AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE

EcoConserve Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator - MBF1958XE Here's a bright idea: a refrigerator that uses less energy than a 60-watt bulb running continuously for a year. This 19 cu. ft. EcoConserve bottom-freezer refrigerator is 30 percent more efficient than minimum federal energy standards require. And you don't have to trade off convenience: SpillCatcher glass shelves help make clean up a breeze and a half-width deli drawer adjusts to accommodate tall items on the shelves.
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (374 reviews)
5 stars
235
4 stars
112
3 stars
18
2 stars
6
1 star
3
358 of 373(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Review 1 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Connecticut
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Perfect fit
Posted:11/13/13
Pros: quiet and bottom freezer makes it more practical
"I bought this fridge to replace the old, inefficient, top-mount freezer style in the house we bought. It fit perfectly into the space, is quiet, and the bottom freezer is a back saver and food saver (people eat what they can see).
Although it won't hold enough for a large family, it services our three-person household.
The purchase, payment, and delivery were seamless.
"
Review 2 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Q.A. Maryland
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Exellent Refrigerator
Posted:10/2/13
Pros: excellent design and extra quiet
Cons: not noticed anything negative
"The Maytag frig is quiet, large top door to refrigerator
and convenience to access food. The freezer on the
bottom is an excellent feature.
The Maytag frig is so, so quiet and provides large
shelving on the door.
"
Review 3 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Silver Spring
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
I love my new refrigerator
Posted:7/6/13
Pros: quiet keeps food very cold fits small space.
Cons: none
"I purchased this refrigerator through AJ Madison, after checking for quality through the Consumer Reports site. There were no local stores that owned this specific model, but I saw one which was very similiar. I ordered it by telephone over the Memorial Day Weekend and I had it delivered within one week. I am very pleased. It is so quiet that at times I feel as if it is not working. It came preset for temperature and it keeps all food, including frozen food at just the right temperature. Because I have a very small space for my refrigerator, I was limited to the size I bought. For a small refrigerator, it is very roomy and I really like having frozen foods at the bottom and vegetables at waist high. I stocked up on supplies, after being without a working refrigerator for about two weeks and I was able to fill it easily and find places for most items. I have only had this refrigerator for almost two months, but I am very pleased."
Review 4 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Georgia
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
New Fridge
Posted:6/11/13
"This fridge is good looking, performs well, and fits nicely with my other appliances. It's been about a month and so far, so good."
Review 5 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Washington DC
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
New fridge didn't cool
Posted:3/25/13
Cons: brand new fridge didn't work inadequate service.
"This refrigerator didn't cool when it was first plugged in. Eventually a warranty service call determined that a faulty part had allowed all the freon to escape. Even now it must be set at the highest setting to keep the refrigerator temperature in the "safe" range (I bought a refrigerator thermometer so we wouldn't lose more food).
Also, we had to wait two extra days for service because the Maytag customer service phone center does not work on weekends! And Maytag unfortunately has a "repair only," not replacement policy.
Not your mother's Maytag anymore.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
broke after 4 months
Posted:10/21/12
Cons: cheap quality parts
"I bought a brand new Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958. After 4 months of normal use, compressor started having problems. We started hearing louder and louder noise from the back of refrig. Then the freezer stopped cooling and didn’t freeze anything.
Then the refrig couldn’t keep things cool and the temperature inside refrig started getting rising. I went on Maytag web site and scheduled an appointment for a service technician from A and E service. I had several problems with A and E, they are horrible , terrible . I switched to another service company. Long story short, it was determined comproser needed to be replaced! It will take one week to get a new comproser and couple more days for technician to come and install, i really hope that will the end of it.
I was lucky that the unit was under warranty and warranty covered the repair, or else, I was told, I would have to pay 400-600$ in parts and labor to replace the faulty compressor.
On another note, the freeze's useable space is small."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Victor, Idaho
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Eco Fridge
Posted:10/9/12
Pros: low energy use
Cons: ice maker takes up a lot of room
"This fridge was rated one of the best for low energy use of the bottom freezer models available. It also fit my smaller space. I like the layout inside and seams of better quality then others I looked at."
Review 8 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Howell mi.
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Find
Posted:6/14/12
"My wife loves the bottom freezer drawer and the extra room on the top section. Runs good and quiet and the ice maker is great. The meat and crisper drawers are larger than our last frig. We're happy so far."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Ohio
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Fridge!
Posted:4/9/12
"We've had this fridge for about 8 weeks now and it's been perfect. It runs quietly, keeps everything at the right temp, makes ice quickly, looks beautiful, and fits perfectly in our small 1950s built kitchen. The price was such a bargain too!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
LOVE IT TOO!
Posted:12/19/11
Pros: good quality nicely designed
Cons: none
"Great Fridge..door shelves lock in, not the cheap slide ins that fall out when you close the door. Other brands had set screw holding the door handles on - which were visible (not capped and ugly) the maytag handles slide and lock in place, nice appearance. Light switch pushes "in" when you close the door. Other models push down and in, and if you have too much stuff in the door, the tab gets caught on the top shelf lip and won't close. This fridge is well designed - love it."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Hingham Ma.
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
LOVE IT
Posted:9/1/11
Pros: Quiet
Cons: none yet
"This refrigerator is super quiet, cold, and looks great!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Lebanon, PA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Purchase
Posted:8/30/11
Pros: great fridge design and very quiet.
Cons: none
"Item was safely packed delivery men were efficient and courteous. Love the design and cooling of the unit."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
excellent!
Posted:6/10/11
"I love this refrigerater. It's beautiful and love lthe bottom freezer."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Efficient and simple design
Posted:5/23/11
Pros: super efficient, clean design
Cons: too small for a big us costco family
"This replaced my 20 year old refrigerator and will use half the energy. It has less volume, but because the refrigerator is on top instead of stupidly on the bottom like most refrigerators, I will be able to see into it and keep things organized with ease. The shelves and boxes are good quality their configuration is flexible. The stainless steel really shows fingerprints. I made a slight scratch on it during assembly and can't rub it out (I might need to use some kind of buffing compound). It's also very quiet."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
2nd one in 6 years...
Posted:5/2/11
Pros: freezer on bottom, perfect fit in a small space
Cons: maytag warranty on compressor not great, left side handle 'holes' on fridge facade
"Unfortunately, I had bought the exact same refrigerator 6 years ago.... and the compressor went out. I called Maytag, no dice .. no warranty left. I was not happy, because the refrigerator is the perfect dimensions for my kitchen, and I didnt want to reconfigure the kitchen cabinets (above the fridge) with a new 'fridge. As you could imagine, I just wanted the same 'fridge at the best price. I went to AJ Madison and was a little worried buying out of state .. but the price was awesome. I went for it and was absolutely delighted with the delivery ! Great JOB AJM !! You are now my official appliance store !! If you are on the fence in buying because you live in a different state, get over it !! This was a great experience"
16 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Maytag Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator MBF1958XE
Based on the average of (359) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating: 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 345 out of 358