AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Freestanding Ranges or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Electrolux 30" Freestanding Electric Range EW30IF60IS

The Next Level of Cooking Cooks who are new to induction cooking will realize its benefits immediately - faster, more responsive heating, more energy-efficient cooking and easier cleanup. Induction Technology uses electromagnetic energy to transfer heat directly from your cookware and allows you to instantly adjust the heat from a delicate simmer to a quick boil. Because the cookware heats more quickly than on gas or electric cooktops, cook times are faster, meaning less energy is used. Faster, more energy-efficient - what more could you ask for Benefits of Induction Induction heat takes cooking to a whole new level by combining the benefits of gas and electric cooktops - offering you the power of gas and the easy cleanup of electric. With induction cooking, you'll experience faster, more responsive heating, more energy-efficient cooking and easier cleanup
Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
15 of 17(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Electrolux 30" Freestanding Electric Range EW30IF60IS
Review 1 for Electrolux 30" Freestanding Electric Range EW30IF60IS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Seattle, Wa
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent Range!
Posted:12/15/11
Pros: fast cooking, Energy Efficient, pleasant to look at and to hear, easy to clean, exceptional functionality
Cons: needed to read the manual for control panel, gets dirty easily, requires cast iron cookware
" I've only had this range for about a month, but we've already cooked on it for a while.
WHAT'S GREAT?
We made Thanksgiving dinner with it. The 14 lb turkey was nice and moist after just 1.5 hours of baking in the oven with "perfect turkey" setting. We were also able to make everything else even though we didn't start until about 1pm (and dinner was served at 7pm).
As advertised, the stove top is induction and very fast and efficient. Having two ovens are useful and they heat up quickly (for me). The range also makes really cute noises when things happen.
THINGS TO NOTE
The oven gets dirty fairly easily, but it's also very easy to clean. I just wipe it off about once a week.
The display can be a bit overwhelming. Reading the manual helps. If you have trouble seeing the control panel buttons for the stove top (like I did), you can just press on that side of the control panel once, and it will light up the buttons that you can press. Much easier that way. :)
The second oven (drawer) is useful, but just a bit short. (Yes, I know, it's supposed to be a mini oven, but still...) The bread pan barely fits. Also, I can fit barely two pies in there. It is much more useful for just one pie or to keep warm.
It is a bit of a pain that the stove top only takes cast iron cookware. I only had three pieces from my full set that worked, but I plan to get more. (They can be fairly inexpensive used.) I also bought the range when there was a rebate for a free cast iron pan, but I haven't received it yet (after 4 weeks) so I expect it will take a while. "
13 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electrolux 30" Freestanding Electric Range EW30IF60IS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Nashville, TN
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Induction Forever!!
Posted:2/28/13
Pros: speed energy efficient easy clean up
Cons: pricey but worth it especially through ajmadison
" Just purchased the Electrolux Induction Free-Standing Range and love, love, love it. All that business about boiling water in 90 seconds is true--oatmeal on the stove is so quick, as well as pasta, etc. My last stove was the KitchenAid Architect II Series Dual-Fuel, also an excellent appliance, but we had to install a gas line in that home; as that wasn't an option in our condo, we were happy to give induction a try. Clean up is easy. We don't baby the top surface, but we're careful with table salt, which is the only thing that's harder than the surface material, meaning it could scratch the surface. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electrolux 30" Freestanding Electric Range EW30IF60IS
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:The West
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Best induction range on the market
Posted:2/18/13
" I am an avid cook—cooking daily including specialty cooking for entertaining, bread baking, and raw food. I am also concerned about energy use and learned about induction technology from my environmental friends. After much reading, looking at all the induction range models, and, fortunately, an opportunity to preview the installed unit at another owner’s home, I decided on this range.
Attractions:
- Induction technology
- Range of baking temperatures, including the bread/proof (85-100F) and dehydrate (100-225F) for raw and garden bounty processing
- Double oven
- Design
Concerns:
- Ease of increasing/decreasing cooktop controls
- Cost
Keep in mind that most of the bad reviews you read on-line are from oven owners that got a lemon. Make sure you check the warranty policy carefully!
I have used the range for 7 months. I cook on the stove top daily, and have baked, broiled, convection baked, convection broiled, slow cooked, cooked chicken and turkey using “perfect turkey”, and used the bread/proof for rising dough. I have used the bottom oven for baking and warming, used both ovens at the same time, and used the temperature probe during meat cookery.
The induction technology is amazingly responsive, I love it! I can boil water for tea or pasta in a couple of minutes using the power boost feature, melt chocolate on low, stir fry vegetables at a very high heat and then take down to a low heat in an instant. The controls are very easy to use—just hold down the + or – until the desired temp reached. The cook top cleans up beautifully because the burners never get super hot so the food doesn’t bake into the glass top like my previous range. My only complaint is that the stainless steel top easily scratches. With routine use, the top already has several light scratches.
The main oven does an excellent job with meat cookery, baking, and broiling. The wheeled racks make it easy to take food out of the oven. I double checked temperatures with a cook’s thermometer and all was accurate. Meat cookery is a breeze with the cooking probe—the internal temperature of the meat is displayed on the console. Perfect turkey cooks a beautiful turkey or chicken, amazing! The oven automatically converts to “warm” mode when the internal temperature reaches its goal. I used both ovens at Thanksgiving, the main oven to cook the turkey and the lower oven to heat stuffing and green beans. My only complaint is that the lower oven easily burns some items. The lower oven is really only useful for heating already cooked food or keeping food warm.
