AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Dehumidifiers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE

Danby is one of the largest household appliance marketing companies in North America, with an impressive lineup of compact, specialty and home comfort appliances to suit the lifestyles of today's consumer. Danby's commitment is to provide exceptional quality and value with a continued dedication for creating innovative, unique products that are designed to fit your lifestyle. Our Premiere branded dehumidifiers use R410A refrigerant which does not deplete the ozone layer and helps you preserve our environment. This model also boasts the coveted Energy Star designation indicating it is one of the most energy efficient dehumidifiers in its class and the carton is made from 100% recycled materials. By removing up to 50 pints of moisture per day from the home not only does this model help create a comfortable environment but helps create a healthy home by preventing mold and mildew.
Average Customer Rating:
4.161 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
26 of 31(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Review 1 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Quiet and Effective
Posted:8/7/10
"After reading reviews on humidifiers, I decided to go with this Danby. The humidifier was delivered quickly. Recommend using the hose that's included for ongoing drainage. It was simple to attach. Easy to set time for time limit but I prefer to just let it run 24/7. Humidity set to 30 or 35 and it keeps a large area dry!"
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
lasted 8 months
Posted:1/24/12
Cons: short life span inconvenient service process
"bought this model 4/28/11. The fan died 1/21/12. Closest service location is 20 miles away. Was loud while it worked."
Review 3 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Quantico, VA.
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Dehumidifier
Posted:8/23/11
"We have had a Danby for a number of years so decided to get another recently. The new one had some tech problem but was rapidly replaced. It is a superb unit and very easy to operate as well as looking good. The tank fills too fast but my better half does not want to use the hose attachment drain.
Well done !
Jerry
"
Review 4 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:White Hall, MD
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Very Satisfied
Posted:8/17/11
Pros: does the job well-gets the moisture out of the air
"We have had this dehumidifier for about 3 months. Seems to work great. We put it in our basement and the basement is dry. We set up our basement so our young adult children could "hang out" with their friends. Now they "hang out" in the basement all the time. It seems we have been buying a dehumidifer every 3-4 years; hopefully this one holds up longer."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great product
Posted:7/18/11
"Am very pleased with all aspects of this purchase. Looks and works like a dream! After using it in my musty basement for 48 hours the humidity has dropped from 71% to 35%. this product does what it says it will do!"
Review 6 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Purchase
Posted:4/19/11
Pros: looks great works great priced right
Cons: none
"I looked and reviewed several other de humidifiers before this purchase and this seemed like the best one for the job. It runs quiet and takes care of my very large basement. It is a great unit for the price. I am very happy with it"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Posted:11/13/10
Pros: looks good, well constructed
Cons: danby had these units on backorder for a long time, i'm assuming this was the case because of unit's, popularity.
"The unit is very easy to use. The user's manual is easy to understand. The unit is very nice looking and appears to be constructed well. I have turned the unit on a few times, but because our basement has been very dry with low humidity, the unit has not had to remove any humidity yet. Unit arrived in perfect condition. The price was very fair."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
satisfied customer
Posted:8/12/10
Pros: very efficient at removing the moist air
Cons: fan is always running when it is on
"Works much better at removing the moisture laden air in the basement than did older dehumidifiers. There is no longer that "funky" smell from the basement. I do not know how the fan running constantly will affect my electric bill; haven't had it long enough to tell.
Because the fan runs all the time, I am glad it is in the basement. I cannot, however, hear it running from upstairs. All in all, very satisfied with it.
"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Effective but noisy & hot
Posted:7/13/10
"This works well - it pulls a lot of water out of the air, but it is fairly noisy and it puts out a lot of heat. The fan runs continuously, so we turn the unit off when we don't need it because of the noise."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great product
Posted:7/12/10
Pros: quiet cost size
Cons: none
"After lots of research, we settled on the Danby. So popular it took awhile to find. First purchase with AJ Madison and first online appliance purchase. Little hesitant but no need. Only glitch was that the product was said to have shipped UPS ground immediately but when it didn't arrive after 10 days, I called back. The staff reserached and found it was in fact on back order with shipper but new shipment was due in 3 days. It arrived as promised in perfect working order. We have a large, humid basement in the Washington DC area for our family room where our air conditioning doesn't really work. This keeps it super comfortable and it is really quiet. We have it near the TV. The noise is no more than that of a fan. Much cheaper option than installing a second air conditioning zone/blower for the lower level. I will definitely conisder AJ MAdison for our new appliances for our kitchen-, Best prices around and very good customer service. Only con is that we don't have a sump pump or floor drain so we can't use the hose because it has to drain to a level below that of the hose. We have to empty the bucket. First few days we were emptying the bucket two or three times a day, now it is every other day and our sink is nearby. the bucket is on the smaller size with a good handle system so it is not too heavy and easy to carry and pour out."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
It works!
Posted:7/9/10
Pros: it works!
