AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Freestanding Ranges or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

NXR 36" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3602X

The NXR 36" Professional Style Gas Range is an excellent 6 burner range ready to become the centerpiece of your gourmet kitchen. Constructed of all 304 stainless steel and equipped with six 15,000 BTU sealed burners and 22,000 BTU oven burner, this range can handle all of your cooking needs. The 5.2 cubic feet of oven space is large enough for Mom's Thanksgiving turkey, while the convection cooking system ensures a consistent cooking temperature. Electronic Ignition with automatic re-ignition. Heavy-duty burners, ignitors, and gas valves made in Germany. Duro Corporation is dedicated to bringing you the finest quality professional style indoor cooking appliances. Their promise is to give you more for less. By pairing enduring quality with exceptional value, Duro corporation will become the new standard in professioanl style cooking Duro Corporation was established 3 years ago as a result of the success of their parent company, a grill manufacturing giant that began manufacturing mid to high-end stainless steel grills 7 years ago and is now one of the largest manufacturers of grills in the world; the bulk of their business comprised of private label OEM work the world around. Now, as a refined producer of high quality merchandise, they began looking at alternative avenues to venture down. With their global sales and marketing offices located in Industry, CA, Duro Corporation was founded on the idea of bringing pro style ranges previously only affordable to the ultra-rich, to a price point suitable to the average American household.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
7 of 11(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NXR 36" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3602X
Review 1 for NXR 36" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3602X
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Atlanta, GA
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
No Warranty Support
Posted:3/26/15
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Cons: no warranty support
" I purchased this range less than a year ago. In January we reported that the enamel around the front of the oven was chipping. We provided purchase information, pictures and pretty much whatever Duro needed to complete the warranty repair. When the service agent arrived, he came in to inspect the range and said that he was sent the wrong part. Completely understandable. He said he would contact the service department to let them know and that they would be in contact with us. We waited a day or so to hear from the servicer but we did not hear from them - this will be the first of many. As we are poking around the oven we see some additional chipping on the bottom of the oven.
We call Duro's warranty service teaml to follow-up on the results of the previous service call and to let them know of the additional defects. We had to go through the entire process again and send in the additional pictures. We did. After redoing the process for the second time we noted that each time we call the service team no one seems to know what is going on with our repair and the process seems to start again from day one. The common statement from the service team is that "this is the first time I have seen it" or something similar.
We started doing a deeper dive regarding the defects in the oven and found on gardenweb that these ranges have a problem with the enamel chipping. So this should not be a surprise for the manufacturer. What will be a surprise for you will be that they will not be able to fix it or fix it in any reasonable amount of time.
We are now entering into our fourth month dealing with Duro's service department and our warranty repair is still not done. We have waited multiple times for the service technician only to be told, on the day of the service and after hours of waiting, that they cant do the repair because there is yet another error in parts, etc. Over the past few months we have followed-up with the service team countless times attempting just to find out the what is going on with our repair (fortunately for us we have our requests to them documented via email). Each time it has been one excuse after the next and no one knows what the previous agent have done.
We had a lot of choices in doing our renovation and I wish we had made a different choice regarding the range. The chipping of the enamel is a known issue so you are likely to encounter it. If you purchase this range, purchase it knowing that Duro Corporation will not be able to stand behind their warranty. This is a classic case of buyer beware! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NXR 36" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3602X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Sumerduck, VA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Value
Posted:3/10/15
Pros: looks great feels great and works!
