AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28

SUMMIT Appliance has been a leader in specialty refrigeration and major appliances since 1969. They serve a number of market segments in household, commercial, medical, scientific and professional refrigerators, freezers, ranges and other unique appliances. SUMMIT FFBF28 is a frost free bottom freezer under 23 inches deep. This model is fully featured with adjustable thermostat, adjustable glass shelves, interior light, and adjustable door shelves. The bottom features two removable drawer compartments, interior fan and quick freeze compartment. The FFBF28 is energy star rated.
Average Customer Rating:
4.365 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
5
66 of 76(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Review 1 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:NYC
Owned Product:0-6 months
Would Recommend: Yes
Good looking fridge
Posted:9/30/11
Pros: appearance storage size
Cons: non so far
" I bought this because it fit just right in my NYC apartment but it really looks great. I haven't had it long but I'm very happy with it. Great storage area and great looks. "
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Davis, CA, United States
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Beautiful Fridge!
Posted:10/31/14
Pros: beautiful, functions well, smudge resistant surface, perfect size, easy to access everything
Cons: light is a bit dim in the fridge, freezer is small
" I needed a small fridge for my small kitchen and this one is gorgeous and functional. It keeps food cold without freezing in the refrigerator part and keeps food frozen in the freezer. The ice maker is fantastic - we never run out of ice. The surface is beautiful and really does resist smudges. It is the perfect size, though the freezer is a bit small. "
Review 3 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Florida
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Do not buy this product
Posted:10/9/14
Pros: pretty
Cons: expensive paper weight
" It is beautiful, moderns, sleek and pricey - all of this is grand if it worked. This product is LOUD - think air compressor or Harley starting up periodically. Summit does not honor their warranty. And when you push they start the run around. "
Review 4 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Chicago, IL
Owned Product:0-6 months
Would Recommend: Yes
Unique in the Market!
Posted:8/24/14
Pros: stunning style perfect size quiet reliable
Cons: condensation; installation changing door swing
" I bought this refrigerator from AJ Madison and it was delivered and installed in my Chicago condo two weeks ago. I searched dozens of online sites and physical stores and found nothing as compact, stylish or well-reviewed. The Liebherr CS1400X is almost identical (and on display at ABT in Glenview) but three times as expensive. The fridge does not tip at all when installed properly; it's as quiet as a mouse, large enough, and is totally stylish. It does have condensation on the back interior upper wall: it is drippy to frozen depending on the temp you set it at. A minor problem compared to all the benefits.
I had problems with installation as the guys didn't know they were to install it and had never done a Summit before. It took two hours for them to change the door to left-opening and they didn't add all the trim pieces; they also left it tilting backward and said "that's how they are." When my Best Buy installer delivered my other appliances, he fixed the tilt and finished the trim installation in ten minutes; it is now perfect. They need to hire the Best Buy installer if they want this in the Chicago market! Home Depot sells it in Chicago but doesn't install it, so it is better to go to AJ Madison. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Virginia
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Summit FFBF228
Posted:8/15/14
Pros: very nice looking unit
Cons: very small freezer
" I am using the refrigerator in my bar. The counter depth is perfect. I needed a model with an ice maker. It is quiet, well light inside and extremely good looking. It offers a lot of interior space. I think the unit would be ok as a normal frig but you don't get much in the way of freezer space.
I am very happy with the unit "
Review 6 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Novi, Mich
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Nice looking refrigerator
Posted:8/11/14
Pros: nice appearance, freezer on the bottom
Cons: freezer accumulates frost quickly, doors are extremely difficult to reverse, drawers look cheap
" A nice feature is the lower freezer. It does pick up frost rather quickly - like in about two weeks. Appearance is great. Reversing the doors takes a long time, like about four hours with the help of a friend. The instructions are not only badly written, but they are incorrect on many points. Total depth matches my counters. The interior wine rack is a nice feature. I think the drawers are somewhat chintzy. "
Review 7 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Lawrence, KS
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great for Galley Kitchen
Posted:1/28/14
Pros: look size quality
Cons: freezer space
" We were looking for a fridge that didn't overpower our small 1950'd galley kitchen. This is great. It's counterdepth is perfect and the layout is great. We thought we would lose space, but we've actually gained space in our new fridge.
The freezer is pretty small, so if you like to store a lot of stuff then you'd need something larger or have an extra freezer. Otherwise, it fits frozen veggies and meat just fine.
"
Review 8 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Bay Area
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Works for a family of four.
Posted:1/12/14
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: efficient use of interior space for small size., food doesn't get lost in the depths.
Cons: no deli drawer small freezer.
