AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Top Load Washers or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS

GE Consumer and Industrial spans the globe as an industry leader in major appliance, lighting and integrated industrial equipment systems and services. They provide solutions for commercial, industrial and residential use in more than 100 countries which uses innovative technologies and "ecomagination." It's a GE initiative to aggressively bring to market new technologies that help customers and consumers meet pressing environmental challenges to deliver comfort, convenience and electrical protection and control. GE brings imagination to work. The latest line of GE washers and dryers offers the ultimate in laundry performance and convenience. With energy-efficiency and water savings at the top of the list, GE has created large-capacity washer and dryer products that not only clean your clothes with a gentle touch, but also give you more space for big (and therefore fewer!) loads.
Average Customer Rating:
2.182 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
33
16 of 53(30%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS
Review 1 for GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Sace your money
Posted:9/12/12
Pros: none
Cons: everything
" This is the absolute worse washing machine that I have ever used! It uses such a small amount of water my cloths can cycle through and still be dry! It leaves a white scum on the cloths that do get wet. I routinely wash my clothing twice before I put them into the dryer. It's garbage! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Metro-Washington, DC
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
It works fine and differently.
Posted:9/11/12
Pros: works exactly like the instructions.
Cons: only uses type "he" detergent. sounds like an, attack in progress . requires reading the, instruction book. doesn't handle operator errors, like too much soap or overloading.
" I ordered this GE Clothes Washer model GTWN4950LWS for my self-service dog baths on 11/25/2010. It's ALWAYS washed all the shop's towels and all the owner's personal clothes just fine ever since. But I read everything I can get first! I really had to read up on this one. It's really that different. From 65' away, it sounds like a woman being attacked. Other than that, remember to NOT stuff the thing or leave wet clothes to mildew. I load it loosely. Up to 3/4 full. If the clothes are that soiled, I use any he soap to the 3 mark on it's cup and through the cup in. (or however many 1/4s I filled it.) I always set it to xtra spin because I think the clothes may dry faster. "
Review 3 for GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Florida
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
worst purchase ever
Posted:4/16/12
Pros: size
Cons: what good is the size if it cannot be utitilized.
" Believe it or not, I was given the washer and dryer and guess what... I gave it back! All it took was one try and I was totally disappointed. The washer told me how much water I could use and not a drop more! It controlled the amount of clothes I could wash! It seems I would be washing clothes for the whole week! Thank you but NO! thank you very much! Forget about technology! Give me the old stuff... It works! No wonder GE discontinued this product.. Best thing they did! Could have been a great product if it worked like all other washers. Full capacity and mean it. "
Review 4 for GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Atlanta, GA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Worst Washing Machine EVER!
Posted:9/6/11
Pros: it's quiet
Cons: this washing machine does not clean your clothes!
" The GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS
is the worst washing machine I have ever owned! It claims to be energy efficient…NOT!!! I have to wash my clothes TWICE just to get them clean. The first wash doesn’t remove the ‘he detergent’ from the clothes so everything comes out with a soap residue on it, therefore, everything is HAND rotated in the machine and I have to wash the clothes with NO detergent for a second wash just to get the soap out. This machine doesn’t have an agitator so what ever is on top…stays on top and whatever is stuck to the side of the drum is still on the side of the drum. The automatic load sensor is supposed to save water and it only fills to ¾ full leaving the clothes on top not covered with water. Since this machine doesn’t use an agitator the clothes barely move around. Even though it has an option for a second rinse cycle it doesn’t rinse the clothes (what a joke!) When choosing this option, the wash basket/drum spins while a gentle shower of water pours over the clothes…briefly, then the machine goes into a spin cycle. It does this 3 times. Then on the 4th rinse, it fills ¾ full of water and briefly rinses and then goes into a 4th spin cycle. The machine actually spends MORE time SPINNING than rinsing the clothes. My advice…DO NOT waste your money on this washer.
"
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
HATE IT
Posted:7/22/11
Pros: none
Cons: do not clean clothes.......
" This washer is horrible my clothes are being cleaned and they never smell fresh. The water level is horrible. I truly hate that I brought this product. Now, the company has stop making this particular item. Wish I could give it back. DO NOT PURCHASE...... "
Review 6 for GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
very good machine
Posted:6/30/11
Pros: very quiet energy efficient
Cons: none so far
" We have had this machine for 7 months and replaced a GE with it. I use cold water Tide HE detergent as recommended and have never had a problem with dirty or lint filled clothes. It gets everything as clean as our old washer with the agitator and warm wash we used to use. Our energy bills are showing less gas and water use than same month last year, every month. I bought the machine at Home Depot on sale and got the 5 year warranty on sale too. We can't be happier so far. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
wanted low water useage
Posted:6/30/11
Pros: everything
Cons: the loud annoying irratating sound during wash cy
" bought this machine end of Dec. Installed 6/29/11. The only complaint I have is the god awful beeping noise it makes during the wash cycle. Called GE. They said there is nothing I can do about that annoying sound. It is like a truck backing up with the warning sounding. I want a different macine or my money back. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Fort Stewart, GA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
love it
Posted:4/12/11
Pros: very energy efficiant and water sencing, large size
Cons: powder detergent doesn't work very well, it asks for he detergent (what it that?)
" I love all the settings. The best energy star I have seen, especially for the price (top loader). The water sensing is great. It says you should use HE laundry detergent but after the first couple uses you are fine, I would use a liquid detergent, powder doesn't desolve easily but is usable. LOVE IT. "
Review 9 for GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Worst Washer EVER!!!!!!!!
Posted:3/9/11
Pros: absolutely none
Cons: clothes not clean full of lint/residue, beyond a wrinkled mess damaged
" I agree with the first review. The clothes are not clean. The washer does not use enough water. The clothes are full of lint and/or residue from the fabric softener. The clothes are a twisted mess and so wrinkled after the final spin. If there is a thread hanging, kiss the item good-bye because the spin cycle will just unravel the rest. I've had this washer a little over a month. I called GE to express my dissatisfaction and they will replace the washer. I have also done some comparison shopping after this debacle and this item is NO LONGER MANUFACTURED. I have had GE washers in the past and have had no complaints. If this was an improvement they need to go back to the drawing board. This is the WORST WASHER EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!! Hopefully the replacement will be much better. "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
biggest piece of junk i ever bought
Posted:2/13/11
Pros: none i would put price but in the long run it cost
Cons: everything
" followed directions to a t and the cloths come out loaded with lint, and does not seem clean. we never had to sort clothes when we had a maytag. we are trying to get rid of it but people shy away from it when we tell them about it. i used to own a laundromat, and if i had a machine like this i would not have a business. "
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for GE Top Load Washer GTWN4950LWS
Based on the average of (45) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating: 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 13 out of 43