AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71

SANYO: Your Best Choice in Ductless Split Air Conditioning Systems Sanyo Ductless Split Air Conditioner & Heat Pump products offer wide versatility in solving your cooling and heating requirements. The Indoor unit (evaporator) is mounted inside the room, enclosed in a handsome space saving cabinet. It is connected to the outdoor unit (condenser) via refrigerant lines & inter-unit wiring through a 3-1/2" opening in the wall. Since no duct work is required, installation is simple, fast & efficient. There is no need to use up window space or cut large openings in existing walls, which could undermine the integrity of your structure, and even pose security risks. Since the Rotary compressor is located in the outdoor unit, compressor operating noise is virtually eliminated from the indoor. The indoor unit has been uniquely designed to provide Whisper Quiet operation while delivering comfort throughout the room(s). In addition, rotary compressors provide efficient, powerful cooling at the lowest noise levels in the industry. DC INVERTER is outstanding for it's RAPID COOLING & HEATING POWER. As soon as the temperature is reached, it automatically adjusts current frequency temperature fluctuation. It also provides "ENERGY-SAVING" (which saves your electricity charges) as well as "QUIETER OPERATION". Low Ambient Cooling Operation The unit can set for cooling even when the outdoor temperature drops to 41 degrees F (5 degrees C). This is ideal for locations that require cooling even in winter. Low ambient cooling refers to maintaining high-side pressure in the condenser at normal levels at low outdoor ambient temperature by the provision of a reversible cooling fan. Cooling air is then directed across the condenser in the conventional direction when the high-side pressure is above a predetermined level and diminishing the volume of cooling air flow across the condenser when the high-side pressure is below a predetermined level. NOTE: A ductless split unit must be installed by a licensed HVAC (Heating ventilation air conditioning) Contractor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Review 1 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Owned Product:2-3 years
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
MiniSPlit
Posted:11/2/12
"Love it. Had to replace part right out of the box. But AJ got it done quickly."
Review 2 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: Yes
12KSH71
Posted:12/23/11
Pros: very quit
Cons: none so far
"I purchased for my basement office. Right now it’s the heating season and its working great although the lowest temp’s are not below 30 degrees yet. Very quit opperation and in 45 days of use easy on the electric bill.
If you are doing this yourself watch the length of the line set. Twenty five is the limit before having to add Freon. I had installed a thirty foot run just taking the long way when I reviewed the manual and discovered this. The line set was rerouted a shorter way to keep me under twenty five foot limit. Regardless of the line set length you will need a vacuum pump for start up.
Overall AJ Madison did well on the sale and everything was delivered in a timely manor.
"
Review 3 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Location:Silver City, NM
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Heavy
Would Recommend: No
Works well slowly, not real pretty
Posted:8/30/11
Pros: quiet good brand name
Cons: large ugly very low air movement
"This is a commercial unit, indoor part is large. I installed it above a window in our living room which has 10-ft ceiling. If it is installed in a room with a lower ceiling it will be at eye level. Some other models and brands have a less commercial appearance.
Installed it myself. Purchased a R410a manifold and a vac pump. I know I probably voided the warranty but figured it was worth the risk. Besides saving the expense of installation I avoided the aggravation of dealing with a contractor, missing work to wait for a contractor to show up at the house, all the hassle.
The fan doesn't move much air even at the highest speed. Part of the cooling effect with AC is the air movement. I have to run the ceiling fan and still don't get the pleasant cool breeze that most AC's provide.
Thermostat is cumbersome with lots of buttons. Wish I could connect a regular thermostat. Have to leave the instruction manual out for house guests.
When you turn it on, it takes a while for the fan to come on, then several more minutes for the compressor to come up to speed. Because of that I tend to leave it on which probably cancels out any energy savings.
"
Review 4 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Samsung split ac
Posted:5/10/11
Pros: sanyo efficiency low price super quiet.
Cons: it's a little bulky looking on the wall. but that, is worth what it does for your home.
"Great service, great product. Delivered fast and in perfect condition. Delivery was professional and courteous. A little hesitant to order from NY at first due to a bad camera experience in the 90's. Do not hesitate to buy from AJ Madison, the price can't be beat. Make sure to order your lineset from them also. Both ends come flared making for a super easy install. I didn't, but you may want to order the drain hose too. The hardware store did not sell a long enough length so I coupled two pieces together."
Review 5 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Beats Clearance AC by a long shot!
Posted:4/18/11
Pros: 115 volt auto switch from hot to cold easy insta
Cons: can't see any yet
"I had to replace a unit I purchased from Clearance AC when it broke after 6 months and I could get no support. This Sanyo unit is better and considerably less expensive plus it actually comes with professional quality installation and operating instructions. So far I'm happy with the upgrade."