" Wow, was I nervous to buy this fridge. Especially sight unseen. It's hard to judge how much it will hold based on cubic footage alone and with few to no pictures of the fridge with food in it. And I couldn't find a review from a family bigger than three. But the kitchen in our new house required a counter-depth fridge. I searched and searched until I found this one, and even though it's on the small side, I took a leap of faith. Glad I did!
We've had the fridge for a month now, and I've never not been able to fit food in, even after a large shopping trip with food for four extra out-of-town guests. In fact, because the shelving is so versatile, we easily fit the same amount of food as our larger capacity standard fridge in the former house.
With kids in the family, my main concern was milk/juice storage. One shelf easily holds two gallons of milk, two containers of juice, and more. Both fruit/veggie bins are always at capacity, so I use shelf above for spill over. But we eat a lot of fresh fruit/veggies. If you are a big user of sauces and condiments, the amount of space for that in the door might be a bit of a bummer since the shelves are so narrow. Still we find that it is sufficient for our needs and we haven't had to use the interior shelves for spillover. One thing I do miss is a deli drawer. For deli storage, we put one shelf directly under the wine rack and use that narrow amount of space for cheese, deli meat, and tortillas. (See photo.) The wine rack is great too. We never keep more than a few bottles of wine at a time, so we use the other spots for bottled sparkling water, and can even stash one to two six packs of beer there. I reserve the shelf above that for items in tubs like yogurt, sour cream, hummus, large blocks of cheese, etc. It's also where the leftovers go.
The freezer is definitely on the small side. If you are a person who keeps tons of frozen meals, meats, veggies, ice cream on hand, I'm not sure I'd recommend this fridge. On the other hand the drawers make it so easy to really pack things in there efficiently. And I love the slide out ice tray. No more food particles stuck in the ice cubes.
Also worthy to note that we live in an urban area with a small grocery store within walking distance, so we don't feel the need to keep things stocked up for fear that we won't have it when it comes time to prepare a meal. The most food I store at a time is for about four days of meals. We are also not Costco/bulk shoppers.
Other than that, the fridge has functioned well. I love being able to see what we have due to the fridge being on top and the depth being small. Plus, it's looks really nice, and I'm pretty picky about aesthetics.
One last thing, I've never experienced that air sucking problem that other reviewers have complained about. I can open the door immediately after closing it. Perhaps newer models have this figured out? Purchased mine in Nov. 2013. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Milwaukee
Owned Product:0-6 months
Would Recommend: Yes
Door Flip
Posted:11/18/13
Pros: looks good runs well
Cons: slight problem with repositioning the door
" I needed to reposition the door hinges to the left side. The directions worked fine until step 8. At this point you need to remove the bottom brackets/hinge mount on the right and left side, swap them and reinstall them. Unfortunately the directions and the drawing do not mention that there are two pins in each bracket and they need some force to pull the brackets off. I thought the pins were rivets as I could not make the brackets budge. I wrote to Summit tech support and recieved a response the next morning. I applied a little more force and they came off. The door is working fine in its new position.
This frig is making normal frig noise. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Looks amazing
Posted:8/31/13
Pros: looks cool! makes use of vertical space
Cons: lighting limited interior space
" Eventually popular American brands will figure out people want affordable, taller, more narrow refrigerators. The look is updated. Wish it was a little wider for more interior space. But we will have a 2nd refrig\freezer in the basement. The only complaint is the light is not bright enough and there is no freezer light. Overall, it is what I wanted. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Bay Village, Ohio
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
very good purchase
Posted:8/20/13
Pros: functions well very good price nice appearance
Cons: tad small but can live with it considering cost
" Waited to write for 2 months; would be long enough to give a fair review. Ordering and delivery were great; no problems. Delivery was exactly one week after ordering. Packed well, no damage, and all information need was provided. Plugged it in and it has run fine for 9 weeks. Replaced a higher end (S*b Z*r*) built in that was 19 years old and getting old. We did not want to pay the higher price for a built in. Summit has performed well. It is not noisier than what it replaced at all, which a few people commented in their reviews. Size about the same in refrigerator, smaller freezer than one replaced; but suits us fine. We do have a small refrigerator in basement for over flow. It functions fine for us in our kitchen, we cook a lot and buy fresh. We are very happy with Summit, glad we purchased. Price was by far best with AJ Madison. I never purchased appliances from a non-local company before and hesitated a bit. After this experience, will do it after my very positive experience. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Great second fridge
Posted:8/19/13
" Purchased this fridge because it had the right dimensions for our doorways (old house) and still had some interior space due to height. Did not get ice maker option as our first fridge has this and it is going into a bedroom so needed quiet. Excellent appearance, delivery, easy install. Quiet running. Freezer on bottom has one shelf and 2 bins. Bins somewhat narrow and dark but holds frozen dinners, veggies, burgers, ice cream, etc.
