AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Grills or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100

The registered brand of Duncane has started to lead in the area of gas grills in the past 30 years. It is actually a division of Weber-Stephen Products Company, which happens to be an exporter and manufacturer of gas and charcoal grills, their accessories, and many products for the outdoors. The Weber-Stephen company has been in existence since 1893 and has been making the brand Duncane for only 30 years. Palatine, Illinois is where their headquarters are located. Ducane grills have the same revered qualities of other Weber-Stephen products such as: Quality Control Distribution Customer Service Excellent Engineering Ducane Affinity Series Designed to satisfy the needs of avid grillers, this exciting lineup of 3 and 4-burner models offer generous primary cooking surfaces and large side tables.
Average Customer Rating:
4.739 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Review 1 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Good grill
Posted:11/29/11
Pros: easy to maintain temperature cooks evenly, minimum flare ups
Cons: electric starter works when it wants to
"I purchased the Ducane 4100 and have been cooking on it approximately 2 times per week for the last two months and have only encountered one problem. The electric starter works when it wants to. Since ALL of the grills I've owned with electric starter usually work for about a month or two before they quit entirely, this is not a big surprise or issue. Other than that, the grill has performed flawlessly. It's easy to assemble and cooks evenly. What more could you ask for from a basic gas grill? Bottom line; I've really enjoyed the grill to this point. Happy grilling!"
Review 2 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Orange, CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Overall, LOVE this BBQ
Posted:9/3/11
Pros: everything - this is a great bbq for the $$$
Cons: 1st burner won't light??
"I've had the BBQ for a month now, so I felt I could give a well rounded review. Delivery just dropped the box off in my back yard - it's a very heavy box. I can't remember exactly how long it took me to build it, maybe a hour? I had my wife help me put the grill on the actual stand, but other than that, I did it alone. Directions were very easy to follow.
BBQ burns great - we've used it probably 8 times in the last month, and this BBQ burns so evenly, I actually under cooked the meat each of the first 4 times. I'm so used to the BBQ burning the food if you leave it on too long. I love this thing - and it is an absolute beauty.
I also purchased the black cover, the $44 dollar one, and I suggest you do as well. It is a very well made cover, it's not flimsy at all.
I do have one issue with the BBQ though - the 1st burner (it has 4) doesn't ignite. All the others do, and I've tried unplugging the igniter switch for that 1 burner and plugging back in, but it hasn't fixed the issue. So I end up lighting the other 3, then closing the lid so the propane then ignites the first burner. That's the only negative - but I still love this. I should call Madison, but knowing they're in NY, I'm not sure what they can do???"
Review 3 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Ducane 4100 grill
Posted:8/21/11
"Made by Weber. As good as Weber model for about 1/2 the price. Prompt shipping."
Review 4 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Best grill for the money
Posted:7/19/11
"We are die hard charcoal folks but my husband wanted to try a gas grill. After much research this one kept popping up. AJ Madison was extremely helpful and delivery was "white glove" service. Put it together in 1.5 hrs and the instructions were very clear. Retains heat well and is a breeze to use. Very pleased that Ducane is owned by weber too! Love it!!"
Review 5 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Love the Ducane!
Posted:7/4/11
Pros: solid construction the bigger wheels are nice, easy to use 4 burner controls are awesome
Cons: none
"I did some research before buying and am really glad I did. This grill really does heat up in 10 minutes and cooks very well- from hot dogs to filet mignon.
I was very busy and could not wait to get it fired up, so I had someone put it together for me. When he brought it back, he told me a story of how he had spent several months working for a place doing nothing but putting together grills. So when he told me he was very impressed with the thick metal used in the grill and how sturdy/steady it is after assembly, I was even more pleased with my choice.
Shipping was pretty darn quick although I did receive an e-mail that said my order would ship in one to two weeks. Based on the great price I got from AJM, I was more than willing to wait. Luckily I did not have to.
"
Review 6 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:New Bern, NC
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great grill!
