AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Top Load Washers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Danby Portable Washer DWM99W

Designed for maximum energy and space efficiency, this Danby washer is ideal for small apartments and small budgets. Quiet operation adds even more to its advantage in space-limited residences. Temperature, water level and fabric selection options allow you to choose the best setting to protect your clothes from wear and damage while providing a perfect wash every time. Tough on stains yet gentle on clothes and generally unobtrusive, this is a first-rate washer all around.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Review 1 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Love this machine!
Posted:3/19/11
" This little machine has changed my life. I am an apartment dweller and have been spending a fortune and wasting a lot of time at the laundry mat for years. This washer works really well. The spin cycle leaves the clothes really wrung out so that air drying doesn't take long. It hooks up easily to the kitchen sink. As long as you really secure the hose at the back of the machine, it doesn't leak. Be patient when hooking it up the first time. I think they include an extra faucet adapter or something and my husband and I had a little frustration trying to use all the parts and then realized that we had an extra piece we were trying to attach to our faucet that was unnecesary for our particular faucet. Once we got the extra piece out of there, it hooked up easily and we were on our way. It's a cute little thing. My only complaint is that the wheels are not multi-directional, but it is light enough that it is easy to move anyway. "
Review 2 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Disposable Washing Machine
Posted:2/9/11
Pros: works great for a while
Cons: commonly breaks around one year
" My husband and I bought the Danby portable washer as a Christmas gift to ourselves.  We live in Brooklyn, NY and with a 5 month old baby at the time, were doing massive amounts of laundry.  At first, we LOVED it.  Such a relief not going back and forth to the Laundromat. It was quiet and got the clothes clean. We were very careful about not overloading it or using too much soap and we were happy.
Around 11 months after we bought it, we started hearing a banging noise during the spin cycle. Unfortunately, that was also at a time of sleep deprivation and illness and it took a while to get a repair estimate. When my husband told the woman at the repair shop this, she laughed and said that it seemed all Danby products broke after one year! HaHA, ha... Funny. Which by the way, the ONLY shop in NYC that repairs Danby machines charges an $85 non-refundable diagnostic fee.
We paid the $85 and he told us it was the transmission, and that between the cost of the diagnostic fee, the part and the labor, it would probably cost more than the cost of a new machine to fix it. He said sometimes, Danby would cover the cost of the part when it's so close to the warrantee cut off. If Danby wouldn't cover it for us, they would let us know before they ordered it so we could decide to go forward or not. I got a message the part was on the way and assumed that Danby would cover it. Two and a half months later the part makes it to Brooklyn and the repair place has no memory of that conversation and we are responsible for the part.
NOT worth it unless you don't mind buying a new machine every year. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Danby
Posted:1/30/11
" It is a very nice waching machine for small houses and apartments. It saves time and money. I am satisfied with the product. "
Review 4 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Still Running Great!!!!
Posted:1/23/11
Pros: can wash a nice amount of clothing, different cycles are great
Cons: none
" Placed a prior comment on 5/20/10. (I'm back)........My machine is still running great!!!......no problems !!!.......I'm just going to have machine checked before the warranty expires-just to make sure everything is ok. If I had to buy another portable washing machine-I wouldn't hesitate to buy the same one. It's a great portable washer!!!......I was spending $100.00 a month washing at the laundry mat, now my electrical bill is only $8.00 more a month. $$$$$$ BIG SAVINGS $$$$$$$$ "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
little machine big results
Posted:9/8/10
Cons: none
" No problems. Its easy to move around and connect. Washes clothes clean and gentle. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:SacKets Harbor, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
I love it
Posted:8/13/10
Pros: read my review-i love it
Cons: none that i can find for a washer of this size
" I live in a park model trailer 6 months of the year or less and had a Sears washer installed when I bought the trailer new in 1997. It finally died this year and the cost of fixing it would have been as much as replacing it. I looked and looked, this was the best I found, for ratings, size to go into my space and the company. Also the delivery, Yellow Freight were super as was their driver. I got confused by weight and cu. ft. and their advertising helped me. I can was 3 pair of my husbands jeans and one of mine in one load. I've lost track of the number of shirts and shorts in one load. The washer had plastic hoses and they made my husband nervous so we used the rubber ones from the old washer. Leveling was easy. We have it as a permanent and did not need the casters that came with it. It ticks as it goes thru the cycle but I love that since it has no horrible buzzer when it is done. All my wash, including the above and a set of queen size sheets with other things has been clean and as dry of water as the local laundrymat. I have used it on the economy cycle to get things clean The trucker asked us open it in front of him and check for problems too. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
good washer
Posted:8/3/10
" I really like this machine. I really like the manual dials over digital controls. It is very quiet. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Best Ever!!!