Love the wine rack. Caution about shelf below wine rack as very cold and the salad became frozen. It is a real lifesaver as I can cook for a crowd and only shop once a week or less. Love it!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Southern California
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Good but
Posted:8/8/13
" Purchased this fridge in march. Misplaced owners manual and website is no help. Two weeks ago (end of July) the plastic around one of the glas shelves broke. Warrantee for that part is only 30 days! What's up with that? "
Review 14 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Good value
Posted:8/7/13
" Nice looking functional fridge. Everything I expected. The door is a little hard to reopen for a few seconds right after closing, and the fridge hums a little tune right after closing the door, but there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with it, I think it's just airflow or something. Keeps food cold and is very quiet. What else do you need? "
Review 15 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:New York City
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Good looks, and not much more
Posted:7/15/13
Pros: appearance
Cons: water and ice inside
" We bought this refrigerator specifically for our narrow spot in the kitchen, and for its good height.
On the outside, it has a good visual presence, nice proportions, and quality finish.
Unfortunately, Summit uses a particular refrigeration system in all its appliances, where back interior wall collects droplets of water and accumulates ice. As the result, everything feels wet, and some things in paper wrappings simply fall apart.
It is strange to constantly deal with water inside the fridge, especially since all other brands' products are designed to be completely dry.
My advice is to stay away from Summit.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great fridge for the price
Posted:7/9/13
Pros: size design value
Cons: noise
" This fridge is great - perfect size for the space and looks/feels very expensive (on par w/ the fridges which cost significantly more). I downgraded the performance to 4 stars only because when the fridge is in "cooling" mode the hum is slightly noisy (note - 95% of the time it is totally silent). Other than that, it is truly outstanding and i'm very happy that I purchased this product instead of Liebherr. I opted for the ice maker, which is slightly expensive, but works great and was very easy to install. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:SLC, UT
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great for the Price
Posted:6/13/13
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" We've had this fridge for a year and a half and I have no regrets. We bought it for the small footprint/counter-deep size, energy star rating, and the front stainless steel option. As reviewers say, the light is dim, but the fridge is not noisy. The glass shelves are great (unlike past fridges with metal or plastic, which sag and bend).
I was worried about the cubic square footage, but it works just fine. I grocery shop and cook a lot and there is enough space for our family of 4.
I love how the freezer is separated into closed-off compartments, saving energy while its opened. I do feel like I'm wrestling the plastic drawers to get things out though. We usually end up taking the whole drawer out every time we want to get something out.
Now for a few concerns and how I've dealt with them. The plastic drawers in the fridge part sit and slide on the bottom of the fridge instead of being held up on the top rim of the drawer. I put little round felt pads on the bottom so they would stop leaving scratches (which collect dirt).
Some dairy products were going bad before their date, so I changed the temperature from 3 to 5 (coldest). Then half of the contents of the fridge were freezing. The whole bottom shelf and into the vegetable drawers. Now I keep it on 4 and only put things okay to freeze/things with lower freezing temps in the back of the fridge. Most fridges have one spot towards the top where things can freeze, but the whole back wall of this one collects ice crystals (normal and to be expected). Anything touching the back of the fridge will collect ice and get stuck to the back wall. "
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Michigan
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great buy. Very happy with purchase!
Posted:5/9/13
" We looked at a lot of refrigerators before we bought this one. As far as counter-depth fridges, this one was the best looking and the best value for us. We had limited depth to work with and this fridge works perfectly!
The stainless look is nice. No complaints. The bottom freezer is not a slider it opens on the side. No shelves on freezer door but plenty of space.
If the measurements work for you do not hesitate. To buy this fridge...delivery is free but the guy literally pulled up and required us to take it off the truck. We struggled getting it in but managed. Consider paying extra unless you're prepared to work to save the extra cash. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:LA, CA.
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
it works!
Posted:4/18/13
Pros: minimum capacity for bi-weekly shopping
Cons: freezer space is tight and limiting
" happy to finally have a fridge that works so well. it is stylish and basic and fits our needs as far as reliability in keeping food cold and fresh, isn't fancy but quite functional, and delivers what a fridge is meant to be. the doors had to be reversed and it was a chore for dyi. it was shipped within a week to the west coast and delivered ON TIME and the delivery service was VERY helpful and courteous. i only gave a 4 star on value 'cause we are all looking for better consumer pricing. thanks AJ. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Summit Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator FFBF28
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Michigan
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
great buy!
Posted:4/13/13
Pros: see above
Cons: no shelves on freezer door
" We purchased this refrigerator for our cottage kitchen, which has limited depth space, leaving us with few options.
We are in love with this refrigerator! It's perfect size, it's reasonably priced, quiet, and looks sharp!
It comes HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. "