AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS

Welcome to Electrolux Electrolux is a world leading international appliance company. They are a part in the daily life of hundreds of millions of families around the world. Each year, some 40 million consumers in more than 150 countries choose their products, such as cookers and cooktops, ovens, fridges and freezers, dishwashers, washing machines, tumble dryers, room air conditioners and vacuum cleaners. That translates to two products bought from them every second, every day of the year. In addition, they help hundreds of thousands of professional users manage and develop their businesses with their solutions for professional food service and commercial laundry.
Average Customer Rating:
2.786 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
6
6 of 14(43%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Review 1 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Summerville, SC
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Poor engineering
Posted:8/2/13
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: it's pretty
Cons: not durable at all
" I owned the Electrolux EW23BC85KS counter depth french door refrigerator for four years. I would think the issues apply to both wave and IQ touch models.
Short version of this review:
Do not buy this appliance. If interested in another Electrolux refrigerator, I would be very wary if the ice maker is similar to the one in this unit. I had issues with the ice maker for 3 of the 4 years I owned this unit. The ice maker would leak and/or stop producing ice very often. The warranty company serviced it twice. The second time, they decided the unit was NOT REPAIRABLE and sent us a check for $3000 to replace it. I'll be honest here. I was relieved when they said that. My warranty expires in about 10 months and I was dreading have to pay for all of these repairs myself.
The good:
- No problems with the compressor. Freezer was always at 0°F, fridge at 37°F.
-There was what I called the "beer drawer" that kept at 33°F. I thought that was fantastic. Beers and sodas were that much better. However, refrigerators at a lower price point put this into a separate door below the french doors (look at the Samsung models) and are almost $1000 less.
- I really liked the ice that the machine produced. They were dome-shaped. The sliver-shaped ice that other machines made would tend to "bunch up" at your mouth when drinking a beverage, preventing the liquids from entering your mouth (I know this sound silly). But the dome-shaped ice from this fridge prevented that from happening.
- For it being only a 22.6 cu ft fridge, I found that it fit a lot of stuff. Maybe it was the placement of the shelves that we chose, but I didn't feel that it was "that small." I could fit 5 gallons of milk on the bottom left-hand side of the unit. I think that is really good for that size fridge!
- There was never any build-up of frost in the unit (expect for when the freezer door broke)
Now for the bad:
- After the 2nd year, the ice maker began having a leak. Water would drip down from the ice maker and out the dispenser. This would happen slowly, but about once/week, I would wake up in the morning to a puddle of water in the door dispenser.
- Around that same time, the ice maker began to have trouble producing ice. It would work great for about a week, and then it would just stop making ice, even though the tray was empty. I would turn off the ice maker entirely, wait about 8 hours and then turn it back on, and then it would create ice again.
- I got service for the ice maker problems last year. The tech fixed it, but it started to leak water into the dispenser after 6 months. This latest visit discovered that the ice maker (which is a separate unit) dislodged over time from the fridge wall - a common problem - which meant the cooler air from the fridge made its way into the ice maker - not good. As for the ice, a gear which churned it out broke - it was cheap plastic, and according to the knowledgeable service tech, very common.
And the ugly:
- "Something" happened to the freezer door. It no longer closes. I pulled out all the freezer trays, but I cannot see what the problem is. The service tech mentioned something happened in the back wall of the machine which caused the wall to bubble out, and dislocate the shelf. The door no longer seals. This resulted in a frost buildup inside the unit.
- At the same time, the ice maker started to only produce crushed ice into the dispenser, no matter the setting.
- We paid for the 4-year warranty on this appliance to cover repairs. After the technician came to check on it again last week, it was deemed "unfixable" and the warranty company sent me check to replace the unit. "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Hollister, CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Look Elsewhere
Posted:7/17/13
Pros: looks nice
Cons: no warranty, no service, unreliable
" We've had the refrigerator for 3 months and the ice maker will not work for more than a few weeks and now there is no water at the door after a solenoid valve replacement. Electrolux has told us that there is no factory authorized service providers in the Monterey bay area, so we have to pay out of pocket and hope to be reimbursed by Electrolux. We have wasted three days of our time on the phone and waiting for a service tech that never shows up on time. Avoid the head ache and by from a reputable company. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Maryland
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
NEVER Again
Posted:5/6/13
Cons: something is always broke!
