AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Built In Dishwashers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX

With 90 years of experience and expertise under their belt, KitchenAid brings you quality craftsmanship, versatile technology, and timeless style. Through it all, the secret to their success has been you - the customer. Get 25 percent better results vs. the competition (based on combined wash and dry results of leading premium brands' highest MSRP models; dry testing conducted without rinse aid). The ProScrub Option uses powerful spray jets in the back of the dishwasher to deliver concentrated cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.45 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (451 reviews)
5 stars
305
4 stars
91
3 stars
26
2 stars
11
1 star
18
386 of 438(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Review 1 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Madison, AL
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
A good-looking pile of junk. Avoid this dishwasher
Posted:10/27/14
Pros: looks good, Quiet
Cons: cheap plastic parts break often and are expensive, leaks leaks and leaks some more
"I've now owned this dishwasher for 3 years. I've had to replace several of the cheaply-made internal plastic parts because they break easily and the dishwasher leaks both from the front door and now from the water inlet valve underneath as well. I also noticed in working on this pile-of-junk that when I put my magnetic-base flashlight on the door of the dishwasher it stuck! Since magnets don't "stick" to stainless-steel I'm assuming this door is not made out of stainless steel. So if you're looking for an expensive "stainless-look" dishwasher that breaks often and leaks regularly this unit is just the ticket."
Review 2 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Love this dishwasher
Posted:2/24/14
Pros: great rack storage
Cons: wish i got it sooner
"We had kitchen aid when we built other houses and love them. We moved to a new house 7 years ago and it had a BOSCH, so we dealt with it. So happy it died so we could get the kitchenaid back. So quiet. Cleanest dishes. No wet glasses to dry after the cycle."
Review 3 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Problematic
Posted:9/5/13
Pros: very quiet cleans well when it works
Cons: poor overall quality plastic parts which break, easily circulation motor is not serviceable
"This dishwasher replaced a 15 year old Whirlpool which never had a service call.
I have owned this product for less than two years. In that time the circulation motor, the food chopper assembly, and both top rack adapters have all had to be replaced. The dishwasher does not get heavy use as it is just my wife and myself.
Luckily, I am very handy and was able to do most of the repairs myself.
Very disappointed in the quality of the product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:WV
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great dishwasher, so QUIET!!
Posted:4/30/13
"This has been a fantastic dishwasher at a great price. I had to call to have it serviced as it was leaking after the install, but the service guy came in 2 days. It was a loose connection involving the float valve that was missed at manufacture, but easily fixed. Perfect operation since, extremely quiet, and cleans great. It replaced a 16 year old Kitchenaid; the old one was much noisier and had less room. This thing holds a lot! Other folks have a point about the plastic parts, but I think they'll be ok. If not I'll update."
Review 5 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Woodside, CA
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Door pops open
Posted:3/18/13
Pros: Quiet, large load capacity, gets 'em clean
Cons: door latch pops open, rather pricey
"This dishwasher performs near flawlessly, unfortunately the issue I am having renders it severely incapacitated. The door unlatches itself in the wash cycle with maddening frequency.
The dishwasher itself is nice to look at, quiet (very quiet), and has good racks that support heavy loads. I can't rate this highly on value because it is not inexpensive so a best it is as good as competing options. The performance score would be higher if they dealt with the sensitive latch issue"
Review 6 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Princeton NJ
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent Dishwasher
Posted:2/11/13
Pros: quiet ez to use cleans well large tub rebate
Cons: key part should be identified before install
"This appliance is easy to use, spacious (like the tall tub) and quiet. The rebates were definitely a plus in my purchase decision. We have had it for over 6 months and it works like a charm. Only issue is that when ordering, it would have been helpful to review all installation needs. There was a small adaptor sold separately which was needed to complete the installation. I had no idea it was required due to the compatibility of water connectors. So I didn't order it initially. The poor guys had to come out twice to deliver then re-install after I ordered the part. They were very gracious overall."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Nice
Posted:7/18/12
Pros: very quiet
Cons: doesn't always dry dishes completely.
"Quiet and efficient. Great pricing from AJ Madison."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Bad wheels
Posted:4/24/12
"Kitchen aid has always had a great reputation. Unfortunately the craftsmanship of this product does not live to the reputation.
The plastic assembly that drives the rails is way tho weak and only after 6 months simply snapped.
I wish they would charge a little bit more for their product when the word kitchen aid is on it and use better quality parts.
Will not buy one ever again.
Sorry
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Difficult installation
Posted:2/6/12
Pros: matches all the rest of our kitchenaid items
Cons: hard to install pretty expensive
"This DW is supposed to fit in a 24" cabinet. The front right door hinge protrudes out slightly when opening the dw door making it impossible to fit in a 24" cabinet and open the door. I had to actually cut a groove on the inside of my cabinet so the door would open. It works OK, but our old Frigidare did a better job cleaning. We got this to match all the rest of the Kitchenaid appliance we have. It was pretty expensive to keep up appearances!"
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:NJ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
dishwasher
Posted:1/5/12
Pros: fabulous..quiet cleans well and looks good
Cons: too early to tell
"No need to waste money on Meile's. This Kitchenaid is the best .. we love it sleek, quiet and does the job well.."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Germantown, MD
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
good job
Posted:12/13/11
Pros: quiet sleek roomy nice touch pad but it is a, bit super sensitive if you bump it.
