convection
What a difference
Saved 400.00 using AJ Madison had oven in 2.5 weeks
Would highly recommend"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great range
Posted:2/26/11
Pros: like cooking with gas.
Cons: like burns top to be black or gray, instead of white.
"Grill is small. It appeared bigger to me in the pictures."
Review 18 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
OK, but shoulda looked closer
Posted:2/10/11
Pros: nice features useful ovens
Cons: small stove top inefficient pot heating
"This range is mfg. by Whirlpool and available in KitchenAid as well as Whirlpool forms- slightly different control layouts, etc. Elec. controls easier to read on KitchenAid, but performance should be otherwise very similar. Ovens are fine and very handy with various regular or convection options (large oven only - cooked a really great turkey). The lower oven is VERY low to the floor so careful removing large heavy hot items. Burner controls rotate counterclockwise which is slightly counter intuitive, but can be gotten used to. They do regulate the heat well and are easy to light the burners. The real problem is the top of the range - nice appearing heavy iron grates are too far above the burners so efficient heat transfer seems to suffer quite a bit - takes much longer to heat pans I'm very familiar with than our ancient Caloric did. Also, it has a very shallow depth making it quite difficult to put several normal sized (5 qt.+) pots on top without severe or even potentially dangerous overcrowding - the outer edges of the grates slope downwards so there's nothing to retain a bumped or crowded out pot. Be sure to be careful of this, and pot handles sticking out especially with children around."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Product
Posted:12/20/10
"I am in love with this range. We got it just in time for Turkey day and cooked shredded pork. The pork came out the best ever. Even for daily use the range is excellent."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Maytag 30" Freestanding Gas Range MGT8885X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
good - could be better
Posted:12/17/10
Pros: really a good value
Cons: concerns about some efficiency and safety issues
"For the price this is the best valued iteration of this double oven design - the same basic layout is available from Whirpool (the actual mfr.), and KitchenAid. Regardless of the iterations expect that every drip and spatter will show on the black enamel around the burners and the brushed SS around the knobs. I like that the knobs are interchangeable (maybe even between the branded iterations!?), but it is a certainty that the burner ID printed upon the panel around the knobs is not long for the world as the need to clean this area will make them effemeral. The burner flame seems quite far from the bottom of the grates and this seems to reduce efficiency, but it also seems to diffuse the heat sufficiently to almost eliminate burning on the bottoms of thin-walled pots and pans even with the 16,00 BTU front burner - so that's a break even sort of thing. Insulation from extreme heat at the sides of the range and front oven doors is surprisingly well controlled. With small children this is a big plus. Not so good is the raised burner grates that are beveled downward at the outer edges. The idea is to accommodate large vessels on the outer burners, but the bevel may more easily allow tipping of top heavy large steamers or frying pans with handles sticking outward (as one would naturally do when "cooking large" for the extended family - maybe with, hopefully, small grandchildren streaming through). The two convection oven features work quite well - Thanksgiving Turkey @ 325 F was cooked evenly through without excessively drying out of the wings - even the tips were tasty! And having the double ovens allowed for the traditional green bean and onion casserole, etc. to be prepared at the same time as the extended Turkey roasting went ahead. Just as I'd hoped for."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.