AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Built In Dishwashers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT

Who They Are Fisher and Paykel Appliances designs, manufactures and markets a range of innovative household appliances developed with a commitment to technology, design, user friendliness and environmental awareness. Their Heritage Their heritage dates to the 1930's with the manufacture of designs made under licence. The pioneering spirit established by the founders encouraged a culture that challenged conventional appliance design and production systems. Their Products Having learned about electronic drive systems through their flexible manufacturing equipment, they applied the knowledge to driving appliances. The world's first appliance using Brushless Direct Current Motors was introduced in the 1980's. This design later gave way to the development of the Smart Drive clothes washer. Their People They have created a culture where people and innovation can flourish. Their people and their ideas are the key to their success. Their people are the key to its success. They combine with three key factors to contribute to their growth - an ongoing commitment to research and development; an environment that allows their people to develop innovative ideas; a Board of Directors that gives these ideas the time and capital to meet their long-term goals. Available at AJ Madison. Double DishDrawer Tall With over a decade of DishDrawer manufacturing, they introduce the latest addition by Fisher & Paykel to revolutionize your kitchen; DishDrawer Tall. Continuing with the ergonomically superior design of DishDrawer, Fisher & Paykel have found new ways to make your dishwashing experience even easier. By increasing the height of the top drawer you can now fit up to 13" plates with ease, making cleaning up after dinner parties a breeze.
Average Customer Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 18(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Review 1 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Aston, Pa
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Best dishwasher ever
Posted:5/24/12
Pros: different cycles double drawers for small and, large loads eco cycle
Cons: there aren't any!!!!!
" I just completely renovated my kitchen and got all new appliances. I was very interested in a double drawer dishwasher as I live alone, but do a lot of entertaining. I smaller bottom drawer is just perfect for when I'm not entertaining and having both drawers for larger gatherings is just perfect. I'm not sure about the reviewer that gave this dishwasher a 1 star. I rinse dishes before placing in dishwasher, but by no means do I wash them first and I can get away with the fast/eco setting an get the dishes clean and shiny.
This is the best dishwasher ever!!!!!:)
"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Houston, TX
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Dishwasher
Posted:1/14/14
" Works great for us as we can load one drawer and run it without running both drawers. Love the ease to load. The bottom shield is poor made and pops off all the time. Doesn't distract from over all look but would prefer that it stays on. "
Review 3 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:North Texas
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Disability Assistance
Posted:12/9/13
Pros: easily loaded and unloaded. opens easily.
Cons: dishes need to rinsed off before loading.
" Bought this unit to replace the normal door type dishwasher for a parent guest house. It met my expectation for an elderly person to be able to load and unload dishes. A bit more expensive than I would think, but since this manufacturer appears to be the only one available, it is costly. "
Review 4 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Saint Paul, MN
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
An Excellent Dishwasher for a Small Family
Posted:11/19/13
Pros: two independent dishdrawers top is very quiet
Cons: bottom drawer is not so quite and harder to load
" This is a really good dishwasher for a family of 3 or 4. The best thing about it is to be able to do small loads on 2 separate independent dishwashers. Clutter on the kitchen counter is minimized this way . The top dishdrawer is super quiet and works really well. The bottom dishdrawer is not as quite as the top dishdrawer. "
Review 5 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Amarillo, Texas
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Very happy
Posted:9/27/13
Pros: looks beautiful and cleans perfectly
Cons: none
" I was a little concerned about ordering a dishwasher from out of state but because I'd checked into so many reviews and this model was rated the top performer and since it wasn't available in any stores locally, I took a chance. I'm very happy with the look and performance of the dishwasher as well as the prompt shipping. It was here in less than a week. My husband installed it and he is certainly not a man that enjoys dong "honey do" jobs, but was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to install. We are extremely happy. We've had it about a month now and the machine cleans perfectly. "
Review 6 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Massachusetts
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Older model is much better than this new one
Posted:6/24/13
Pros: very quiet
Cons: awkward interior configuration & water deposits
" I am quite sorry that I decided to replace my ten year old Fisher & Paykel dish drawer with the latest semi-integrated model. I chose to do so, because the old upper unit required repair, and, due to its age, I decided to replace it with a new one. I absolutely loved my older Fisher & Paykel dishwasher.