Cons: expensive. i got mad when i saw a newer model, which was quieter and over $200.00 cheaper, soon after i bought this one. i think it was on, sale. also if you don't rinse your dishes and, let them sit in the washer a while without washing, there will be a hard film on the plates. so we, continue to rinse our dishes before washing. the, unit needs an interior built in handle for lifting, the door back up as you have to put your wet, hands all over the front cover to lift it up.
"This dishwasher is a huge difference when compared to our 12 yr old GE. The dishwasher has a much larger capacity to hold a wide range of dishes. With just two people in the house, we don't have to run the dishwasher as often, because it's much larger inside. The unit is sharp looking. The handle sticks out a good 2 1/16th", so make sure if you have a pull out draw near by that you have clearance. It is quiet, but not like the salesman said.."as loud as a pot of boiling water". The extra insulation around the unit, as well as under the unit really muffle the noise. This unit is rated at 49 decibels."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Pennsylvania
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent value
Posted:10/21/11
Pros: very quiet. dishes come out sparkling.
Cons: would like to have some different spacing options, on the bottom rack
"We were replacing our existing Kitchen Aid dishwasher due to a remodel. It's much quieter than our older model and the drying cycle is more efficient. We like the hidden controls - no accidental starts caused by the kids.
We use it mainly for dishes and it suits our needs well.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Middlefield, CT
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great dishwasher, one annoying detail
Posted:9/26/11
Pros: excellent value, washing drying clean external light
Cons: silverware slotted tops are thin and warp.
"I'm very happy with the performance of this dishwasher overall. You can spend a lot more for bells and whistles that don't substantially add to the performance, but with this machine you get just what you need.
I do wish non-European built dishwashers didn't still use the old fashioned heating coils but that's not my issue.
The silverware basket has slotted, removable tops to old silverware separated from each other. Unfortunately the slotted tops that come with this dishwasher are thin and warped so the don't stay in place once you start loading up silverware. They collapse into the basket. I'm following up with KitchenAid to see if they have a solution."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:purcellville, va
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Quiet with tons of Space
Posted:9/13/11
Pros: clean well tons of room and very quiet
"This KitchenAid Dishwasher was a tremendous upgrade to our previous one. Its quiet and spacious plus the dishes come out looking great. The price on this item from AJ Madison just can't be beat. I also can't say enough about the great service I received from AJ Madison. I ordered the KitchenAid KUDS35FX Dishwasher on a Sunday and it was delivered on Tuesday. (That just amazing) Plus the packing was top notch. The dishwasher was fully surrounded by cardboard with an inside wooden support frame as well as additional re-enforced cardboard packaging for the corners. The delivery people brought it right into the kitchen and dropped it off right where I wanted it. (Again that just amazing) Top notch service all around. Just as a added note make sure to include the 3/4" x 3/8" Elbow Hose Fitting for $7. The KitchenAid elbow fitting needed/ used different size than my previous dishwasher. I learned this the hard way and had to order one after the fact."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:NYC, Upper West Side
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Dishwasher
Posted:8/31/11
"Matched the KitchenAid stuff we bought. Surprised at how quiet it is. Seems to work very well. Good installation instructions."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Woodbridge, NJ
Would Recommend: Yes
Very Quiet Dishwasher
Posted:8/22/11
Cons: a bit pricy but worth the money
"Even though I never owned a dishwasher before, I have been to friends and relatives' house and none of their dishwasher is this quiet. I had to put my ears next to it to make sure it is running. It is so quiet that there is no problem watching TV next to it. I love having a dishwasher now. I don't run it every day, but it is nice to have when I have a lot of dishes to do. I highly recommend it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Posted:5/29/11
Pros: easy to use quiet sturdy cleans well
Cons: needs mat to be super silent
"So far so good. Happy with it. Solid, stainless inside and out and quiet.
It requires a rubber mat underneath to knock down a few extra DB's. However, if your power come out of the floor they wont install the mat part. That was the case with mine, but it runs in the kitchen and is still very quiet.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Has tons of space
Posted:5/18/11
Pros: quiet lots of space
Cons: none yet.
"The DW looks great installed and didn't realize how many more dishes this holds than our previous one. It is super quiet, even the plumber asked if it was on. We've had it for a few weeks and my wife loves it."
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Sub-$1000 dishwasher
Posted:4/5/11
"Solidly build machine. Reasonably quiet performance but not as quiet as the Bosch. Disposal can make noise, but silent otherwise. Cleans very well."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for KitchenAid Built In Dishwasher KUDS35FX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Extremely Pleased
Posted:3/21/11
Pros: cleans dishes great awesome features
Cons: not super duper quiet but 4 hr delay overrides
"After a few weeks, I am incredibly pleased with the KUDS35FX. The dishes come out beautiful. I never used to put pots and pans in the dishwasher, but I do now and they come out great on heavy duty. The proscrub does indeed work on casseroles. I love the clips to hold lids, as well as the stemware holder. The bottom section is extremely roomy and efficient, and the silverware trays are also quite roomy. The adjustable top rack is very helpful. I didn't know if I needed some of the extra features but I love them all, esp. the 4 hour delay. I highly recommend this dishwasher, and I am really glad I paid a little extra. If only it would unload itself...."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.