AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Freestanding Ranges or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NXR 30" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3001x

The NXR 30" Professional Style gas range is the definition of cooking convenience. The range top comes standard with four 15,000 BTU sealed gas burners, complimented by heavy-duty cast iron cooking grates. The spacious 4.2 cubic foot convection oven is equipped with a 16,500 BTU infrared broiler and 22,000 BTU oven burner. With all these features wrapped up in a 304 stainless steel exterior, the DRGB3001 meets the highest standards of both quality and durability. Electronic Ignition with automatic re-ignition. Heavy-duty burners, ignitors, and gas valves made in Germany. Duro Corporation is dedicated to bringing you the finest quality professional style indoor cooking appliances. Their promise is to give you more for less. By pairing enduring quality with exceptional value, Duro corporation will become the new standard in professioanl style cooking Duro Corporation was established 3 years ago as a result of the success of their parent company, a grill manufacturing giant that began manufacturing mid to high-end stainless steel grills 7 years ago and is now one of the largest manufacturers of grills in the world; the bulk of their business comprised of private label OEM work the world around. Now, as a refined producer of high quality merchandise, they began looking at alternative avenues to venture down. With their global sales and marketing offices located in Industry, CA, Duro Corporation was founded on the idea of bringing pro style ranges previously only affordable to the ultra-rich, to a price point suitable to the average American household.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NXR 30" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3001x
Review 1 for NXR 30" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3001x
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Fayetteville, AR
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great value and fantastic range
Posted:3/12/14
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: looks, four awesome & equal burners, low & stable simmer, quick preheat
Cons: very minor cosmetic blemishes (not from shipping)
"Having now used the NXR for a few weeks I can safely say that we are very happy with how this range cooks. It is so much faster than our old Maytag electric and of course the gas gives us much finer control and faster response for burner temp changes. It's also nice to have four equal burners, each of which can go from a very low and stable simmer all the way to full power to heat water to a boil or run a wok. Simmering rice and frying French toast worked beautifully and intuitively the first time.
The oven cooks very evenly and the convection helps us use lower temps and/or faster cooking times. We've used the range-top burners more than the oven but cookies, frittatas, and pizza all came out well. The temp seems accurate and the oven preheats faster than our electric.
Do not expect 'fit and finish' perfection. There were no problems that caused me any concern, but I have a perfectionist eye and noticed a few small things here and there, such as a tiny punch mark on the top vent, lettering by the knobs that wasn't 100% clear, and a couple of very minor scuff marks in the stainless. The important stuff works perfectly: door action, burners, oven, broiler, knobs. These tiny flaws were all cosmetic. The construction of my range is quite clean and accurate in that seams and edges are tight and everything lines up.
If you search the web as I did you'll see references to people who had issues with chipping enamel or doors that didn't open/close cleanly. We've seen none of this so far, though it might be too early to celebrate on the enamel with perhaps 8-10 uses so far.
I'd buy it again and am very happy to have made the switch to gas and the move up to a prosumer range.
Finally, I like that the NXR is made up of industry standard parts that can be sourced from a variety of suppliers, and that it lacks any of the complex electronics and computer chips that often cause issues. I just want something that gets hot in a controlled way."
Review 2 for NXR 30" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3001x
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Kansas City, MO
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Good deal for the money
Posted:10/2/13
Pros: appearance = strength burners no elec displays
Cons: the fine details on it's finish
"This is a good looking range. I have had a lot of people in my house lately related to renovations. Most that come through the kitchen say something about the range. Overall pretty happy. I have a couple concerns regarding the finish, but will see how things hold up in the long run. Most people taking a chance on a $2000 range could spend $1000 more without too much concern imo. I was hoping for a bit better finish. Since this was an internet order on a brand without much history I went over it in much more detail than normal. I'm not sure if I'm finding issues because of that or its truely a QA concern. I had my GE profile range for 10 years and never looked at it as close as the NXR. Taking that into consideration. The oven door is three panes of glass. The center glass has cleaning streaks you can see in it at an angle. Looks like you could take door off to clean if wanted. The black painted on print for the controls is missing some small bits. For example, "Hi" printed for "Hi"gh heat is missing a bit of the bottom of the i. Has a couple brushed scratch type bits here and there from shipping.
Overall, if you stand literally 3 ft away you would not see any of this. I would buy it again and recommend it. Since I'm renovating I've bought a lot of items lately.. washer, oven, sink, counter tops, flooring.. everything I have bought has an issue if you look hard enought. I think the range is a good deal for the money. Hot burners that spark right up. Cooks good.
"
Review 3 for NXR 30" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3001x
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Oswego, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Professional look without the professional price
Posted:7/22/13
Pros: looks great just like the wolf we used to have., performs great. stove cooks faster than the wolf., is perfect if you don't need all the bells, whistles and digital display.
Cons: the stainless steel on the top scratches easily., i only used the rough side of a sponge and it left, marks.
