AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV

KitchenAid has spent decades creating innovative products for the well-equipped kitchen. From commercial grade cooktops and wine cellars to stand mixers and an impressive assortment of cookware, bakeware and accessories, they offer virtually every culinary essential you could need. Architect Series II Architect Series II appliances are an evolution of performance and intuitive design that was inspired by, and created for, those who love to cook and entertain. The timeless appearance of the Architect Series II comes in the form of robust contoured handles and knobs, rounded corners, and seamless stainless steel edges. Mouthwatering performance is reflected in adjustable settings, intuitive displays and control graphics, and complementary features designed to work together for a smooth cooking experience. Available at AJ Madison.
Average Customer Rating:
4.337 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (267 reviews)
5 stars
152
4 stars
81
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
10
230 of 262(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Review 1 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
thoughtfully designed
Posted:9/16/11
Pros: well designed sleek appearance
Cons: ice maker can be loud (maybe due to installer)
"I was reluctant to buy this fridge because I had never used a French Door fridge before. After a month of use it has been a great purchase. You can actually see everything in the refrigerator. No longer will leftovers accumulate in the back of the shelves and turn into science projects. Another feature I love is that the fridge beeps at you if you leave the door open. There is plenty of room for tall wine bottles too."
18 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Westerly, RI
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Simply Perfect for 2 or 3 people
Posted:8/8/11
Pros: counter width appearance layout filtered water, ice maker deli tray
Cons: none
"Exceptional product at an exceptional price. Looks beautiful, performs beautifully. Maintains a constant 38 degree temp. Ice maker and the filtered water are worth their weight in gold. Counter width and french doors are what originally sold us and we absolutely made the best choice. Delivery was professional and on-time by AJ Madison. 5 Stars."
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Changed my mind
Posted:9/11/14
Pros: great looking ton of space
Cons: leaks out of the freezer.
"I reviewed this fridge shortly after I purchased it from AJ saying I loved it and it was perfect. I do love it, but it has a major flaw. Shortly after the warranty was up the freezer started to leak onto my hardwood floors. We had a tech come out and fix a line that had become frozen. This continues to happen frequently. I am spending $130 a service call every 6 months or less!"
Review 4 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Ocean Grove, NJ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Choice
Posted:3/31/14
Pros: quiet. looks very high end.
Cons: the drawers could glide a little easier.
"Love it. Beautiful refrigerator and a great value for the price. Have only had it for about two months but have had no problems at all."
Review 5 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Austin, TX
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
1 month, still not cooling
Posted:3/28/14
Pros: look layout
Cons: reliability service/repair door closing issue
"After multiple four hour windows off of work, Whirlpool and their nightmare local appliance repair company has yet to fix the fridge. The look and layout are fine. Working with Whirlpool is horrible."
Review 6 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Happy, but there is one thing...
Posted:1/25/14
Pros: cost
Cons: small freezer & noisy motor
"Happy with the counter depth & no water/ice in door which were the main reasons for choosing this model. I was worried about the storage, but it is working well for us. I go to the store a few times a week and only buy what I need, no space for extras, the upside to this is there are no science projects growing in the back corner, I can see everything I have. The freezer is small. I only keep a few bags of frozen veggies a pie crust and container of ice cream, it is not full but I find the baskets awkwardly shaped to store boxes. If you like to freeze meals ahead or use a lot of freezer products be sure to check it out in person Only 2 in our house, a larger family may find this unit too small. I gave 3 stars for performance because of the noisy motor. Much louder than our previous fridge, I noticed immediately and every time I enter the kitchen"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Purchase
Posted:12/27/13
Pros: worls and looks great
Cons: difficut to clean
"Excellent product so far. Difficult to clean as is all stainless steel. KitchenAid should have included specific cleaning instructions and a can of their recommended cleaning products with the refrigerator (and all other stainless steel products)."
Review 8 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Brooklyn, ny
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
So Far, So OK
Posted:12/25/13
Pros: looks good works well adequate space
Cons: must make sure doors are closed right, scratches easy, shelf space for 3-4 person family max
"Purchased this a little over a month ago. We noticed the food in the freezer was "snowed in" and attributed that to our possibly leaving the door slightly open. We read other people had the same issue without leaving the door open so we'll keep our eye on it. Works ok, scratches easily (disclaimer: we have a toddler) but they don't look horrendous. We are a family of 3 so interior space is ok but doesn't have room for say a family of 5+. No major complaints or regrets so far & overall think this was the best bet and price for a french door fridge."