The new model is much more difficult to load, due to the ribs on the side walls for the adjustable upper shelves. Glasses have to be positioned carefully between the ribbing. Additionally, the new adjustable shelves must be larger, because they interfere with placement of my small dinner dishes on the right lower level. In short, this dishwasher is a real nuisance to load, while the older one was a snap. The configuration of the tines throughout the dishwasher seem to reduce space for dishes compared to the older model.
My old dish drawer did not leave water all over the dishes at the end of the cycle, but this one does. It also leaves water in the area where the inner lid closes during the wash cycle. A fan appears to run incessantly after the wash cycle, too.
Had I known all this, I would have repaired my old dish drawer, which I loved. It did have issues with the lid closing mechanism twice, however, and that caused me to replace it. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Getting used to loading - but works fantastically
Posted:2/1/13
Pros: cleans dishes well, Quiet, looks great, can have a clean drawer & dirty drawer
Cons: getting used to loading, long run time
" We like out drawer dishwasher. We opted for a taller drawer option if there were anything big we needed to wash. We haven't run into anything as of yet, but the option exists if ever needed.
We have only had this for 2 weeks, but really like it. I must admit it has been a slight bit awkward figuring out how best to load the dishdrawer(s). We have two kids who use smaller plastic cups. These don't work the best in the dishwasher. If you find that you use a lot of glasses/cups, you may find it hard to figure out how to fit them all in if you also use large dinner plates like we do. I'm toying with the idea of ordering smaller plates (8 1/2") so that we can fit more glasses into each load. If it weren't for this it would get 5 stars down the board.
Not sure how to best load water bottles. We use those on a regular basis. Essentially, still working out the kinks on loading items.
The dishwasher cleans fantastically. I don't think we have had to re-wash a single item as of yet. I read to never rinse your dishes, only scrape off the food, so that is what I have been doing. It saves water, and the dishwasher does a fine job at cleaning. I was a bit worried based on a few reviews, but I would have to say they are either loading improperly, or there is an issue with their dishdrawer (spray arm not on track, drain tubes not set up right, king in hose, etc).
The regular cycle takes under 130 minutes to run. That is a LONG time, but it is so quite, we don't mind at all.
Everything needed for installation is included from the manufacturer. We had this item shipped from AJ Madison and it took nearly 1 month to deliver. Delivery company would not bring it into the house, only the garage and would not wait for us to uncrate it to check for damage. So if you order this, be aware of AJ Madison's delivery practices. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
stunning and brilliant
Posted:12/24/12
Pros: sleek looking and awesome clean dishwshes
Cons: had to work out best wat to load it
" i really wanted this because of its looks, and to match the Fisher Paykel fridge that we had bought. I did a lot of reasearch becasue it is an expensive dishwasher, Some reviews on the web were not so positive as far as the way it cleaned, but the idea of two drawers (smaller loads) and the sleek look made we take a chance. And I so glad i did. It looks fantastic in my kitchen and the functionality is absolutely 100%. It took me a while to work out how to load it but once I figured it out it is the best dishwasher I have ever owned. "
Review 9 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Newport Beach, CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Finally they are clean
Posted:5/31/12
Pros: quiet built in water softener drawer design
Cons: expensive does not accomodate large items
" This is our second Fisher & Paykel. We moved into our new house and immediately realized that the hard water was going to destroy our dishes. We quickly ordered this machine with built in water softening. The machine is the 7th generation (our other machine was 3rd). The machine performs wonderfully. It is quiet, cleans perfectly and the two drawer design is really great for two people and also handy for a dinner party. I found a great video on YouTube designed for F&P installers. I followed it to the letter and installed the dishwasher in about 30 minutes with great result. In fact, I had to install another one for a friend after she saw how good ours was. The right choice if you have hard water. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:dallas, tx
