AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Under Cabinet Mount Hoods or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130

The AP1 series is part of BROAN's newest pro-style under-cabinet hood collection, uniting stylish appearance with tremendous value. The deep 9 in. height provides excellent capture of cooking grease and odor, whether vented to the exterior, or installed to recirculate air through optional charcoal filters. Optional non-duct re-circulation kit available with charcoal filters sold separately. Why Kitchens Need Ventilation. Fresh salmon fillets are reason enough. But that's really just a start. Because cooking smoke and greasy build-up are more than unpleasant. They're unhealthy. In fact, cooking churns out airborne contaminants like nothing else in the home can. This concentration of contaminants requires effective ventilation. That's where Broan comes in. As the residential ventilation leader, Broan offers more range hood kitchen ventilating solutions than anyone. From high-performance ducted models, to the most effective non-ducted units ever made. And they're all built to Broan's demanding quality standards. So you can count on them to help keep your kitchen cleaner for years to come. Built-in lighting means you can count on your Broan range hood to keep your kitchen brighter. Some units even include a convenient nightlight feature. There really is a difference with Broan. It's in the details.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 16(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Review 1 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Romeo, MI
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
better than the picture !
Posted:11/25/13
Pros: price durable looks nice
Cons: does not come with lights for some reason
"First one came dented, customer service was excellent !!They sent another one very quickly. Looks GREAT !
Customer service and the delivery company was perfect !!!
Service like this now a days is rare so I had to write when they went above and beyond to make things right.
Vent hood is very nice. Does not look cheap at all.
"
Review 2 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Oswego, NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Perfect addition to our new stove!
Posted:7/22/13
Pros: looks great works great.
Cons: did not come with light bulbs.
"This hood looks great AND performs great. So glad we looked online and found it. Great price for what you get. Looks so much better over the stove than a microwave. Just be sure to buy the lightbulbs before you need to actually use them. I thought they came with the hood but they don't. Once my husband installed it i was excited to see the lights turned on but i had to wait until the next day when i could get the bulbs. Looks beautiful. Great lighting."
Review 3 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Great value
Posted:8/23/11
Pros: good size easy install
Cons: none
"I needed a big fan because I can and cook from scratch for eight people daily. This fan is all I'd hoped it would be and for less than the biggest fans in the stores! I am very pleased."
Review 4 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Happy Vent Hood
Posted:7/27/11
Pros: looks and works great
Cons: on high it is noisy
"I love to cook and fry and for ever had the microwave hood that never worked well enough. Now we finally have a proper vent hood and it works just great!
If you you sent the fan on high it does make noise but set at minimum it is quiet as a mouse."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Broan AP130, recent install
Posted:3/21/11
Pros: installation, infinte fan control, very bright lighting
Cons: having to purchase the halogen lamps seperately, installation; ducting not broan's prob though
"I just installed by Broan AP130 hood and I'm incredibly happy with the hood itself and its features.
The mounting screw locations are easy to get to when the hood is suspended under the cabinet prior to tightening them down and the wiring is easy to hook up. You do have to take off quite a bit of shrouding around the wiring in order to expose it though, which is a bit annoying. Also, I thought the decision to not provide a safe wire conduit through the back of the hood was a bit cheap. Finding the one pictured in the manual wasn't easy, especially since the wire outlet sits flush with the wall where the wiring comes out of the hood. I rigged up a cheapo one by taping some wiring bushings into the hole.
The only really difficult part, and I can't blame Broan for this, is getting the duct adapters for the exhaust to all play nice and fit together easily. This is more a flaw with housing designs and lack of access to the vertical duct work where it meets the hood.
Once I got it all hung, I couldn't be happier. The two halogen lights are really nice and bright! My food looks completely different fully illuminated on the cook top."
Review 6 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Stainless hood
Posted:9/6/10
"The product was exactly as described and delivery time was quick."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Hood
Posted:5/15/10
"For the money you would think it would be easier to get to the knobs to turn on and off. A redesign would not hurt the product,"
Review 8 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
AP130 with Recirc Kit
Posted:5/5/10
Pros: all around aesthetically pleasing!, quiet!, adjustable fan speed settings., affordably priced
Cons: hot light bulbs too close to buttonry. ouch!, more cfm needed for 4 burner 60k btu cooking.
"A very quiet Range Hood making cooking in the kitchen a conversation friendly environment. Makes our new kitchen shine will excellence. Had it professionally installed over a Heavy Duty NXR Gas Range with 15,000 BTU's per burner. Works Terrfic! Buttonry hidden up and under with adjustable Fan knob and separate on/off switch allowing for customized setup. Coupled with 3-setting knob for the lights. Recirc Vent, for me, adds dimension to the look. Only regret is not enough CFM's for full spread applications. Burnt some corn on the cob to a crisp, took 3 days for popcorn smell to disseminate. Guess that's a lot to ask for any Range hood to deal with. Overall a Great Value!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Printer/Fax/Scanner
Posted:4/26/10
Pros: fax good print quality wireless printing
Cons: terrible manual clunky software
"Good product, easy fairly easy setup if you have the printer plugged directly into your computer. Manual is worthless. AJ Madison staff were helpful."
2 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great buy
Posted:10/16/09
"The product functions like it's supposed to. We've done some cooking so far and the range hood got rid of the smell very quickly."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Rayland, Ohio
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Better than I could imagine
Posted:4/10/09
Pros: very easy to install works & looks great
Cons: should have bought it sooner
"I got the Broan AP1 Series AP130, It was very easy to install. My wife loves the look, now when she cooks there is no odor in the house. Yhe exhaust is great......."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
great product
Posted:1/22/09
"great product and great shipping... as expected. Cost was a bit high (considering we could have put in an over-range microwave) but it adds a level of sophistication to our kitchen."
Review 13 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
nice kitchen vent
Posted:1/8/09
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: value
Cons: motor is alittle bit noisybut its ok.
"i got this kitchen vent on time and it take me and my father 5 hours to install and the ducting, and it came out real nice,the motor is powerful enough to suck those smell out.i made some addition, to cover the duct, i purchase a stainless steel chimney cover to have a nice look."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Best deal for your dollar
Posted:1/7/09
Pros: looks great easy to install.
Cons: none it is what it is.
"This is a great looking piece for my kitchen without breaking the bank. Works well, not for full time cooks. Easy to install, but a little tricky to put filters in. Does not come with lights. I added the non- circ piece which adds 2 inches. Looks very professional for someone who is not."
Review 15 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Big bang for the buck
Posted:11/17/08
Pros: effective price appearance
"For pure performance, this hood gave the highest CFM in the market place, including some that were a couple hundred more expensive. This replaced a recirculating hood and I vented this to the outside. It is very attractive looking and does well with both the lighting and the fan. Some may feel it is a bit loud but I am so pleased with how effectively it removes odors while cooking. It also was easy to install the unit itself and even venting it through my roof was not as difficult as I imagined"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Broan 30" Canopy Pro Style Range Hood AP130
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Great looking, but noisy
Posted:9/29/08
Pros: great looking
Cons: very noisy
"The appearance of this hood is very professional. Lighting is good. I have the ductless installation. The exhaust seems very strong. However, the noise level is very loud. Very little difference between the lowest and highest speed. Could be a problem in an open concept environment."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.