Cons: none
"Though we've had three straight years of unusually wet weather -- and we have constant small river running through our basement -- the Danby dehumidieir we purchased has managed to keep the humidity in the basement below 50% (and I'm pretty sure it could bring it down to 30% if we set it that low). The humidity level in our basement is now generally lower than the rest of the house!"
Review 12 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Not a whole house dehumidifier
Posted:6/20/10
Pros: option to drain via house drain or bucket.
Cons: does not do what manufacturer advertises: loud
"We bought this dehumidifier after first reading the EPA capacity guidelines and consumer reviews. According to the EPA guidelines we needed a 25 pint model for our ~1,000 ft. basement. Being more on the cautious side, we bought a 70 pint model as our basement can be extremely wet after continous rains. The 70 pint model did not come close to drying out the basement. The unit does work well removing moisture in a room up to 500sq ft. Thus, before you purchase any dehumidifier understand that neither EPA nor manufacturer guidelines are correct."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Worked great for a month or two - then broke
Posted:2/15/10
Pros: works for a large room
Cons: broke down quickly
"I bought this humidifier in Sept. 09, and within a month or two, it stopped working. The fan keeps running, but no moisture is taken out of the air. It worked really well for awhile, but I now need to return it - most likely to the manufacturer. Hopefully, there will be no problems with the warranty - it's supposed to be covered for 2 years."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Danby dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Posted:2/7/10
"It worked great...while it worked.
I bought this unit at the end of last summer when my other dehumidifier quit working. It worked great in my basement apt. for the month and a half that I used it.
I just plugged it back in, 4 months later, to run on the other side of the unfinished basement and the unit is blowing cold air and after a few hours in operation, the bucket is bone dry.
I made sure I had the settings set correctly. The temperature is currently 56 degrees and the humidity is at 77%. I checked the filter, and that too, is clean.
They say you should get years of use out of these things, but the longest I ever had one work properly, was just one year. That's alot of money to shell out for such a short period of use!"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Unit
Posted:11/12/09
Pros: it is powerful!
Cons: this unit did not have automatic fan cutoff.
"I have had major problem of moisture in my basement and since I started this unit there has been a great improvement. Thank you Danby!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
nice product
Posted:11/1/09
Pros: all the extra features plus works great
Cons: bucket design
"Works well so far. I have used this product for only 1 month so I cannot speak for longevity, but, so far it's working great. I bought it for the basement because our smaller dehumidifier couldn't keep up with the moisture. However, I like it so much, I may keep it upstairs. I run it when I am in the shower and the mirrors don't fog up at all. I also like how it warms up the bathroom when it is running. It makes it very comfortable. The humidity reading is also useful. I like knowing what the exact humidity of the room is. Another good feature is the energy star rating. Hard to go wrong with that. I am seriously considering buying another one. The only thing holding me back is the cost. So far my only complaint would be the design of the bucket. It is shaped in such a way that can make it tricky to empty neatly. It is easier to empty into a bathtub than it is into a sink. (water tends to pour out 3 or 4 different areas all at the same time no matter how I hold the bucket)."
Review 17 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Product, Slow Shipping
Posted:10/30/09
Pros: on board displays / low noise / auto tank drain
Cons: shipping
"AJ Madison took 11 days to get the product out their door, and only after a few emails were sent.
The Danby DDR7009REE dehumidifier has been running in our basement non-stop since it was received a month ago. The temp & humidity level displays are very helpful to casually monitor status. It makes about as much noise as a fan running on low or medium. The automatic drain keeps it running without dumping the tank. We ran the drain tube into the condensate pump for the house AC unit, which periodically pumps it outside.
Great product and great price but might think twice before ordering from AJ Madison again.
- c bob"
Review 18 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
A Must
Posted:10/27/09
Pros: everything
Cons: none
"I have owned three other dehumidifiers. The worst in quality and highest in price was an LG. I did research on the Danby DDR7009ree and others for about six months and found DANBY with best reviews and a fair price. I would advise anyone who buys a unit like this to buy a long extended warranty. I bought one for two years beyond the two year warranty that came with this great performer. The 700 is quite and the most reliable dehumidifier that I have owned to date.
I live in Tennessee where the humidity is high even in the winter months. The area is also known to be bad for allergies IE: severe sinus problems .
My health has much improved since I have been using this powerful machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
This is a great unit
Posted:10/25/09
Pros: none
Cons: good cost really removes the moisture fast
"Im am very satisfied with this model. The cost was reasonable and it functions as advertised. I received it in a timely maner. I am thinking of getting another for another section of our house."
Review 20 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR7009REE
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Danby Dehumidifier
Posted:10/25/09
"An excellent value and quality machine with energy star ratings.
Big concern is that I cannot leave the unit running with a preset humidity and have it shut down when that humidity level is reached.
I have had poor quality units with a humidity setting and unit would shut off when level reached."