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Really like this so far
Posted:4/23/12
Pros: easy to use cleans dishes well
Cons: on eco moe the dishes don't get as dry
" I must say.. the double dishwasher has gotten lots of mixed reviews, and i was hesitant at first to go this route, but glad I did! I have a small family, so smaller more frequent loads are what we do, and this dishwasher is great for that! The dishwasher comes with very easy to read directions, and is easy to operate. I have only had it for 2 weeks but i have done many loads and have been happy with how clean my dishes get every time. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
The WORST dishwasher ever
Posted:4/23/12
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: looks good
Cons: does not clean the dishes., dishes must be pre-washed before being put in, everything but the look
" This is the worst dishwasher!! Stay away!! This does not clean well at all. There is constantly a residue of minced food and detergent left on the glasses and cups. The loading instructions from the manufacturer state that the proper way to load the dishwasher is with a total of 4 plates, 4 bowls, and 4 cups. Since when do you only end up with that at the end of a meal?? This dishwasher is made for a single person living alone, not a typical family of 4. You don't end up saving water or electricity because of the need to run it after each and every meal. I rue the day that I bought this and I can't wait till I renovate the kitchen to replace it. What a waste of money! "
7 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:High Rock Lake, Lexington, NC
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
What a great back saver!!
Posted:4/5/12
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: quiet cleans and dries very well.
Cons: none
" The dishwasher is PERFECT in every way! Fits nicely in the old dishwasher space. Love the drawers! I chose to have the BIGGEST drawer on top and the small drawer on the bottom. What a BACK SAVER and very roomy. Cleans and dries very well. Now, if they only made one that would load itself and then put the dishes away!
I was hesitant about buying on line but never again. I will use AJ Madison again and again and again. The sales staff (Mark was totally awesome) was knowledgeable and very helpful. The dishwasher, fridge, and range came faster than quoted. Mark also told me what to expect with the delivery.
My experience with AJ Madison was perfect in every way! Thank you Mark!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:PA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Posted:1/24/12
Pros: easy loading great cleaning., 1 draw for every day loads rather than waiting, for a big load
Cons: be sure to clear of all solids it does not have a, grinder and need to leave dishes in a little while, after cycle to dry off fully. has fan drying, instead of a heat coil. i guess this is the, sacrifice to make it more energy efficient.
" This was a replacement from my old F&P. My old unit was 14 years old.
Nice to have the slide drawers again. Ease of loading is great. Top drawer is extra deep for pots and pans. Uses less than two gallons of water!! That is amazing, probably use more water clearing off plates.
Very quiet can run both units at the same time not even realize its running (well almost). Over time we have come to learn to add fresh detergent when emptying the dishwasher. It makes it easier at times rather than do it after it is loaded.
One other thing is the water softener. Years back on the old machine we ran out of dishwasher salt. I put in the crystal salt from the whole house softener and it worked great. Dishes come out sparkling clean. Have been using it on the new machine for about 3 months and have been getting the same great performance. I have refilled it twice. But this is up to you. Lowes or HD have it, 40 lbs blue bag water softener crystals for about $4.75 a bag. "
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Outstanding Alternative
Posted:12/1/09
Pros: look sound ease of use
Cons: detergent drawer is easy to block in the closed po
" The drawers are functional alternatives to the typical dishwasher design. Ease of loading, flexibility in use and conservation of detergent are at the top of the list. Very quiet as well. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Looks good, but has drawbacks.
