AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Miele Built In Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KF1901

Miele is a German manufacturer of high quality domestic appliances and machines for commercial applications. The company was founded more than 108 years ago in 1899 by Carl Miele and Reinhard Zinkann and has always been a family-owned, family-run company. Miele aims to manufacture the highest-quality domestic appliances and commercial equipment in the world and to be seen by markets worldwide as providing an absolutely top-class household product. In the words of their founding fathers, Carl Miele and Reinhard Zinkann, "Success is only possible in the long term if one is totally and utterly convinced of the quality of one's products." Therefore, continuous innovation is the foundation of their business success. A Cool New Wave Miele's food and wine preservation appliances join an impressive wave of state-of-the-art products specifically designed to exceed the performance, design and durability expectations of the North American consumer. Miele innovation and quality are inherently built into each Independence Series product - creating truly unique solutions to easily and safely maintain food and wine without sacrificing freshness, texture or body. At their core, these products are crafted using only the highest-grade materials, cutting-edge cooling technology and Miele's proprietary electronics made at their headquarters in Gtersloh, Germany. In every way, Miele's legendary reliability is apparent... from the high-performing, cooling system and intuitive MasterCool touch controls to the ground-breaking application technology of RemoteVision, Miele delivers total peace of mind that your investment in quality food and valuable wine is optimally stored.
Average Customer Rating:
3.182 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
5 of 11(45%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Miele Built In Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KF1901
Review 1 for Miele Built In Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KF1901
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:San Francisco, CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
About the hinges
Posted:5/21/13
"I can't yet comment on the other aspects of the product, but the door hinges are awesome. Our salesman, a 200 pound guy, did chin-ups on the fully open door in his showroom. He refused to do chin-ups on the SubZero. (Do not try this at home.) The Miele and Liebherr hinges look alike, by the way."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Miele Built In Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KF1901
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Pretty and useless
Posted:3/10/13
Pros: pretty finish
Cons: everything else
"Paid a kings ransom to put all Miele appliances in our home and outside the dishwasher they are all junk. The fridge weighs 500lbs and the put it on dinky little rubber wheels that promptly shredded and gouged our floor on install. Next the water filter light came on 1 month after install and can't be turned off. Our water doesn't need filtering in my area anyway. Won't make ice cubes after a couple months (maybe because of filter). Door/temp alarm is barely audible-why bother! I wish I had gone with subzero and will NEVER buy Miele again."
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Miele Built In Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KF1901
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Park City, UT
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Space
Posted:1/3/13
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: lots of space.
Cons: don't like the handle shape and color off.
"Big top door with lots of space inside. Shelving is nice and allows for customizing the space. Door swing is big, so check your measurements. Lighting is great. Replaced a failed 10 year old Sub Zero that couldn't see inside very well with the poor lighting from above only. Nice shape ice cubes for drinks. Handles could be done differently and try to match the stainless steel skin better. Like round pro handles better."
Review 4 for Miele Built In Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KF1901
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Princeton, NJ
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
beautiful, but poor product
Posted:7/17/12
Pros: beautiful
Cons: beauty only skin deep, complicated programming, poor value (high cost marginal quality)
"Obviously, purports to be a premium product. But after a year it is, literally, falling apart: panels falling off; odd noises that Miele can't address; poor manuals that bear no resemblance to how the product seems to be programmed; etc. So far it does maintain temperature well, but I am praying that I didn't jinx myself by writing that faint praise. I would never buy another Miele product- seems to be superficially well-engineered but functionally challenged, with indifferent customer support from Miele. I can't compare with other so-called high-end refrigerators, but I feel that I wasted $8,000 on this pile of pretty junk."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Miele Built In Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KF1901
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Soutport, NC
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Great except for ice production
Posted:7/12/12
"I love my Miele in every way except one. We entertain alot and use plenty of ice. This fridge can't keep up. Max production is limited to 144 cubes per day. But the fridge has a "smart" sensor and detects ice "usage" It doesn't make cubes until the bin is full like most fridges. When I come back from vacation, the bin is not full. It knows I'm not using ice while I'm gone, so it doesn't make any. I've spoken to Miele cust service - which is where some of this info came from. There is nothing they can currently do to rectify this situation."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Miele Built In Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KF1901
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Demarest
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Break every summer
Posted:6/29/12
"I left review last year and this year the refrgirator broke again. Same issue and same parts needed to be ordered and replace. I have been waiting for 2 weeks waiting for freezer fan and filter to be replaced. The only difference from last year is they are chaging $400 to fix it because it walked out of factory warrenty. Thank God I spend $400 for extented warrenty last year. The money paid back right away. I strongly recommand this product only when you have a lot of time and money and pleased to deal with repair services, ruined food and not working ice maker. Miele will not only come to your house fixing their product every year but 20 times a year."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Miele Built In Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KF1901
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Pennsylvania
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
What a refrigerator!
Posted:5/1/12
Pros: beautifully made, solid construction
Cons: very top heavy., a little difficult to install due to the weight
"I knew this was a big refrigerator but it took 3 guys to get it into my house! It is beautiful and works great. It is a quality appliance that everyone is impressed with. One of the first things people notice when they open the door is the size of the hinges! They are huge but function great. The inside is well made with metal racks for the adjustable shelves. Overall it's beautiful."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Miele Built In Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KF1901
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Demarest NJ
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
The most expensive Pcs o S I have ever bough
Posted:9/15/11
Pros: pricy
Cons: sloppy fragile
"I bought it in the end of year of 2009, it worked for 3 months in my kitchen and then dead. Miele sent technician to my house several times then decided change a brand new one for me. The second one only worked find for another year and the ice maker stop making ice. the temperature went up to 70's once every couple day. Miele could not fix it at all. Miele doesn't want replace or take back my bad refrigerator even thought they can't fix their sloppy product. Their supervisor names Mike even proudly claim their refrigerator working fine in my house for more than a year. I am so exhausted to deal with it."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Miele Built In Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KF1901
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Built in Glory
Posted:2/27/11
"I am amazed! I always loved Miele but they have really outdone themsleves this time."
0 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Miele Built In Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KF1901
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Awesome Build Quality
Posted:1/20/11
Pros: quality economy lighting design features
Cons: price but worth it if in your range.
"The KF1911 is very well made...with an incredibly strong hinge that swings past 90degrees for easy access to the well-lit compartment. The unit is whisper quiet, and has controls to set temp for main section, and the freezer compartment; each section has its own compressor. Also, the two drawers in the ref. section can be set to optimize for veg, meat, seafood, or fruit. The shelves are adjustable, but the top shelf is high for persons of average height. The ice maker makes "euro" ice cubes (smaller oval shapes) that are a great change from the huge ice crescents common in US models."
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Miele Built In Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KF1901
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
found scratches
Posted:12/20/10
"Not sure how the scratches and dents appeared but either way this are not very durable. Found scratches on the freezer bar and little dents right underneath. Very disappointed since this cost over $8,000!"
6 of 14 people found this review helpful.