Posted:7/13/10
" So happy with this product; only wish I purchased it sooner. Clothes spin out very dry and dry quickly (hang dry). Really holds alot of clothing for it's size. Can wash queen size comforter no problem. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Love my Danby Portable Machine
Posted:5/20/10
Pros: great machine/great price
Cons: no complaints
" No complaints....Shipment arrived from AJ Madison Company in 2 days!!! (very impressive)!.....The washing machine works great!!...Nice size...Doesn"t make loud noise while washing/spinning....Great for small kitchen/limited space...Even though wheels don't spin around, I placed self-stick round felt pads on all legs of washing wachine (found in hardware store). When I need to move my machine closer to sink....It slides easily!! ...It lessens the pressure on the legs of machine...Makes my life easier!!...Washes a nice amount of clothing per load (even jeans)...I give this machine 5 thumbs up !!!...Would recommend it to everyone!!! ....I"m happy, happy,happy!!!!!... (F.Y.I.... AJ Madison had the best pricing)!!!! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Very Happy Customer
Posted:5/19/10
Pros: great machine
Cons: none
" This is the first portable machine I've purchased ever. I"m very satisfied with the operation of the machine. It works well, and washes a good amount of clothing, including jeans. It doesn't make lots of noise while operating. (the sound is always low). Even when it's in spin cycle. It's cycles run like (gentle) on regular size machines. I don"t have any complaints on this washing machine. The size is great, and even though the wheels don't rotate....I placed self stick felt cushions that stick on legs. This makes it even easier to maneuver machine around. I give it (5) thumbs up !!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent Washer
Posted:5/14/10
Pros: fast portable and efficient
Cons: can leak if you do not tighten the hose on the bac
" This washer is very nice. I have had no problems with it since I have purchased it in January of 2010. I tend to only do small loads of laundry at a time because more clothes mean that they will get less clean. For example, I put a pair of jeans, 3 shirts and some boxers in at once. Towels are done at 3 towels and 3-4 washrags. I usually do about 7 loads of wash a week because I keep them small. I have put more clothes in at once, but the clothes retain too much water for my Avanti D110.
Some pointers, tighten the hose to the back of the washer. I didn't tighten it enough for the first load and needless to say I had a nice wet kitchen floor. I took some pliers and tightened the hose on the back of it. I have not had a leak since.
For delivery, if you cannot lift that much I suggest having someone to help you move the washer or get the more expensive delivery service. I went cheap and got the bare minimum. The washer is about 80lbs in weight. I carried it up three flights of stairs (don't ask...we do not have elevators) by myself and it was very tiresome. The weight wasn't really the issue, but rather it was a big box...it was hard to get a grip on the item. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:NJ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
LOVE THIS WASHER!!!
Posted:5/6/10
Pros: works great!!!spins cycle is goodcleans clothes, small and compactholds a lot
" I like many others dreaded going to the Laundromat so .I purchased this washer in mid March 2010 and I love it. I also, purchased the Avanti portable dryer. I waited to do my review because I wanted to make sure the appliances would hold up before giving a premature review…and so far so good. This washer holds a lot more than I thought it would. I am able to wash a queen size comforter in one load (as well as dry it in the dryer) and my King size fitted and flat sheets in one was together. I am unable to wash the king comforter. I am able to wash about a week worth of clothes in one wash. I have a 8moth old and a 3 yr. old and I wash their clothes together in one load and usually have space to add a couple of my shirts and my husbands shirts in that same load. (My three year old loves to help me wash because she thinks these Small appliances are toys…lol) And for towels I can put about 20 wash clothes, and 6 regular towels in one load. I’ve read a lot of reviews where people stated they only do like 3 towels…I guess I decided to take it to the max with my wash loads. I wash all of my husband’s clothes for the week in one load as well.