Posted:11/25/09
Pros: looks good separate cycles
Cons: no heat dry hard to pour detergent
" This is a good looking unit; I only wish it had additional features. The biggest thing is that it doesn't "heat dry". It only has "air dry", which is inadequate. The dishes are still wet after the cycle. The other thing is that it only uses dry detergent and is difficult to pour into the small receptacles located on the inside of the door. It runs well, cleans dishes well, and is quite enough - if it would dry the dishes, I would have given it 5 stars. "
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
A good machine
Posted:6/19/09
Pros: good cleaning no spots quiet spacious great, looks
Cons: sometimes hard to fit everything in long cycles, detergent drawer a little tricky to fill
" I decided to replace an old GE dishwasher that had been in the house when I moved in 10 yrs ago. It still worked but it was the usual problems of always having to wash dishes clean before putting them inside. Also the water is a bit hard here so the spotting/streaking was always an issue.
We bought the DD24DTX that has the slightly larger top drawer for 13" plates. Also it has the built in water softener.
Buying something online like this was a little risky but with no sales tax and free shipping it tempted me enough to order it. Took about a week or so to ship and the delivery was ok, nothing spectacular. The unit was shrink wrapped and packed in foam. Looked to be undamaged from the factory.
Installation was a tight fit only because the opening was 1/4" smaller than the minimum opening size. But i was able to get it installed. It's a nice square size and was fairly easy to level and secure. Tubing/electrical was nice and compact out the back. I only needed to make some new holes in the cabinet walls to get the tubing/electrical through.
After a little time spent getting the drain and supply line hooked up it was time to fire the unit up. on the inside of both units there was dark orangish like water spots on the inside. Not sure where it came from but it didn't smell great. It was easy to remove with a little rinsing but not sure if it came from the factory test or what. Since it was sealed in factory wrap i assumed it was something from the factory.
Ok, on the use. These units are really quiet! even running both at the same time you hear very little. They make more noise when draining than with washing. Loading is a little different since you only have 1 spray arm in the bottom, you have to be a little more careful on item positions. But the folding tines and shelves are great. It just takes a little more time to arrrange things ideally.
Compared to a full size DW there are tradeoffs. I think a full-size may hold a bit more dishes. But the real advantage is that you can break up loads. splitting different types of items into different drawers. Also being able to run one drawer while loading another is great.
I'm glad I bought the unit with the water softener. The dishes are spotless even if there is some water left on the tops of items. It was a little difficult to find the proper salt. I think they should give you a "starter" amount with the unit. Took another week to get that, which i found some Somat made for Miele DW's.
I've intentionally left more stuff on dishes without making sure they are clean before putting them in the unit. It does clean well but i wouldn't call it perfect. But it is nice to just scrape off any big items from plates and put them in without worry.
After only a few weeks of use it is definitely a good unit to have. The only thing I would do differently is if I were to remodel I would buy 2 single drawer units and place them on either side of the sink. That way you don't have to reach down low and you have two equal sized "deep" drawers.
I have heard of service issues with F&P so time will tell if it's a reliable unit. I had hoped that since they have been making Dishdrawers for many years that most of the kinks have been worked out. Time will tell. "
84 of 85 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great product, so-so service
Posted:6/1/09
Pros: cleaning looks quiet
Cons: service
" The dishwasher looks great and cleans great. Amazingly quiet. Also contains poorly documented ability to shut unit down for Sabbath. Installation was disappointing and follow up for replacing defective part has also been disappointing. "
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fisher & Paykel Drawers Dishwasher DD24DT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Fisher Paykel
Posted:6/1/09
Pros: it is so quite ! does a good job on the dishes, it is a keeper!
Cons: i don't like excess water in fillter after a load, but i just take my sponge and soak it up and put, back the filter. it really isn't a big deal.
" Gosh now that the children are gone , And it is just me and hubby, This Fisher Paykel dishwasher, is just the ticket. It is quite,it does a great job cleaning the dishes. I am happy that they made a dishwasher that can hold 13 inch plates with know problem. With just the two of us i find that i just use the top drawer. I suppose when the kid's, come to visit, i will be loading both, I am happy we bought it. I like the sleek look, it is great.
Thank you !
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.