Overall, I am very happy with my range. This one had the right combination of features and a more modern look that fits with my new kitchen. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Electrolux 30" Freestanding Electric Range EW30IF60IS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Washington, DC
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Do not hesitate!
Posted:2/3/13
Pros: amazing speed and control beautiful looks
Cons: price is a little steep and rarely discounted
" Have owned this range for about 6 months. While I haven't explored many of the features and haven't fully utilized the ovens, the range top is amazing. This will boil water amazingly fast and heat soups faster than the microwave! Also, has more control thane even gas. Immediately on and immediately off. The bottom oven is great too. Perfect for cooking some side dishes in while the turkey roasts in the main oven. I was hesitant to but this range because I wasn't familiar with induction, but VERY glad I did. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Electrolux 30" Freestanding Electric Range EW30IF60IS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Michigan
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Very Impressed Overall
Posted:1/28/13
Pros: induction burners are fast and responsive, easy controls, excellent oven racks
Cons: arrangement of burners is not ideal, colour is mainly black with stainless steel trim
" I've had this stove for a few weeks now and used many but not all of its functions. I am an experienced cook who cooks a lot.
Pros
The induction cooktop is really excellent. It is extremely fast to heat up and amazingly responsive (as responsive as gas) to changes in temperature. It takes a little while to get used to the range of low temperatures (because the temperature lowers immediately) for cooking things like rice.
We bought new All Clad pots to replace our Calphalon aluminum pots which won't work with the induction burners. You need to check your existing pots if you don't want to have this extra expense: any pot that a magnet will stick to the bottom of works fine. Thankfully this included our Fagor pressure cooker, which we use a lot.
Because the induction rings never really get hot the ceramic top is really easy to keep clean, since whatever spills do occur don't really get a chance to bake on. I do recommend using the Cerama Bryte cleaner that comes with the stove (Amazon sells it).
The main oven shelf pulls out on rollers and is very sturdy. This feature is excellent.
The broiler seems reasonable, although I've had a hard time getting a nice brown on things with it; it has a maximum temperature of 550ºF.
I haven't done any baking in the oven yet, and haven't tested the oven temperatures, nor have I tested the convection oven. The lower oven is *very* small, and seems mainly usable as a warming drawer, although I suppose you could bake cookies in it.
The touch sensitive control panel is easy to use. There are two timers; the timers display only minutes until the last minute in which case the display changes to seconds. This is a bit disconcerting if you're used to a timer that always displays seconds, but functionally it works well.
If you have a house cleaning service I would recommend locking the control panel beforehand or teaching them how to lock it, otherwise it's easy to turn on things by mistake.
Cons
The main functional deficit this stove has is the arrangement of the burners: The smallest burner is immediately behind the largest burner, which means that if you have a large pot on the larger burner, the small burner is very inaccessible, so making a sauce or something in a small pot isn't so practical. The same is true for the medium sized burners: the smaller of the two is at the back. I'm getting used to it, but it still seems like an arrangement designed by an engineer rather than a cook.
The included broiling pan is small and lightweight. If you are replacing an old stove, hang on to your old heavy duty broiling pan if you have one.
Although advertised as stainless steel, be aware that the stove is mainly black: the side panels and cooktop are black; only the oven door trim and the trim around the control panel is stainless.
Overall Evaluation
So far I'm very happy with this stove. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electrolux 30" Freestanding Electric Range EW30IF60IS
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Ohio
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Pricey but worth it
Posted:1/6/12
Pros: sleek attractive full of high tech features.
Cons: required purchasing new cookware.
" We love the Induction cooktop and Convection oven on this range. The top came damaged and AJ Madison sent a service technician out right away to replace it. The bottom oven seems to "catch" when trying to open it - if it continues we'll have to call for a repairman to inspect it. The wave touch feature makes the range look high tech and the roll out rack in the oven is very convenient. "
Review 7 for Electrolux 30" Freestanding Electric Range EW30IF60IS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Induction is Amazing
Posted:3/6/11
Pros: very responsive
Cons: big range for a small kitchen
" I've had this range since mid January and still amazes me - it boils water more quickly than my electric kettle!
VERY responsive controls. I have a gas range in my other home and I don't feel like I'm giving anything up when I cook on this range.
Note, it is BIG. I wanted a cooktop but couldn't make it work in my kitchen so ended up with the range. The handles in particular are big and the entire unit feels solid.
Couldn't be happier.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electrolux 30" Freestanding Electric Range EW30IF60IS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
My favorite appliance
Posted:2/20/11
Pros: form function & performance.
Cons: price a bit high.
" It is such an advance from what I have ever used before, I still can't believe how incredible this range is both induction and oven.
Yes, a bit too expensive perhaps, but well made and exception in form, function, and performance. No regrets.
"
Review 9 for Electrolux 30" Freestanding Electric Range EW30IF60IS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Boil water in no time
Posted:1/5/11
" I love this range.
Water boils so fast, it is great. Everything cooks very nicely and quickly.
The perfect turkey button works great as well.
So overall I am in love with this range.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Electrolux 30" Freestanding Electric Range EW30IF60IS
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Average Rating: 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 6 out of 8