AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Gas Cooktops or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK

Caldera, an Award Winning Vermont Company, celebrating 12 years of innovation specializes in cooktops with electronic controls and has won multiple Excellence In Design awards, Product Innovation, and Best In Show awards for our innovative and creative electronic cooking appliances. Caldera is proud to present the top-of-the line cooktop that's friendly to your bottom line. Whether you're using the full power of the center 17,000 BTU burner or the gentle simmering 150-degrees of the small front burner, you will enjoy creating on a cooktop designed with the cook in mind. With four burner sizes, you have a burner to fit any size pot with perfect efficiency. From the easy to clean tempered glass control panel, the full-surface grates and ergonomic chrome knobs, our attention to detail ensures years of enjoyment, convenience and style. Caldera's innovative line of cooktops have been recognized by their peers in the industry with 10 major awards including: Appliance Manufacturer's Grand Prize for Excellence in Design Kitchen and Bath Business' 1st Prize for Innovation in Cooking Equipment Appliance Design: Excellence in Design Competition (2004)
Average Customer Rating:
4.826 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Review 1 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Cathedral City, CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Super value
Posted:2/7/11
Pros: looks great five burners with excellent control, easy cleaning
Cons: none yet
"Caldera cooktop looks as good and cooks just as well as the Kitchenaids in our other homes. Highly recommend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Cooktop
Posted:6/27/11
Cons: non so far
"This is a nice looking unit. The simmer control is great. For the price you can't beat it. My previous one was more expensive and did not work as well."
Review 3 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Cooktop!
Posted:6/2/11
"Great cook top with all the features we wanted. Living at altitued in Utah, we needed the high output burners & they work very well. 18,000 btu boils water in our noodle pot in no time. 5 burners in a 30" cook top is a real plus! Easy to clean, full coverage burner greats make sliding pans from one burner to the other easy.
Quality control is an issue though! Our right front burner start switch was defective out of the box. burner controls hang up because they missaligned in their holes, so they keep sparking after you let go. warranty support was great thought & they sent out appliance repair right away & fixed everything. The little rubber knubs that support the greats come out easily especially when they're hot so be watch out when cleaning. We must be careful not to loose them. I like the look much better than the Bosch & others. Yes I'd recommend this one!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
great purchase
Posted:5/26/11
"Cooktop works & looks great wit the 5 burner for the person who has a big family dinner to cook"
Review 5 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Powerful
Posted:5/23/11
Pros: function and appearance
"This stove is powerful, clean, and works well with our kitchen."
Review 6 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Awesome
Posted:5/3/11
"It has beauty, power and 5 burners ! Everything one could ever want. Awesome Product. Euro Chef personel is also the best. When I first had the unit installed two of the burners were not working. I called Euro Chef in NY and they send someone out to fix it the next day and I didn't even have my Warranty papers yet from AJ Madison. This was truly an awesome purchase."
Review 7 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
VALUE PACKED
Posted:4/7/11
Pros: the reignition feature realy works
Cons: i have one grate that is warped calling vendor
"CAN'T BEAT AT THIS PRICE LOVE THE FEATURES. REPLACED A OLD ELECTRIC COOK TOP WAS EASY TO INSTALL AS I ALREADY HAD THE GAS PIPES IN PLACE"
Review 8 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Ridgewood, NJ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Value
Posted:3/29/11
Pros: high power, good fit and finish, amazing value
Cons: those silly little rubber feet at the bottom of, grates fall out easily and one was missing., fixed with some aluminum foil...
"I've only now used the Caldera cooktop for a couple of weeks, but I am pleasantly surprised by its performance and quality relative to its price. All other cooktops with anywhere near as much power cost twice as much, so I took a chance on this unknown brand and so far feel like it was the right choice. As many reviewers mentioned, the little rubber feet at the bottom of the grates fall out and one of mine was missing, but I just used a bit of aluminum foil to address that. The power of the burners is really quite astounding. It is making me reconsider planning to purchase a Blue Star range for its even higher-powered burners because I'm finding that the single 17K burner on this cooktop is more powerful than I generally need. I really only use it for boiling water and cooking steaks on a cast iron pan. Otherwise, it is just too much flame.
The fit and finish on the cooktop is also pretty nice. The handles are machined aluminum (I think) that have a good feel, though are a little oddly shaped. The stainless steel finish is decent and the grates are solid. Overall, the quality does not seem to be lacking, especially for how much cheaper it is then everything else comparable. Definitely worth a consideration."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Extremely Satisfied
Posted:3/7/11
"I am not a review writer, but after the purchase of this item from locating it on-line, calling and placing order, to delivery and then installation, I have to rate the entire proscess as excellent. I was told it would take about 7-10 days for delivery and it took exactly 7 days. With this cook top I ended up saving around $750 compared to the other one I was looking at at Lowe's and I don't see any way that I could be any more satisfied than I am with my purchase. I definitely recommend this company and this product! *****"
Review 10 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Power
Posted:2/15/11
Pros: power, 5 burners
Cons: none
"I have only had the cooktop for a couple of weeks but so far I am very happy. I has more power than the more expensive cooktops and 5 burners. The grates cover almost the whole thing, except where the knobs are. So far very happy."
Review 11 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Cooktop!
