AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Grills or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100

The registered brand of Duncane has started to lead in the area of gas grills in the past 30 years. It is actually a division of Weber-Stephen Products Company, which happens to be an exporter and manufacturer of gas and charcoal grills, their accessories, and many products for the outdoors. The Weber-Stephen company has been in existence since 1893 and has been making the brand Duncane for only 30 years. Palatine, Illinois is where their headquarters are located. Ducane grills have the same revered qualities of other Weber-Stephen products such as: Quality Control Distribution Customer Service Excellent Engineering Ducane Affinity Series Designed to satisfy the needs of avid grillers, this exciting lineup of 3 and 4-burner models offer generous primary cooking surfaces and large side tables.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Review 1 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Value for Money Gas Grill
Posted:5/23/11
Pros: basicsolid build qualityheats up fastcooks even
Cons: flame tamers will rust out fastit's a weber, product so be prepared to get gouged on parts
"We have had our Ducane 3100 for a little over a year now. It's at our beach house so it is exposed to the salt air, dampness and wind driven rain(and snow)routinely. We keep it covered though. It really is a great,simple performer. It does what you want a grill to do and does it well. It gets hot fast and cooks evenly. No fancy sear or infra red burners or side burner, just a solid,basic gas grill.
AJ Madison is great. This grill is not easy to come by but AJ Madison has them for a great price. We have the natural gas model and it has been great not having to guesstimate when the tank has to be refilled or worse yet, run out of propane in the middle of cooking a great meal.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Silt, Colorado
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
great gas grill & good price
Posted:4/3/11
Pros: even cooking & working parts
Cons: none
"We purchased the Ducane 31732101 12 months ago and have been very pleased with its performance. It provides even cooking and the starter button actually works! We slow grilled a 16 lb brisket that turned out delicious. We have recommended this grill and website to others. Great service."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:indiana
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
good
Posted:4/26/12
"It cooks really good. It is a little over priced but we wanted a natural gas grill and this one could be ordered online so we went with it."
Review 4 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great experience
Posted:1/4/12
"Excellant alternative to more expensive Weber, with equal performance"
Review 5 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Shalimar in North West Florida.
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
Best dollar value
Posted:8/24/11
Pros: the grill exceeded my expectations.
Cons: another set of utensil hooks for the other side, would be helpful.
"I was very impressed with the quality of construction of the Ducane Grill 3100. I completely assembled the grill myself & found all parts to be made of quality materials & well engineered. It is connected to my natural gas line. The hose that came with the grill was well routed & its length satisfactory. I bought it mainly to cook on in the event of a hurricane although I plan to use it often. I obtained the model & phone number on the web site & was pleased with the phone ordering and delivery service Of A j Madison. I'm glad I ordered it direct & not through a local dealer. P.S. I highly recommend buying the cover for fit & material quality."
Review 6 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Good Deal!
Posted:7/9/11
Pros: well made
Cons: a little pricey but well worth the extra $$.
"The Ducane 3100 Grill is great! It is well constructed and is just as good as a Weber gas grill. I purchased my grill from A.J. Madison who was selling them thru Amazon.com. The only issue I had was with the company they used for delivery of the grill. They wanted to leave it at the end of my driveway, because they said it was to heavy to dolly it up to my porch. When I opened the box I found that the grill hood was damaged. When I called A.J. Madison about the damaged hood, they got a new one two me within 3 weeks."
Review 7 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Best Grill I ever bought
Posted:7/6/11
"Very happy with this grill. I have purchased many cheaper grills in the past, none can measure up to this."
Review 8 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Ducane 3100
Posted:3/29/11
Pros: cooks fast
Cons: none
"Excellent Grill,heats up fast and cooks the same.Eay to put together with little instructions.Temp Gauge very accurate and easy to clean and gain access to all the cleanable parts."
Review 9 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
best grill for the money
Posted:12/24/10
"Great grill. Has enough heat for fast steaks. Heats evenly."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Eat my Steak
Posted:7/27/10
Pros: looks like it will last
Cons: a little pricey
"When you are spending your good money for a good steak it is a crime to cook it inside. Now that I have a gas grill where can a throw my charcoal."
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Very pleased
Posted:7/23/10
Pros: looks great easy to assemble built very well and, alot cheaper than a weber
Cons: none so far
"After a very long search I chose this Ducane. I had a Sunbeam Grillmaster for 14 years and it finally needed replacing. Everything about this grill is great. It was really easy to follow the instructions to assemble. You really have to look close at the screws because they look alike in the diagrams. Grill heats up fast and is working great."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
gets the job done
Posted:7/12/10
Pros: nice quality especially for price
Cons: no frills
"doesn't have the frills (rotiserrie & side burner which we rarely used on the last one), but grills very evenly without flare ups and was easy to put together - my wife and 14 yr old daughter put it together for me on Father's day in about an hour - looks great"
Review 13 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
excellent value
Posted:5/26/10
"Before assembling, make careful note not only of the length of the screws but also the different tops of the screws which will help identification when assembling.
Grill (natural gas) heats super fast and cooks evenly. Cleaning it looks easy (haven't done it yet). Best of all, the grill replaced my old Thermador, for which I had paid major bucks, and easily outperforms it.
"
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Excellent purchase
Posted:5/21/10
"Excellent product! Ihave used it to grill a steak, grill salmon, barbecue chicken and barbecue baby back ribs. It has operated supurbly on high broiling heat and low, slow cooking barbecue temps.
Assembly Instructions could be better written---particularly pictures of some of the parts and description of sizes and use of various bolts and screws."
Review 15 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Reno
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great purchase
Posted:5/6/10
"Love this grill. Have only used it twice so far but seems to do the trick. Doesn't burn, seems to cook even and heats up fast. Being a female in mid 50's didn't find it to hard to put together took a couple of hours by my self. Only thing I couldn't figure out was a chain that attached to the inside of the door. Finally figured it out, an attached match holder, for lighting with a match"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
3100 Ducane
Posted:1/25/10
"Best $299 bbq you can buy. Cooks just like my more expensive Weber. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
it is what it is
Posted:1/15/10
"Just arrived and put it together. The grates on the grill stink. They are very wide and a hot dog could fall through. It also has no indicator on how much gas is in the tank. It’s going to work but wish I purchased a different grill."
0 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Gas Grill
Posted:11/30/09
"Other than manufacturer packaging wrong rear panel (which was sent quickly) the gas grill was a great buy and extra quick delivery by A.J. Madison"
Review 19 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
What a great value
Posted:10/27/09
Pros: ease of operation and assembly
Cons: grills could be wider
"This Ducane grill is a great great value. It's just like the Weber's costing 100-200 more but at this price it couldn't be beat. It was easy to put together even for me and I'm not very handy. The only thing I would change would be the frills I would make them a little wider.
But It works great, looks great, and the food tastes great! Oh and finally a barbecue where the igniter actually works!
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ducane Freestanding Barbecue Grill 3100
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great value
Posted:7/29/09
Pros: easy to put together
Cons: none
"easy to put together; no surprises. easy to operate and control heat. metal extensions telegraph some heat from the grill but not a problem."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.