The washer has a separate compartment for Fabric softener (which I just discovered about 2 weeks ago…lol) and it has a compartment for bleach. The spin cycle works very well. This washer is very quiet and my clothes always come out clean and fresh.
There is one thing you have to be careful with and that is when using hot water be very careful because on the drain cycle the hot water tends to heat up the drain pipe causing it to stretch. I learned this the hard way and had a flood to clean up because the drain came off the sink. If using hot water I recommend using tape or something to secure it to the sink to keep from falling.
My washer arrived in tact I‘ve read horrorific reviews of people ordering from other stores and receiving a damaged washer/ dryer. AJ Madison had their delivery company deliver my appliances right into my apartment.
I’m really glad I made this purchase. "
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Thrilled
Posted:4/21/10
" I have lived in an upstairs condo for 23 years without a washing machine. I have had plumbers in who couldn't install lines due to building codes. It was not until I surfed the net and found all those lovely reviews about this washer that I realized what I could do. I live in San Antonio, so of course I called around here, as well as shopping on the internet. This was the best deal. You all delivered it on the very morning promised. My handyman came the next day, unpacked it and VOILA! I have been happily washing ever since. Not a wrinkle. It does a beautiful job, quiet, no leaking - perfect for my needs. Thank you thank you. "
Review 14 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great buy
Posted:1/9/10
Pros: holds more than expected/cleans well/requires, less detergent
Cons: could use longer hose attachments for sink, difficult to maneuver at times
" Received this gem 3 days ago and I just washed about 5 loads with no trouble. Setup for a mechanically challenged woman as myself, was easy. For my small apartment I could not ask for anything better. The fact that I no longer need to make weekly trips to the germ infested apt laundry room makes this washer worth a million bucks to me. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Very good purchase
Posted:9/6/09
" I have only had the unit for a week. I am very happy with the washing results. It seems to clean well. The hook ups are easy. Being a portable unit the hoses could be longer. For my room a 6' hose that I bought is working well for the water. So far I have washed almost everything that has need washing and then some. It has worked great. The ticking noise of the timer is a annoying. It is bigger inside than you think it would be. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
A gem!
Posted:2/28/09
Pros: very quiet nice design sturdy good load size.
Cons: none
" Bought this little gem about a month and a half ago and
haven't had a moment's regret. Has a short wash cycle and a
long wash cycle, takes a pretty good sized load for a small
machine, and is really quiet. Have yet to experience a
load balance problem that used to regularly make my old machine
hop around and make a horrific racket. This really is a little gem!
I wouldn't have it for family sized loads but for a lone user living
in a small space, you really can't do any better at such a great
price. BUY IT!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
excellent
Posted:1/16/09
" Setup, very simple. Machine is very quiet. Extremely efficient spin cycle. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Perfect for my space & needs
Posted:12/18/08
" I live alone and have 24" width for a washing machine. Other than not having the water temperature variety I would prefer, Danby DWM99W could not be better. It washes and rinses well, and is so quiet, I sometimes deliberately listen to be sure it is working. Besides that, it is cute. Imagine - owning a cute washing machine. O joy!
My serious complaint was delivery. I stayed home 4 days waiting for your carrier to deliver.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
I love this washer!!!
Posted:11/1/08
Pros: size efficiency value convience & quietness
Cons: none
" Can't say enough about how pleased I am with this machine. Washes beautifully, spins clothes damp dry, incredibily quiet, great value & does a decent size load of wash. I just washed 2 large bath towels, 1 xxL denim shirt, 1 pair sweat pants, several tank tops, 2 pillow cases & several undies.
I live in a 12'x40' mobile home & it fits right in my bathroom.
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Danby Portable Washer DWM99W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Perrysburg,Oh.
Love this little giant !!!
Posted:4/27/08
" Just bought mine tonight. I am really surprised at how well it spin dries and they came out very clean. Very quiet. "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.