"I looked in every store for a professional looking stove. I didn't want or need bells, whistles or digital display. Those usually end up malfunctioning sooner or later. As soon as i saw this stove online i knew it was the one. The reviews on this stove are right on and i would not hesitate to tell a friend about it. We LOVE our new stove!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NXR 30" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3001x
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Santa Clarita, Ca
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
nrx
Posted:6/21/13
Pros: everything i wanted
Cons: got a second degree burn reaching toward the back, burner this thing get hot..use protect gear and, utensils.
"So glad I made this purchase..the range is for the simple and traditional cook. No bells and whistles I LOVE THIS RANGE."
Review 5 for NXR 30" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3001x
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Atlanta, GA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Measure Twice
Posted:6/9/13
Pros: consistent heat attractive
Cons: too short too wide
"Great looking and cooks well. My problem is that it was wider than my last 30" so I had a lot of nasty sanding to do (glad I have not upgraded from Corian yet). I chalked this off to the former homeowners custom installing the counter to match the old range however, I was not prepared for the fact that the range was also shorter than standard countertops. There is actually a gap between my counters (standard height) and the range which looks bad."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NXR 30" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3001x
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:St. Paul, MN
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
No Bells no whistles no problems!
Posted:11/28/12
Pros: btus beautiful no mother board
Cons: oven doesn't heat evenly w/o convection fan
"I took a chance on this model. It had everything I wanted at a price I could afford. I cook for many people(blended family) who want different meals. I was worried about baking but I haven't had any issues. No issues with the enamel on the inside of the oven flaking like other reviews on different site have stated. I purchased an oven thermometer that I leave inside since it doesn't beep when the temp is reached. One thing that isn't great but I can work around it, is that the oven is hotter on the edges than in the middle. It heats evenly if you turn on the convection fan.
Bottom line, if you don't want a motherboard that will go out on you and don't mind not having a timer or beeping, this oven is wonderful. Looks great, and is a work horse.
AJ Madison was great to work with... No sales tax, easy transaction. Just bought 2 more appliances from them."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NXR 30" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3001x
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Ohio
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Home Range for a Pro
Posted:11/25/12
Pros: high power simplicity no electronics!!, a lot of bang for the buck!!
Cons: careful cleaning needed to protect, non-stainless steel surfaces.
"The NXR is a very good product if you want high-end features on a budget. High-end features being simple burner/eye and oven function; no electronics, every burner identical with low to high flames, smooth surfaces and grates that will accomodate both a 1qt. sauce pan or a 15" skillet. The eyes heat evenly to the edges of pans. The oven also heated evenly with accurate temps.. I browned pie crusts without having to rotate them. The oven fit two 1/2 hotel pans with enough space to move air as well. The covection fan is simply on or off with a toggle switch. The NXR has or betters many of the same features as Wolf, Viking, Blue Star ranges, but without the hefty pricetag. Overall, an excellent home stove for a professional."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NXR 30" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3001x
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Order with confidence
Posted:9/21/12
Pros: looks great simple controls cooks fantastic
Cons: none yet
"My wife and I recently remodeled our kitchen...slate floors, granite counters, custom cabinets, the works...and we needed a commercial style range to top it off. Unfortunately we blew the budget and could not afford a Viking, Wolf, or Thermador...so after much Internet research we pulled the trigger on the NXR...and we could not be happier. AJMadison delivered our NXR without incident and in a timely manner. We've only had the NXR for a short time but so far It looks fantastic, it cooks like a beast, and it cleans easily. We love the simplicity but durable control knobs and the large cast iron grates really give it a professional feel."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NXR 30" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3001x
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Would Recommend: Yes
Wonderful Stove!
Posted:8/23/12
Pros: quality, value, looks
Cons: none
"This is a great stove. Total quality on par with Viking or Wolf without the price. I was skeptical at first having never heard of NXR, but this truly is a great high-end stove."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NXR 30" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3001x
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:San frnaocsoc
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
For this price? WOW.
Posted:6/18/12
Pros: built like a tank with mucho firepower
Cons: don'tlike the empty space n the middle.
"I am a landlord in San Francisco, and the rents are high enough to support my addiction to being a designer of gorgeous living spaces. You get so much bang for the buck with these NXR ranges. People want to pay extra to rent a Wolf range, but that costs $5-7k. This costs $2k and gives exactly the same feeling as Wolf.
The cast iron grates are super solid, so is the rest of this tank. Also, the interior one is a gorgeous blue. Just like the $6k range.
It costs $2k. Did I mention that?
Seriously, if you're scared to buy this because it must be a cheapie, think again: I have almost six years on my oldest one, and ended up buying four more. I have never had a repair in all that time on any of them. If you can get over the name brand, you'll enjoy cooking on this."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NXR 30" Freestanding Gas Range DRGB3001x
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Saratoga Springs, NY
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent stove
Posted:5/12/12
"We have owned the stove for almost two years and it work very well. We would definitely recommend it. The only problem we have had is a "clicking" gas starter sound when the small gas port becomes clogged. It takes a very small wire to fit into the small gas port, which is toward the front of the main port when everything is removed. I found that a bread tie will work if you strip the plastic. Just get the wire into the port and move it around. Other than that it has been a great stove."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.