" This range seems to be a great value. We have had it for about three weeks now, so this isn't a long term review. Buying a product without actually seeing it was a little weird, but I am glad we did. It looks and feels like it is well made. It is a great replacement for a $7000 thermadore stove that kept on having issues. AJ Madison was great in the whole transaction. They did exactly what they said they would. Wonderful business "
Review 3 for NXR 36" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3602X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:La Grande, OR
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Stove
Posted:3/3/15
" Everything was great except for the finish on the oven handle was scratched and peeling when we received the stove. The oven smoked and smelled really bad until the factory oils were burned off. Otherwise this has been a great product so far. "
Review 4 for NXR 36" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3602X
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:croydon ,NH
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
bad choice
Posted:12/12/14
Pros: looks great --professional looking
Cons: not worth a dime--spend the extra for a viking
" we bought our nxr in 2009 had 3 igniters go and now waiting for a new burner then we can put the new igniter in--also igniter for the stove top burners constantly makes that noise- good thing husband can fix it everytime--things cook uneven always have to rotate half way in baking "
Review 5 for NXR 36" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3602X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Oregon
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great stove!
Posted:7/21/14
Pros: none- fabulous well-made lifetime stove
Cons: aj madison financing
" The stove is just completely wonderful- one of the best things I have ever purchased in my life. The AJ Madison promotional, no-interest financing is actually through GE Capital, which was not explained to me, is not easy or intuitive to pay, and can carry up to 29% interest. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NXR 36" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3602X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Wilton Ct
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Purchase
Posted:8/26/13
Pros: convection burner quality
" I was looking for something with little digital and computer control boards. just basic traditional , and commercial looking. Also something under 3,000. This unit has met all of the requirements i was looking for and I would recommend it to anyone. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NXR 36" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3602X
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
Still not working
Posted:4/4/13
Pros: looks great
Cons: the oven still doesn't work
" This range was back ordered and it delayed our project by a month. It looks great, but on the second use (on Good Friday) the stove tripped the circuit breaker. We had an electrician come to verify it wasn't an electric issue. Upon calling the NXR's service number on that Friday morning we got a voice mail saying that they were closed for the weekend. We were out of luck for cooking Easter dinner. They (a subcontracted company, not NXR) called us back on Monday. A local company was contracted to come on Tuesday. A new igniter has been ordered and "should be" delivered by next Tuesday. This may fix the problem and this range may be problem free for years to come, but I've got a bad feeling we made a bad choice. "
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NXR 36" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3602X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:chicago
Would Recommend: Yes
nxr 36" freestanding gas range
Posted:6/13/12
Pros: excellent broiler
Cons: gets dirty easily but expected and cost is high
" Had 2 small scratches when I received it. I did not notice at first. Overall very nice. "
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NXR 36" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3602X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Corona, CA
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Really great product
Posted:5/23/12
Pros: good value great professional design
Cons: none
" I was blown away with the beautiful design of the range. It look great on our kitchen. I'm a housewife and I cook and bake alot. I would say this is one of the best purchases I made. Cooking is very fast and easy with its professional BTU specs. I've had this for almost 3 years and no problem at all. Still works perfectly. I recommended this to some of my neighbors and they love it too. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NXR 36" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3602X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Austin
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Love. it.
Posted:2/21/12
" I love this stove. Water boils fast. Cookies bake perfectly. The oven is huge. I have NOTHING bad to say, other than it is a little hard to clean--just because it is stainless. But honestly? I knew that going into it and would buy it again. The design is simple and clean. It is very heavy feeling. Great buy. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NXR 36" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3602X
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Worst Purchase Ever
Posted:11/21/11
" We purchased an NXR stove b/c we couldn't afford the Viking version. It was still pricey at around $3000. Long story short, the broiler stopped working after "2 1/2 months". They did send someone to fix the broiler for free b/c of the warranty (1 yr). I've had the stove for only "2 years", and now the oven stopped working. Something regarding the igniter needs to be fixed; the NXR tech person told me that it was a common problem. They are not covering the cost of fixing it b/c it is 2 yrs old. Don't get NXR stoves b/c you will have a major headache. Also the igniter on the stove top makes an irritating ticking noise(which happened from day1, but we were able to tweek it to stop; but sometimes it didn't; VERY irritating). I'm now at the mercy of some appliance repair guy (that NXR referred me to) who does not answer their phone. "
37 of 51 people found this review helpful.