Review 9 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Philadelphia
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
KitchenAid Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Posted:11/27/13
Pros: good looking 'counter-depth' spacious enough for 2, great price here...
Cons: so far difficult to keep stainless steel clean but, have only used one cleaning product specialized, in s-s...
"Very good (so far).. & definitely a good price here.. from what I've learned it's at the top of the "Made in USA" frigs.. Good looking.. 'Counter-depth' spacious enough for 2 people (if not can always add a mini frig elsewhere)..."
Review 10 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Oklahoma
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Be sure to register your AJM extended warranty
Posted:10/25/13
Pros: counter depth extremely low energy use
Cons: like most things you need an extended warranty
"We've had ours 3 yrs and it went out ofter 2. I had bought the extended warranty but didn't know I needed to register it with the company. We still got a repair guy out to replace the part which was a simple fix but it took 3 days and not 1. Not having the ice in the door makes this a super low energy user! At the time of purchase this was absolutely the lowest energy usage refrigerator we could find. Very happy with AJM and our purchase."
Review 11 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
TWO fridges broke after 1 year Warranty Expired
Posted:9/23/13
"Bought one for myself, then another a year later for my parents. Both of them had problems shortly after the 1 year warranty expired, causing me to pay out of pocket for repairs.
My fridge leaked and my parents' fridge stopped working. Bad manufacturing & design defects."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Brooklyn
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
KitchenAid products are the best!
Posted:6/21/13
Cons: none
"Bought this to add into a newly renovated kitchen."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:San Francisco
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Good value if you're flexible
Posted:3/16/13
Pros: looks good; excellent value; quiet
Cons: freezein the back; must push in left door to close
"Food left in the back shelf of my fridge will freeze, frequent despite temperature adjustments. Of course, I can put the celery in the vegetable bin--where food doesn't freeze, but the bin is very small.
The left door must be carefully pushed in to close; a gentle push will not close the door. Thank goodness, the refrigerator will beep when the door is ajar.
The bottom is that the refrigerator is well priced, so I am not complaining too much.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Buffalo, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
Electronic control failure
Posted:1/4/13
Pros: appearance
Cons: operation
"Had the refrigerator 6 months. The electronic control that operates the refrigerator completely failed. The refrigerator does not operate but the interior light works when the door is opened. Serviceman says replacement part would be here next day. Now says part was not FedEx'd and will be next week delivery. While it worked the temp control did not operate correctly. Adjusting temp on display did not result in actual change in temp in frig."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
great counter depth fridge
Posted:10/4/12
Pros: pretty fits nicely in kitchen size
Cons: loud door doesn't close unless pushed shut
"love that we got a counter-depth fridge and went for the french doors and bottom freezer. To me worth the cost. The door doesn't close unless pushed shut but it does have a door ajar alarm. I love the bottom freezer...it's saved my back. It's a little loud but doesn't bother me so much. Really sharp fridge. Keeps things cold but not frozen. great adjustable shelves and nice door/drawer features"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Great price and product
Posted:7/18/12
Pros: price and counter depth
Cons: water comes out strong from internal dispenser
"Can't beat price for counter depth!
Tighter on space but I knew that going in to purchase.
AJ Madison has the best pricing and delivery.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:san francisco
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
nice fridge at nice price
Posted:5/16/12
Pros: looks great
Cons: food in the back sometimes freezes., the left door needs to be pushed in hard to close
"I bought this refrigerator because of its great value ($1,800), so I have adjusted my expectations and am not greatly disappointed."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Southeast. PA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Our first choice
Posted:5/4/12
Pros: compact good looking and the price was right
Cons: leveling was a little tricky but we got it
"After checking out local stores, we turned to the net with some fear. But our fears vanished as we pursued the purchase of our refrigerator. We couldn't have had it installed any sooner if it shipped from next door. The delivery men were courteous and proficient. The entire process from the order to billing was a walk in the park.
We would not hesitate to order from this company again.
"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Jericho, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
New refrigerator
Posted:2/7/12
Pros: counter-depth large refrigerator
Cons: small freezer
"The refrigerator is perfect for the space we have and has plenty of room in the refrigerator section. The freezer is a bit small. We love the counter depth size and feel that we made the right move."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for KitchenAid Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator KBFS20EV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
excellent
Posted:1/12/12
"only had fridge for month but looks great and works great.easy to clean and quiet and they delivered to me out of the 150 mile range for free."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.