Posted:6/16/11
Pros: quality construction/packaging ease of assembly
Cons: none
"Well made and extremely well packaged. Assembly instructions (pictures) were well done and easily followed. Completed the assembly in about 2 hours and fired it up--after 10 - 12 minutes, the temp gauge was pegged. This grill definitely will get hot!
A couple of notes: (1) the battery used for the electronic ignition is installed in the push-button ignition switch--it's not readily apparent how the push button is removed--it unscrews. (2) The major parts were identified with stick-on lables... I recommend using "Goo Gone" for removing the sticky residue that's left after you peel the labels off.
Only negative comment would be the shipping time--took about 12 days from the date of the order until it finally arrived.
I've had it for a month now... use it 2 - 3 times weekly. It's a pleasure to operate and grill on."
Review 7 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
GRILL
Posted:6/1/11
"EXCELLENT EXCELLENT SERVICE ON A HIGH QUALITY ITEM."
Review 8 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Posted:5/31/11
Pros: easy to assemble and use.
Cons: none
"Very good BBQ. It is worth to buy. Delivery takes a little time.
Assembly is not too complicated. I would recommend this grill.
"
Review 9 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Very Satisfactory Grill
Posted:5/12/11
Pros: price, size of cooking surface, easy to regulate heat
Cons: hood could be heavier, delivery issues
"We were shopping for a replacement for our old faithful Ducane grill. We're not into bells and whistles, just wanted a large surface grill that provided uniform heat.
This grill is not as sturdily constructed as its predecessor, but it does a good job with cooking a variety of meats, even those that are still partially frozen, since its heat is easily regulated. At its price point, I'd say it was a very good buy.
Delivery was a real issue. Our driveway is extremely long and climbing, but we have never had a delivery refused before. My husband had to drive the tractor with wagon attachment down the drive to accept the grill."
Review 10 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Norfolk, MA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Solid Grill
Posted:5/11/11
Pros: grill top height is good for taller grillers, assembly is straightforward, individual igniter for each burner, delivery made easy by periodic notification
"I moved up from a 2 burner to this 4 burner grill and am glad I chose the Ducane and not some over marketed high priced grill. With 4 burners turned on to warm it up, it got to 550 degrees under grill top in about 5 mins. That's fast.
I assembled it myself in approx 2 1/2 hours. You'll need 2 people to lift the top onto the stand but that will take 5 minutes to secure once it is in place. All pieces fit together easily but be prepared to use a little elbow grease in some areas. It feels very solid once all parts are tightened. Do not forget the washers. They play a big role in making if feel solid and of good quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Grill!
Posted:5/11/11
Pros: big cooking area, able to control the heat, lots of non-cooking area to place place etc
Cons: non so far
"2 things: First working with AJ Madison was great. communication was great both online and person to person. Will be the first place i go when purchasing an appliance just for their great customer service. Cant beat it being delivered to your front door !
The grill was a great purchase for the price. I was looking at lesser equipped grills that were significantly more dollars even with the shipping. Putting it together was a snap. Grill cooks evenly and i havent has any problems with it at all."
Review 12 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
awesome
Posted:5/6/11
Pros: good size and easy to use and easy to put together
Cons: none yet
"After searching for a new grill for a couple months I came across the Ducane 4100 and and after looking into
the brand name and other aspects of the grill I decided to give it a try which was the best thing I did there were a lot of parts but it only took about 2 and a half hours to assemble and everything fit perfectly we have used the grill almost every day since we bought it :)
"
Review 13 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great purchase
Posted:4/12/11
"The grill looks excellent, and we are very happy with it. Keep in mind we have only owned the product for a month."
Review 14 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Q
Posted:4/7/11
"should have purchased this BBQ last year. Easy to assemble, easier to use."
Review 15 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Best grills in the world
Posted:4/4/11
Pros: best bang for your buck great quality grill
Cons: none
"I have been a Ducane user user for over 15 years. I got concerned when they got bought out by Weber but rest assured this is still the best quality at the best price out there. It has great large cooking surface cooks evenly through the entire surface easy to put together I have look at all grills and money was not the issue up to $2,000 and I still came back to a Ducane grill. By the way the AJ guys have the best price stop looking further and buy this grill from these guys. Happy grilling"
Review 16 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Toooooo Easy!
