AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Dehumidifiers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE

Danby is one of the largest household appliance marketing companies in North America, with an impressive lineup of compact, specialty and home comfort appliances to suit the lifestyles of today's consumer. Danby's commitment is to provide exceptional quality and value with a continued dedication for creating innovative, unique products that are designed to fit your lifestyle. Our Premiere branded dehumidifiers use R410A refrigerant which does not deplete the ozone layer and helps you preserve our environment. This model also boasts the coveted Energy Star designation indicating it is one of the most energy efficient dehumidifiers in its class and the carton is made from 100% recycled materials. By removing up to 50 pints of moisture per day from the home not only does this model help create a comfortable environment but helps create a healthy home by preventing mold and mildew.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 of 16(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Review 1 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Lousy, does not last long
Posted:6/7/13
Pros: looks nice
Cons: piece of junk won't last very long
" I bought two. One still runs OK, the second one crapped out in about 18 months. Fan blows, no dehumidifying activity at all. I've read numerous reviews where these leak refrigerant, and from what I can see so far, that's the problem - no coolant left. "
Review 2 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Where is the Good
Posted:1/27/11
Pros: looks modern
Cons: the design makes it not utilitarian.
" The product has many shortcomings: 1) the remote control seems to work no farther than 10 feet away.
2) The unit will run for 2 - 3 hours and have very little water capture, as compared to a similarly sized Frigidare model which collects a minimum of 1 1/2 gallons of water within the same time period. 3) The " Timer " function is erratic..sometimes it is precise and other times the unit just runs on until it is manually shut off. 4) The water collection bucket with its angular design is a serious drawback...it does not rest flat when removed from the unit, it will tip and spill easily. 5) The dehumidifer is awkward to move..even though it has wheels..it has to be lifted up when moving across a carpeted floor.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Danby Dehumidifier
Posted:1/4/11
Pros: price online was competitive., good shipping experience., meets needs well.
" Overall quiet machine and does a really good job of keeping my basement dry. Controls fairly straight forward. Ran machine 2 months now without incident. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Wouldn't Buy Again
Posted:12/7/10
Pros: none
Cons: fan runs constantly, air is exhausted on the top
" Had I known the fan stays on all the time, I would have never bought this unit.
If you have an insulated basement ceiling, the fan blows directly at it since the unit exhausts air on the top. "
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
worth the price
Posted:11/10/10
Pros: quiet and efficient
Cons: none
" Removes moisture like a sponge. I have it in my semi-finished basement and now it is drier there than in my house "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent unit
Posted:10/27/10
Pros: efficient and accurate reading
Cons: noise but its in the basement so not a problem
" Been very happy with the purchase. Works very good in controlling the humidity. Humidity measurement is accurate. The only thing I didn't like is that there's no way to turn off the fan without shutting off the unit, but that's already a known issue and is not a big deal for me. "
Review 7 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Michigan
Owned Product:0-6 months
Would Recommend: Yes
DDR6009REE Dehumidifier
Posted:10/27/10
Pros: affordable good quality
Cons: none
" I was every excited when my danby dehumidifier arrive, but sadly I didn't have the chance to use it because it arrived almost ready for fall. Because of high demands I have to wait for additional months. It was a worth of waiting and I have read the review even ion the news that Danby product are good quality, affordable and dependable. My overall rate for this product is good because I haven't use it for now but someday it will be excellent. Im sure I wont be dissappointed what I bought. "
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:northeastern MD
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Price was great!
Posted:10/27/10
Pros: clears humidity from a whole house basement, best price at aj madison, highly rated in consumers report®
Cons: noisy - can hear it in the second story bedroom, long wait due to shortage at danby - high demand
" Order a Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE in mid July and arrived in late September - manufacture inventory low during summer. Was very happy to replace older dehumidifier with a more efficient one. Now the basement smells like any other part of the (2400 sq ft) house and no mildew. I have it set to run constantly and it has cleared the air. The only negative thing is I can hear the fan running two floors up in the bedroom and I have a hearing problem. "
Review 9 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Atlanta, GA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Working like a champ
Posted:9/11/10
" This was easy to install, turns back on if the power goes off and got high ratings from Consumer's Report. We purchased this item 2 months ago and have no complaints thus far. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Purchase
Posted:9/9/10
Pros: works great. quiet efficient and small footprint
Cons: none so far!
" Price was good but my purchase decision was based wholly on a consumer products recommendation. Shipment date was delayed because of consumer demand, I gather. But it was worth the wait. Yes, it is quite. Yes, it dried out my basement rather quickly. Setup was quick and easy. Had it running within five minutes after delivery. And we experienced a power outage about a month back(23.5 hours) after which the Danby DDR6009REE unit simply turned back on without a hitch to continue dehumidifying my basement. I would definitely recommend this unit. It has been in continuous use since my receiving the unit. "
Review 11 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Danby dehumidifier review
Posted:9/9/10
" Does an excellent job, simple to use. Would like it to have a bigger tank but overall satisfied. I understand many of these dehumidifiers are unreliable and don't last long. I have had mine for only about a month so it may be to early to rave. "
Review 12 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
This unit does the job.
Posted:9/9/10
Pros: quiet operation compact size good design
Cons: it took too long to deliver; company did not plan, for success.
" Here is a compact, quiet dehumidifier that gets the job done with style. "
Review 13 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Southeast Pa.
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great value
Posted:7/15/10
Pros: Quiet
Cons: fan runs all the time
" Product was shipped quickly. Simple to hook up and get running. Very quiet compared to my last one which only lasted five years. The only downside is the fan runs all the time. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Purchase
Posted:6/28/10
Pros: easy to use.
Cons: none so far!
" Great Purchase!!! Does everything it said that it would do and more! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
very satisfied
Posted:6/15/10
Pros: easy to operate
Cons: none
" Purchased from your company after reading recommendations on this unit. Doing an excellent job in a 2000 sq ft. basement that will be finished at a later date. Very quick response and time frame on delivery from AJ Madison "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Danby Dehumidifier DDR6009REE
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
So So
Posted:9/11/09
" Disappointed that the unit is a "constant on" and does not have a scheduled on off timeframe option. "
26 of 32 people found this review helpful.