Review 6 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
by 
Location:Tulsa, OK
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Sanyo Mini Split
Posted:11/26/10
Pros: simple solution for spot cooling a single room
Cons: cost per ton when related to other systems
"I've wait until now to enter a review because I want to see how the unit performed in the cooling and heating cycle. I'm very pleased with the overall performance of the unit. Installation was very simple, only difficult issue was locating a vaccum pump and adapters. Otherwise it was fairly straight forward"
Review 7 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
good purchase ever
Posted:4/5/10
Pros: small & light
Cons: you can see in the wall
"Easy to install , no problems to read the instructions, light& work well. I don't like the appearance is too bulky as commercial. Need something slim."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great Heating Cooling! Programming is unreliable
Posted:12/13/09
Pros: great price and performance highly recommended.
Cons: timer mode frequently gets 'unset'.
"This unit is fantastic at what it is designed to do - cool AND heat. I have been using it for 18 months in my "man cave" home office and the AC is fantastic. It heats great down to about 30 degrees. I installed a $50 baseboard to that kicks in when it occasionaly gets really cold, and Honeywell makes a very nice digital programmable thermostat for 240V baseboards. This combination provides all weather comfort, and is WAY cheaper than other models with built in heat strips. Plus the backup baseboard is nice if unit goes out (though mine has been 100% reliable for 18 months).
So, heating and cooling is perfect - quiet, efficient. The 12K model runs on 125AC which is handy if you need to use an existing ciruit.
That all said, the programming of of the unit is unreliable. Used in a home office like environment, I wish to have it come on at 9am and off at 5pm every day. While you can program this to happen, it will do if for a couple days, then without touching anything, it will decide to go out of Timer mode. However it will heat/cool a 300 sqft room in about 10 minutes, so while this is annoying, it is hardly a reason not to buy it.
Overall recommendation is a strong buy. It's a great performer, comes precharged, and I bought the line sets from AJ madison that worked great."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:LA, CA
Owned Product:0-6 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Great quiet AC
Posted:10/5/09
"I have installed this system in my son’s music studio. It is great. The outdoor unit is extremely quiet and the indoor unit is the quietest AC that I have ever seen. It works great!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Very Satisfied
Posted:8/11/09
Pros: super quiet......cold......efficient
Cons: might like a faster fan speed at times
"A/C installer and I could not believe how quiet this unit is......cools well....... very happy with it....... if I could add anything to it, it would be one faster fan speed but not a big deal...... it's a great unit.....glad I bought it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Value = cost + quality + performance
Posted:6/17/09
Pros: cost and ease of installation and energy savings
Cons: having to recharge with freon the separately, purchased charge line that runs from the, compressor to the indoor wall unit
"This Sanyo Ductless AC/Heat Pump is a great value.
The cost is very reasonable when compared to other brands of similar specs. It is easy to install because it is ductless...only a charged line from the compressor unit to the remote indoor wall unit requires any assembly. This unit was purchased for a 900 sq foot rental property and was the perfect option over having to install central air which would have cost three times as much money. After the Sanyo was installed and tested for output...it will be very adequate to cool and heat the rental unit.
"
Review 12 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
SANYO 12KHS71
Posted:3/22/09
"THIS IS TH ABSOLUTE QUETEST A/C INSIDE AND OUT THAT I HAVE EVER INSTALLED."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Best value for my money
Posted:12/19/08
"This is one of my beat purchase. Great appearance that loos real good. Add value on my house addition,"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Georgia
Cool!
Posted:8/18/08
"Very quiet.
Sales person very proffesional and nice.
4 stars instead of 5 for the indoor unit: snap in place system could be better.
"
Review 15 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Washington DC
Cool comfort
Posted:8/10/08
"[...].Very helpful answering post-purchase questions.I would buy from AJ Madison again.Thank you!!"
Review 16 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Houston, MN
Truely Quite Operation
Posted:6/30/08
"We are extremely satisfied with our new Sanyo Mini Split AC Unit.[...]"
Review 17 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Williamsburg, VA
Product works well in a Sunroom
Posted:2/11/08
"We just have installed the unit in a 400 square ft. Sunroom. It looks like it will do just fine in a room that will have seasonal needs. I is extreemly quite and versatile with a remote control"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sanyo 11900 BTU Mini Split Air Conditioner 12KHS71
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Millis, MA
These are awwsum and superquiet!
Posted:7/6/07
"Had one installed in a new room, wish I had them throughout the house. So quiet, easy to remove and clean the filter and no problems at all."