Posted:10/12/10
Pros: everything is a pro
Cons: no cons - would do it the same way again
"My husband wanted this BBQ for his BD and we couldn't find it in our area. He found this website and it was the same price it would of been if we would of bought it here. He ordered it and within 3-5 days we had a call telling us they would deliver it the next day. The delivery guys were great. They brought it up our hill and put it where we asked them to put it. Two hours later it was put together and ready to roll. It's is much hotter and more efficient than the Ducane we bought 15 years ago and we loved that one."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Awesome Grill
Posted:7/20/10
Pros: quality construction ease of use
Cons: none
"Very well built and designed grill. Easy to assemble and operate. Arrived with damage to the warming rack from the shipper, I contacted Ducane and they immediatlely shipped a replacement at no cost. Highly recommended."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Colorado
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent BBQ
Posted:6/13/10
Pros: easy to put together
Cons: poor instructions
"ASSEMBLY INSTRUCTIONS OF THE DUCANE AFFINITY 3100 / 4100
This unit was Made in China, and all the assembly points were spot on, thanks to the engineers and computer control stamping, punching of the metal and welding. The packaging was great I did not have any scratches on any of the painted panels.
PLAN FOR 2 HOURS FOR THE ASSEMBLY, PLUS A RUN TO THE HARDWARE STORE FOR THE GAS CONNECTION FITTING(S) AND PIPE NIPPLES.
Recommended tools needed:
Box cutter
Medium size Phillips screwdriver
Ratchet socket wrench size 7/16”
Ratchet socket wrench size 7mm or an equal fraction size
Ratchet socket wrench extension between 6” and 9” long
Scissors
8” or 10” Pipe wrench
Adjustable Channel Lock style wrench
Metal blade putty knife
Teflon Thread Seal Tape
Solvent to remove the adhesive from the labels. Ducane should use vinyl labels
READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!!!!! – get familiar with the items relative to the assembly steps.
After opening the box, I laid out all the boxes on the patio and used the patio table for some of the assembly.
Locate and open Box 4B. This box has all the fasteners, plus the gas knobs. Lay out and verify the fasteners against the list on Page 8. The 4 stainless steel screws are for the tables at the front of the grill.
STEP 1 – PAGE 10
2 Casters are fixed and 2 are swivel style. Make sure the swivel casters are installed at the notched ends of the pan. Use the 7mm socket wrench for installation.
STEP 2 – PAGE 10
Pre assemble the Phillips head screws with the black washers. Left Panel installation.
STEP 3 – PAGE 11
Pre assemble the Phillips head screws with the black washers. Right Panel installation.
STEP 4 – PAGE 11
Pre assemble the Phillips head screws with the black washers.
Panels A & B fit with the face to the inside of Panels L & R.
STEP 5 – PAGE 12
Pre assemble the Phillips head screws with the black washers.
Panel D fits with the face to the inside of Panels L & R with the center metal lip up.
STEP 6 – PAGE 12
Pre assemble the Phillips head screws with the black washers.
Slip back panel into frame. Be sure to have the round hole in the lower right location.
STEP 7 – PAGE 13
YES THIS IS A 2 PERSON OPERATION.
Be sure to have the gas hose in the cabinet before lowering the grill section.
Remove all the packing inside, plus the stainless steel grills, and remove the advertising pages.
STEP 8 – PAGE 13
Pre assemble the Phillips head screws with the black washers.
This is the location to use the 7/16” socket with the extension.
STEP 9 – PAGE 13
Pre assemble the Phillips head screws with the black washers.
BOX 4B. This is the Heat Shield and Grease tray. Be sure the shield catches on the support lip on the back panel.
STEP 10 – PAGE 14
Pre assemble the Phillips head screws with the black washers.
STEP 11 – PAGE 14
Pre assemble the Phillips head screws with the black washers.