" I have to say after careful research on the Elextrolux I would have to say I thought I was purchasing a "Great" product. After five refrigerators later to the last one currently producing no ice I have had it. 5 years and I now have to buy another fridge. I will never purchase Electrolux again, their customer support was bad, the product was bad and if they had no star I would rate that. "
Review 4 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Minneapolis, MN
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Nope - No Ice
Posted:4/12/13
Pros: good looking
Cons: no ice
" I've had a dozen repair visits over the 2 years since I bought it. Ice maker won't work. Can't get Electrolux to admit it's a lemon and replace it with one that can produce ice. "
Review 5 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Chevy Chase, MD
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
DC
Posted:7/16/12
" Beautiful fridge; excellent layout inside; excellent at holding temperature. Icemaker is an improved 2012 design; Electrolux assures me this has fixed issues from earlier generations of icemakers, and I've had no issues in 3 months. Ice generation capacity is probably too low for a big party, but that's true of most in-fridge icemakers. Alas, this model does not have the dual icemakers found in the newest generation of Electrolux's non-Icon product, which is $200 less. However, this one is designed to have a more built-in look, and it is beautiful as installed. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Chicago
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
New version ice maker = 5 stars
Posted:6/2/12
Pros: good design. efficient
Cons: a bit pricey but so are all the rest
" Lots of early reviews gave poor ratings due to suspect ice maker unit. But the updated version is "mostly" problem free (never met an ice maker that didn't have some sort of issue).
Overall, very quiet, energy efficient. French doors are very nice, offering easy access to well designed interior. Lighting is good. Freezer is very functional since the icemaker is in the upper portion (inside the refrigerator area).
For the limited selection of counter depth french door style refrigerators, this is the best available.
Recommended. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
no ice
Posted:1/23/12
Pros: looks great
Cons: don't work and they are not fixing it
" after 13 trips by repair people and 5 mo of no ice
they have replaced some parts twice, wish i had never bought this
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:New Jersey
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Fridge. Ice issues.
Posted:12/6/11
Pros: smooth. durable. spacious.
Cons: ice maker
" Purchased this fridge Jan 2010. Must say that after checking out dozens of different models from all makers, in different price ranges, none compared to this one in terms of smooth internal part operation and aesthetics.
3 months after owning it the ice maker broke down. Called Electrolux and they got one of their local repair shop people out here the following week to replace the part. They also sent me a $200 check as their apology for inconvenience. Nice customer service.
All has been fine ever since. I must still say that the ice maker is not the best. Ice bunches up and has a difficult time coming out sometimes and if you dont use it for a while it might start leaking on you.
Overall this fridge is phenomenal. If they could of have only got the ice maker thing right.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
love the looks
Posted:5/18/11
Cons: water drips all the time
" we loved this frig inside is great, looks great, but have had many problems with ice maker repair man has been out here 3 times so far.......the ice sticks, the water drips all the time.....we are now wanting a new one to replace this one..........hopefully this was just a lemon but after reading other reviews i don't think so.
the repair man said they are coming out with a new ice maker for this frig because of all the problems.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Questionable Ice/Water makers
Posted:3/8/11
" This refrigerator looks great from the exterior and interior, the drawers are well crafted but...
The Ice maker stopped working for the second time in 6months and the water comes out very slow, it takes about 5 minutes to dispense 16 ounces. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Frig
Posted:1/3/11
Pros: ice maker-water dispenser-temp control drawer-, bottom freezer drawers are also a nice feature.
" We have had our Electrolux Professional bottom freezer refrigerator (E23BC78IPS) for about a month now and just love it. The ice maker works great (and we use a lot of ice) and the water dispenser on the door is another great feature. We are very pleased with our purchase and would recommend this model to anyone planning to purchase a new frig. We spent about three weeks looking at various brands and models and are very happy we went with the Electrolux Professional.
Also, we are very happy with the service at AJ Madison and also the delivery service from AM Trucking. Very pleasant experience all around - would recommend both AJ Madiosn and AM Trucking as well+++++++. "
Review 12 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Love it
Posted:12/17/10
" nice layout, good lighting with great freezer space "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
worst purchase ever
Posted:12/9/10
Pros: gorgeous to look at.
Cons: doesn't work.
" Day one, yesterday, the Unit was delivered and has not been able to keep a safe temp in the Refrigerator portion. The outside display says 35, but the actuall interior temp is between 42 and 50. Nothing I do seems to change it. I just researched online and found numerous forums dedicated to discussing the inability of the unit the hold a safe temp. This a design flaw.
In Addition the ice maker spits out cloudy ice that seems to be " soft ". "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Electrolux Freestanding Bottom Freezer Refrigerator E23BC78IPS
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Very Satisfied, but...
Posted:10/28/10
Pros: excellent lighting well crafted drawers
Cons: questionable water dispenser and ice-maker
" So I purchased this refrigerator a month or so ago and generally I'm very satisfied with the purchase.
It looks great, the interior lighting is excellent, the drawers are very well crafted and to date we've had no issues with the computerized control features on the exterior.
My only issue and I'm not sure if this is standard or a problem with my particular unit, is the first few seconds of when the water is being dispersed the water is room temperature before turning cold. so in a small glass, you are left unsatisfied with a lukewarm beverage. I will need to call to investigate this issue. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.