AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Chest Freezers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Danby Freestanding Chest Freezer DCF401W

Danby is one of the largest household appliance marketing companies in North America, with an impressive lineup of compact, specialty and home comfort appliances to suit the lifestyles of today's consumer. Danby's commitment is to provide exceptional quality and value with a continued dedication for creating innovative, unique products that are designed to fit your lifestyle. The Danby chest freezer is a smart addition to your household. The foam-insulated cabinet and lid are energy efficient to keep costs low. The front-mount mechanical thermostat lets you set the desired temperature.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Danby Freestanding Chest Freezer DCF401W
Review 1 for Danby Freestanding Chest Freezer DCF401W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Fits the bill.
Posted:10/7/10
" Just what I was looking for, it will fit into the very small spot that we have in our RV. "
Review 2 for Danby Freestanding Chest Freezer DCF401W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
My freezer
Posted:9/5/10
" This freezer is the best. I live by myself and needed a freezer and it works great just big enough for me and for my little food I freeze.
Thank you
Lulu
"
Review 3 for Danby Freestanding Chest Freezer DCF401W
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Danby
Posted:8/2/10
Pros: price quetness
Cons: no thermometer
" We using this freezer for storing my wife breastmilk. It able to keep about -20 degrees .
No complaints so far , works good , but we purchased wireless thermometer to monitor themperature inside box.
We was able to reach Danby customer support for general question about product but they weren't very helpful. "
Review 4 for Danby Freestanding Chest Freezer DCF401W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Awesome Freezer!!
Posted:7/24/10
Pros: last a long time; very reliable.
Cons: n/a
" I purchased this freezer in 1999. It is still doing a top notch job! That’s more than I can say for my Samsung side-by-side refrigerator that I purchased in 2006. If you need a quality, inexpensive, and reliable freezer, then this is the one for you. It simply does an awesome job and will last you for a long time. "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Danby Freestanding Chest Freezer DCF401W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:California - foothills
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Perfect Size
Posted:5/5/10
Pros: light weight size and has rollers
Cons: none that i can find
" There are just two of us but needed some more freezer space this size is perfect for us. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Danby Freestanding Chest Freezer DCF401W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:san diego
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
great freezer
Posted:4/12/10
Cons: none
" I looked all over for the 3.6 and finally found it here. it is a nice freezer and looks nice in my kitchen. works great!! the delivery men put it in the place where I wanted it and even put the carton outside for me, great service. great price too!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Danby Freestanding Chest Freezer DCF401W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
nice size for a mobile home
Posted:12/17/09
" exelent size for limited space issues and very quiet "
Review 8 for Danby Freestanding Chest Freezer DCF401W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great size for a second freezer
Posted:9/2/09
Pros: great size for second freezer
" I think many people buy too big for their second freezer and I wanted to avoid making that error. I was a little worried buying this small, but I I'm very pleased with my purchase.
It's been in use for 3 months and I haven't found any issues with it. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Danby Freestanding Chest Freezer DCF401W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Back order arrives on time
Posted:8/6/09
" I made an online purchase of a Danby DCF401W 3.6 cubic foot chest freezer on 06/25/09. When the shipping status did not change on the AJMadison site in 3 days I called and was told that the freezer was out of stock but was still available.
I called again in 2 days and was told that they could make sure it would be at my local shipping company dock by 7/8/09. It was at the local shipping company on 7/7/09. When I picked it up the shipper asked if I wanted to open and inspect, a minor scrap and ding was noted on one side near the bottom and I accepted the shipment as is. AJMadison provided me good customer service, and the shipping company that they used did also.
The freezer works great, it is quiet, and keeps a constant -2 F. temp with the dial setting in the mid range. A good buy, as we use it as a second freezer for seasonal items.
This size model with a temp control was not available in the local area stores.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Danby Freestanding Chest Freezer DCF401W
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Small Freezer
Posted:11/23/08
Pros: quiet low power
Cons: could have a locking lid
" This is a great small freezer.
Is quiet and uses very little power.
Keeps food at proper freezer temp. "
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.