AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Trash Compactors or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Broan Elite XE 15" Convertible Trash Compactor 15XE

Fully Integrated Trash Compactor with 3000 lbs. Compacting Force, 1.55 cu. ft. Capacity, 3/4 HP Motor, 6:1 Compact Ratio, 6 Month Automatic Advance Odor Control System and Programmable Compaction Cycle
Average Customer Rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
2
3 of 8(38%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broan Elite XE 15" Convertible Trash Compactor 15XE
Review 1 for Broan Elite XE 15" Convertible Trash Compactor 15XE
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Returned
Posted:3/6/13
" We purchased the Viking compactor-made by Broan. This exact model with the Viking name because it matched the rest of our appliances. It does not compact our trash and we end up emptying the garbage daily as though we did not have a compactor. We were fortunate in that we could return the compactor for a full refund but before we could the key closure broke off. Everything will be made right for us but please reconsider before buying. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Broan Elite XE 15" Convertible Trash Compactor 15XE
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Tennessee
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Dissapointed Performance
Posted:10/5/12
Pros: style
Cons: trash bin compacting ease of opening
" I have owned Kitchen Aid compactors in the past and purchased this unit instead. I am very dissapointed with the trash capacity and the compacting ability.
The unit has a smaller trash bin than Kitchen Aid and does not compact as well, plus I miss the foot release vs opening the door and manually pulling out the trash bin on this unit. I would gladly swap for a new Kitchen Aid
Buy the Kitchen Aid "
Review 3 for Broan Elite XE 15" Convertible Trash Compactor 15XE
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Boston, MA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Light
Would Recommend: No
very poor product
Posted:2/9/12
Pros: none
Cons: very very small bag, compact button constantly sticks, very poor compaction
" The product arrived dented. The button to 'compact' or release sticks every time and can only be undone by sticking a knife into the button. Nearly impossible to get the machine to stop compact from running up and down constantly. Very, very low small bag. bag is less than 1/2 the height of the unit. "compact" is very poor and seems to always result with only 2 or 3 inches at the top to add anything.
Stay away from this product. It stinks!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Broan Elite XE 15" Convertible Trash Compactor 15XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Long Island NY
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Broan trash compactor
Posted:12/13/11
Pros: no smell tidy extreme compacting with lots of, features
Cons: expensive
" On a scale of 1-10 I rate this a good 9+
You don't know how much you need this till you get it.
It has amazing features like: key locking, clock, filtered air, hold feature and amazing compacting ability.I am sure I left out one or two other things but really nice product.
"
Review 5 for Broan Elite XE 15" Convertible Trash Compactor 15XE
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Location:Alabama
Owned Product:1-2 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Reliability issues
Posted:10/9/11
Pros: looks
Cons: reliability; changing bags; swing open door
" In the 20 months we have owned our Broan, it has had three service calls. After the 4th time it stopped, we decided to just dump it and get something else that was more reliable. Other notes: The bags are unweildy to change, the door opens onto and hits the cabinets next to compactor. Lift out types are much easier and more efficient. The extra process of first opening the door then sliding out the recepticle is time consuming if you are busy getting a meal ready. We made a bad decision with this type and the brand has proven unreliable. "
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Broan Elite XE 15" Convertible Trash Compactor 15XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Princeton, NJ
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Expensive but worth it
Posted:8/18/11
Pros: super quiet/no odor
Cons: pricey
" Excellent compactor. Third one I have owned. Much better than Whirlpool. Can be put on timer to compact while you are sleep. No odor! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Broan Elite XE 15" Convertible Trash Compactor 15XE
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: No
Some Drawbacks
Posted:8/15/11
Pros: looks nice and expensive
Cons: not hands free
" The compactor looks very nice. The only drawback is it's not hands free. You will have to pull open the exterior door and then pull out the trash bin by hand. There's no foot pedal on this. I used to have an older model which was 100% hands free. It's useful esp. when cooking in the kitchen with dirty hands. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Broan Elite XE 15" Convertible Trash Compactor 15XE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
excellent value and product
Posted:9/10/10
" We are very pleased with the product, the price and the delivery of the product. "
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.