Posted:2/11/11
Pros: great looking well designed
Cons: haven't found any significant cons after 1 month
"Cooktop looks and works perfectly. Couldn't be more pleased. I was initially skeptical since I was not familiar with the brand. However after reading reviews here and reseaching the company, we decided to order it and it paid off. My only concern once we had the cooktop, was that the little plastic feet that go up underneath the grates to hold it in place and not scratch the stainless surface do fall out when you remove them for cleaning, but after calling the company, and found out that super glue was okay to use to secure them - all's perfect. I asked to purchase an extra package of feet just in case I loose a few down the road, but they said they wouldn't charge me for them. WOW, now that's customer service you don't often see anymore. SUPER HAPPY WITH THE COOKTOP!! Do expect to wait a couple weeks + due to AJMadison's shipper, but it was worth the wait."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Happy customer
Posted:2/5/11
"The cook top simple surpasses every expectation, it's efficient burner arrangement is better then what you typically see."
Review 13 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent product
Posted:2/3/11
"Everything is as advertised very pleased fast shipping"
Review 14 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Fredericksburg, VA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
A bargain, thus far
Posted:1/26/11
Pros: easy installed sturdy looks and works great., delivery was fast helpful. the 5 burners are not, crowded and h20 boiled in no time.
Cons: none thus far.
"I ordered this after seeing ads from the big-box cos that had this cooktop priced at up to double what I paid. I noted that negative responses to this cooktop were dated 2005 to 2007. So I took a chance based on the current reviews, which were excellent. I ordered it by phone and it was here in VA in 2 days! The delivery man helped me open and empty the box, and every part was there (I believe--there was no installation booklet, the only oversight, and no warranty card, which the usage booklet that was included said to fill out and mail in--but you can do it online, the booklet said).
The range installed typically and easily. The thing looks great! My wife's out of town and I told her by phone that if we should sell the house, the cooktop will be a great feature. It looks so professional and the heat generated is huge, and adjusts down so low that with lots of lights on you can hardly see the lowest flames. Very very impressive. The cast iron burner grates and the knobs look like what you get with the much much higher priced ranges. Obviously, I'm pleased as punch."
Review 15 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Symsonia, KY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Love it!
Posted:1/12/11
Pros: exactly as described
Cons: none so far!
"I love my Caldera Stove it is awesome, I would recomend this to anyone. There was something missing in our box but called the manufacture and they mailed out what I needed that day! Very nice!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Very Good Product
Posted:1/5/11
Pros: attractive, nice heavy knobs and grates, easy installation
Cons: cited above
"The stove is very attractive and a good value. The delivery was timely and the delivery people opened the box and inspected the item before they left.
Con: The flame from the large burner on front may be a little too strong. There appears to be burn marks on the side of the stainless body where the flame shoots out to the right. Also the lowest setting on that burner it a little too high. It may be a matter of reducing the gas line flow.
Not sure I like the glass face under the knobs. There was a small scratch when I received it, and I'm not sure how that will wear over time."
Review 17 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
great looking cooktop
Posted:1/5/11
Pros: great looks powerful burners
Cons: rubber feet on grids tend to come off
"industrial look with great selection of burners. Only problem are the rubber feet attached to grids."
Review 18 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Boston
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Get This Cooktop While You Can
Posted:1/5/11
Pros: price is unbeatable. quality compares to high end., solid metal knobs. excellent grid layout., high btu's.
Cons: no 'on' light indicator for burners. some cooktops, have a red or blue light that glows under or next, to each burner knob - which i think is a good, feature to have....but not a deal breaker
"I have not yet installed my new cooktop so cannot comment on performance. My performance rating was based on reviews by others. I bought this unit after reading many reviews written by people who have it and love its performance. I even emailed a couple of the reviewers and they couldn't speak highly enough about it. I can comment on this though: Shipping was quick; item was well packaged and arrived undamaged; the look of the unit is top notch and compares to other cooktops costing 3 times as much; and I have talked to the NY based company that reassured me they have replacment parts and will service the product if needed....however most owners say that the unit is so straightforward that any service tech could repair it if the need arose. Buying this unit at such a great price allowed us to buy an easily accessible wall oven that we won't have to bend down for and a cooktop for the same price we would have paid for a gas range. If you have been shopping, you know that a wall oven & cooktop combination will usually cost significantly more than a range. I recommend this model with knobs as opposed to the 36" model with the electronic panel and I believe there is a limited supply of the knob models left. Note: the knobs are made of solid metal, not plastic or a thin coat of metalic paint over plastic which many cooktops at 3-4 times the price now have....and which melt, break, or get damaged by heat. Note: The picture shown on this page is NOT what the 30" model looks like. The picture is of the 36" model. On the 30" model the large center back burner is narrower. Not square. More a rectangle. But those who have the 30" say it looks and cooks like a 36" model and the btu's are exactly the same on both."
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Caldera
Posted:12/29/10
"Very nice cooktop and a great value. A lot more power than I'm used to. The 5 burners are a bit crowded on the 30 inch, but the continuous grates makes it easy to deal with. Had a good purchasing experience with AJ Madison."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Caldera Sealed Burner Gas Cooktop CASSK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
greatbuy
Posted:9/12/10
"After researching for several weeks, decided on the Caldera 30inch. It was all that was represented and more. The purchase experience from AJ Madison was excellent and the price was right.
The apperarance is nice. The power of this unit is awesome. Went from electric to gas, so the adjustment has been surprisingly pleasent.
Would recommend this product highly"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.