I used the metal blade putty knife rather than the blade style screw driver.
STEP 12 – PAGE 15
Install the metal grease pan with the custom WEBER aluminum pan liner, or in the future double aluminum foil.
Match holder on the door. See Page 23 for instructions.
STEP 13 – PAGE 15
Remove advertising materials from the stainless steel grills, packing materials and yellow tape.
Place the 3 or 4 heat distribution plates.
STEP 14 – PAGE 16
Replace the stainless steel grills.
STEP 15 – PAGE 16
Install the warming tray
STEP 16 – PAGE 16
Install the Right table. Use the 7/16” socket to tighten the bolts to the frame.
STEP 17 – PAGE 16
Pre assemble the 4 stainless steel Phillips head screws with the black washers.
STEP 18 – PAGE 17
Install accessories hook.
STEP 19 – PAGE 17
Install the Left table. Use the 7/16” socket to tighten the bolts to the frame.
STEP 20 – PAGE 17
Pre assemble the 4 stainless steel Phillips head screws with the black washers.
STEP 21 – PAGE 18
Connect 3 or 4 wires to the ignition box.
STEP 22 – PAGE 18
Remove rubber boot and install the AA battery. Over time these rubber boots will crack and break. I purchased the vinyl cover with a fleece backing, which is high quality. This will protect the rubber boot and the grill in general from the weather elements.
STEP 23 – PAGE 18
Install the grill gas knobs
STEP 24 – PAGE 18
Cut the string holding the natural gas hose. Place the hose through the hole in the lower right hand corner of the back panel.
GAS CONNECTION:
See page 20.
You made need as I did a reducer fitting from ½” to 3/8” to connect to the quick disconnect fitting provided.
This is where you may need the following tools.
8” or 10” Pipe wrench
Adjustable Channel Lock style wrench
Teflon Thread Seal Tape
Check the gas connections with a liquid dish soap solution for any leaks.
A LAST TURN ON THE GRILL WITH ALL THE BURNERS ON HIGH FOR 5 MINUTES, AS A TEST. MY UNIT ACCORDING TO THE THERMOMERTER READ 520 F.
GOOD COOKING."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:St. Louis, MO
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Just Fabulous
Posted:5/20/10
Pros: brand you can trust design grill space.
Cons: none that i know of!
"Like everyone reading this, I needed a new grill. My friends call me the 'internet research queen'. Staying true to that, I researched the heck out of grills. I knew I didn't want a 5th burner, since I (and most folks I know) don't even use it...would rather have the extra 'counter space' on my grill. Ducane was the brand that was very consistent in durability (high priority for me). I also wanted a 'quick-connect' gas grill, so as to no longer have to deal with propane tanks running out, having to lug those heavy tanks back to the store to pick up a new one, etc. I did pay the gas company a chunk-o-change to run the gas line outside for the quick-connect that I was going to buy, but that was an improvement to my residence, so the investment was worth it. This particular Ducane, the 4100 freestanding, is very attractive. Although taking about 2 hours to put together, it was not difficult, if you just took one step at a time in the manual. It is a very attractive grill, ample cooking area, and I love it! The optional grill covered offered with it was worth a little extra. It's a heavy material that won't tear easily, and has velcro straps on the side for a snug fit (much better than the drawstring or elastic bottoms of grill covers that I've had before). I love this grill so much that I actually bought it for a friend, who has helped me out so much in life. His grill was way past needing to be replaced, but, being a single father with 4 kids, couldn't justify spending any money on himself. He was blown away by it...He grills much more than I do, and knew that Ducane was a brand that would last for a long time to come. Once I knew that I wanted the Ducane Freestanding 4100 Grill, the next thing I researched was where I could find it for the best price. AJ Madison had the best price and availability (many places had the grill on backorder). The people I spoke to on the phone were courteous and very helpful. Great company."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 4100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Best grill around!
Posted:5/17/10
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have had many grills over the years and this one for the price, performance. and look is more than you could ask for. It really sets off a deck and I grill about 3 to 5 times a week."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.