AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Slide-In Ranges or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Whirlpool 30" Slide-In Gas Range GW397LXU

Delivering Style and Innovation to the Homes of Today... and Tomorrow! Enhance every home you build with stylish, innovative appliances that home buyers demand. Home buyers expect appliances that meet the needs of their everyday lives, are easy to use and reflect the style of their individual tastes. But, to provide appliances customers will truly appreciate and will use for years to come, requires a higher level of commitment. Their commitment to quality, craftsmanship and style challenges them to design products that lead the industry in innovation and design. This self-cleaning, slide-in gas range offers 4.5 cu. ft. of oven space. The AccuBake temperature management system provides consistent cooking temperatures, while a Keep Warm setting maintains serving temperatures. On top, 4 burners ignite electronically. A 14,000 BTU Power burner quickly sears steaks, stir-fry veggies or boils water. Plus, full-width grates provide the ultimate in surface flexibility.
Average Customer Rating:
4.291 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
8
66 of 78(85%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whirlpool 30" Slide-In Gas Range GW397LXU
Review 1 for Whirlpool 30" Slide-In Gas Range GW397LXU
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Victorville CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Best Purchase
Posted:6/11/12
Cons: no con(s)
"It looks so wonderfull and my wife is very content (she uses it daily). The price is very good, especially for this price in conjunction with no tax, and free delivery from AJ Madison, no one else can beat that."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Whirlpool 30" Slide-In Gas Range GW397LXU
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Alvord, TX
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Love it!!!
Posted:6/6/12
Pros: burners continuous grates large oven capacity
Cons: none so far
"I absolutely love this stove. I changed from a built in oven and separate stove top to add more room to my kitchen and this item is a great "statement". I did my research for at least 3 months before deciding on this stove, and I'm really pleased with this purchase. The picture does not do it justice. I love the different sizes and BTU's of the burners, there is truly a burner for how fast or slow you need to cook something.
The only other comment I have is the fact that I bought this online at AJ Madison, a company I had never done business with before. This was, by far, the lowest cost of any other website, bar none, and I will shop with them again. This transaction went smoothly from start to finish. I did not have to wait long for delivery, I was informed a week in advance when delivery would be made so I could schedule my day, and they arrived when they said they would. I'm a big fan of customer service and AJ Madison has proven worthy. I will go directly to this site when I purchase my dishwasher and microwave."
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Whirlpool 30" Slide-In Gas Range GW397LXU
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Michigan
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Best price. No tax. Free shipping.
Posted:10/16/13
Pros: looks awesome, works great, affordable, quality product
"The photo on aj madison doesn't do this oven justice. We googled the product number and found a video that shows how amazing this oven really looks. The stainless is great and the face wipes off easily. We purchased because we saved $200 compared to lowes or Home Depot, plus free shipping and no sales tax. The oven was delivered safely. I completely trust aj madison and recommend them to all my friends."
Review 4 for Whirlpool 30" Slide-In Gas Range GW397LXU
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:ocala Florida
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
good purchase
Posted:5/28/13
Pros: works great priced right
Cons: holes on both side pannela
"would have been a home run BUT on each side of panels are 2 holes both top and bottom and stove will not go back far enough to cover them. Whirlpool no help at all as I spoke with them several times."
Review 5 for Whirlpool 30" Slide-In Gas Range GW397LXU
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
wish I looked at it in store before purchase
Posted:3/26/13
"ugly, does not look as nice as the picture
sticks out 1.5 inches past the counter
touchpad and knobs look cheap
I have a GE stove that I purchased 1 year ago which cost less and is a much better stove"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Whirlpool 30" Slide-In Gas Range GW397LXU
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:New York, NY
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Disappointed
Posted:1/3/13
"It looks beautiful, it works fine but it is very inconvenient if you need to use 3 or more burners at the same time. The back vent takes too much space and makes using of two average size skillets simultaneously impossible. I wish we bought something else."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Whirlpool 30" Slide-In Gas Range GW397LXU
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Bedias, TX
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Whirlpool 30" Gas range
Posted:9/26/12
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: efficiency style easy installation full grill, top
Cons: none
"Excellent quality with a very modern look!
I would not hesitate to buy this product again, but probably won't ever have to.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Whirlpool 30" Slide-In Gas Range GW397LXU
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Collegeville, PA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
A best buy
Posted:7/1/12
Pros: appearance and performance
Cons: dimension, the reck on the stove is heavy.
"It works great. Performance has been great.
Be aware of the dimension on the back. It extrudes out about 2in from a foot above ground. So, you have to make sure clearance of electric and gas connections. Other than that no complains.
"
Review 9 for Whirlpool 30" Slide-In Gas Range GW397LXU
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Prescott, AZ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Stove - GREAT VALUE
Posted:4/12/12
Pros: great value - good looking stove
Cons: none
"The electronic oven control on our previous stove was failing and we could not find a replacement so we went shopping for a new stove. After getting over the initial sticker SHOCK for a slide-in stove at our local big box stores and maytag store, we started looking online and found this stove at AJ Madison at a savings of $150 off the lowest local price. That price included free shipping. Add in the sales tax savings and the value was amazing. The stove itself is great - three different size burners is wonderful and the large stove top grate looks fantastic. The stove top is easy to clean. We would highly recommend AJ Madison and this Whirlpool stove to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Whirlpool 30" Slide-In Gas Range GW397LXU
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Latham, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Cooking with Gas Now Baby!
Posted:7/8/10
Pros: all around great stove.
Cons: a little disappointing to find out we needed man, power available on delivery day to assist the, truckdriver in off-loading the stove.
"We were remodeling our kitchen and our contractor recommended a gas stove since we needed to buy a new slide-in anyway. I haven't cooked on a gas stove since I lived at home (ages ago), but I absolutely love my new Whirlpool. Although we didn't do the set up, the contractor said it was a very easy install. The cooking on it is just wonderful and cleans up very nicely. I would highly recommend this appliance to anyone!"
43 of 48 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Whirlpool 30" Slide-In Gas Range GW397LXU
Based on the average of (69) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating: 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 59 out of 68