AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Trash Compactors or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX

Fully Integrated Trash Compactor with 3000 lbs. Compacting Force, 1.55 cu. ft. Capacity, 1/2 HP Motor, 6:1 Compact Ratio, 6 Month Manual Advance Odor Control System and Full Extension Drawer
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 of 12(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX
Review 1 for Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:GOSHEN, NY
Owned Product:Over 3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
22 Years of great service
Posted:10/14/10
Pros: excellent machine. crushes just about anything!!!
Cons: none that i can think of!
" We built our home new 22 yrs ago. Our Broan compactor took a beating through the years. We make garbage like crazy! 4 Kids, lots of company, family dinners, parties, bottles, glasses, cans...you name it. The Broan crushed it. It took a lickin' and kept on tickin'..until now! 22 years and only 1 repair later. Simply put, I am buying another Broan. Awsome machine. It is definitely worth the investment. If mine wasn't 22 yrs old, I would repair it again......love it and can't live without it!!! "
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Virigina
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
Nice Compactor
Posted:11/13/15
" We purchased the panel ready model. Very happy with the look and how well it fits with the rest of the cabinetry. Easy to operate. No issues so far. "
Review 3 for Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:CAlifornia
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
A great compactor
Posted:7/2/15
Pros: every thing about it
Cons: none
" This is a great compactor.
I highly recommend it.
Easy to lift out the bag when full, compacts to a really small amount.
Stainless steel is so easy to cleans, doesn't smear "
Review 4 for Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Ny,ny
Owned Product:0-6 months
Would Recommend: No
Buyer beware
Posted:6/26/13
Pros: none overpriced inaccessible garbage can
Cons: five steps to compact 1 item
" First, it may not be clear to you that this door must be opened from the side. The picture shows a handle on the top edge parallel to the floor as if it pulls straight out to open. This is not the case. Let me take you through compacting one item: First, after you have opened the door at least 180 degrees so it can clear the drawer, while stepping back out of the swing of the door, now you can step back in to yank the heavy drawer out, and then push it back in (it does not roll well at all). Finally step way back out of the way so you can close the door, then back in to finally compact. Easy, right?
This is an absurd design, compactors come with a foot pedal you push, the unit pops open (no hands- they are holding the garbage), you push it closed with your knee, and tap a foot pedal to compact. I would take a $20 trash bin over this unit. If you pick the custom panel option for a seamless look, you will still have to add a handle to open the unit. Just ridiculous. I am returning the unit so cannot comment on ongoing function. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Los Altos, CA
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
Dead after 24 months
Posted:1/24/13
Pros: looks nice
Cons: unreliable, two year product life max
" We bought this after a remodel--partially due to the reviews here! This unit always had problems, and needed many parts replaced. Then finally, after about 24 months of owning it and many repairs, it finally needs entirely new guts as the motor has completely failed--which costs about as much as a new one.
So now we have a $900 paperweight in our kitchen after only 2 years.
By the way, the reviewer who said they had their Broan for "20 years"? What product are you reviewing? Certainly not anything purchased here! "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Houston. Texas
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Nice for the price
Posted:11/2/12
" To toss in trash you have to open the door and pull out the basket - but for the price it works great, looks good. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Chester, VT
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: Yes
excellent
Posted:5/22/12
Pros: does what it said it would do easily
Cons: expensive bags
" We live in a rural area and have to go to the dump weekly so we wanted this to help us economize on waste bags. The compaction is so effective that what used to be a daily trip to the garage with bags of waste is now only after several days. When I go to the dump the bags seem to weigh much more!
When first connected it tripped the breaker all the time until we asked the electrician to follow instructions - now it works fine. It has tripped the breaker only once since and we are not sure why.
The bags are expensive in some places so we are experimenting with generic ones.
Once we are used to using it for trash it will be easy. At the moment I have to think which trash to put where - recycling and composting are options in our kitchen.
"
Review 8 for Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
good looks at good price
Posted:1/24/12
Pros: appearance
Cons: special order compactor bags
" So far so good. We have only had this product for a couple months so no time to break down (yet). The outside light did stop working only a couple weeks after installed but then it turned back on a couple days later. We dont know why, but hopefully that wont happen again. Also, we havent found other compactor bags to fit this so far (tried 3 kinds). So that is going to be the most frustrating having to get special order bags. You may save money at first but by the time you spend extra for special bags I am sure it adds up. Otherwise it seems to have good power and capabilities at this time "
Review 9 for Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Texas
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
new to compactors
Posted:6/25/10
Pros: reduces trips outside
Cons: pure luxury
" maybe they are all like this, however, this has been a great addition to my new kitchen. Makes 6 bags into one...love it. At first I thought each bag might be too heavy to carry, but it has not been the case thus far "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
My first Broan....
Posted:7/1/09
Pros: attractive appearance and some nice innovations
Cons: this is still in committee...i'll get back to ya'
" This is an attractive unit and installed easily. I changed the opening direction of the door very easily and slid the entire compactor into the opening in the cabinet.
When operating it is incredibly quiet. The single problem I have had is the "safety pin" pointer mounted on the door. It has to make contact with a switch but was not set correctly, requiring a bit of pressure on the door to make the contact. It is easy to remove a panel and access the switch, but there is no adjustment. I "flexed" the mount a bit and it is better, but still requires a bit of pressure on the door while the compaction is in process.
I intend to "adjust" the switch a bit more and I believe it will be fine.
The machine does have a couple of nice features....storage for extra bags, a deoderizer, and a switch to hold the ram at its maximum extension.
"
13 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Broan Compactor
Posted:6/29/09
Pros: product quality price shipping
Cons: none
" With it's larger capacity and higher compaction ration and lower price through AJ Madison, we decided on the Broan compactor over the other big brand name products. Ordering from the AJ Madison website was easy, and the product was shipped and arrived quickly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Broan compactor or AJ Madison to anyone. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Broan Elite 15" Built In Trash Compactor 15XX
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
New Broan 15SS Compactor
Posted:6/22/09
Pros: large capacity and 3000# compression rating.
Cons: in the shop already for repairs.
" Mine is currently in for warranty repair. The ram became stuck in the down position after one month of ownership. While there I am having the indicator panel replaced since the green ram position light has never worked.
Now for the good things. It is an attractive unit that has great capacity and compression. There is no problem with odor control and large/bulky items are easily swallowed inside the large trash bin. Glass jars are no match for the 3000# of ram pressure. Bags are easy to install and do not come loose and sag down.
I am hoping that we have a simple new model issue that is fixed once and forgotten. "
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.