AJ Madison Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At AJ Madison
Shop Trash Compactors or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X

Enjoy the convenience of the industry's most powerful residential compactors. One bag of garbage per week is all the average family of four will produce, thanks to the 182-gallon capacity of these powerful units. They can easily crush bottles and cans that cause problems for other machines. To complement any kitchen decor, your choices include classic black, white, and biscuit. Plus, the new 1052 Stainless Steel Compactor is well-styled for today's upscale commercial-look kitchens. These powerful units compress the amount of 14 full garbage bags of refuse into one easy-to-handle compactor bag: 65 percent more trash than the leading competitor. Plus they offer you more style and feature options than any other units: Most powerful residential compactor on the market. Broans' patented "double scissors" ram and motor deliver up to 5,000 lbs. of compaction force. Exclusive new screw guard prevents loose trash from interfering with the machine's operation. Swing away door. Simply slide out your full trash bag and the entire drawer can be removed for easy cleaning. Models 1050 and 1051 have a convenient toe release. Interlocking door with auto reverse. Safety interlock prevents operation when door is open. Ram automatically reverses if load is off-center. Broan Trash Compactor Bags. Broan's reinforce plastic trash bags are available 12 to a pack. Cartons of 10 packs are available. (Model 1006) Optional cutting board top. (Models 1050 & 1051) Solid hardwood cutting boards adds a finishing touch to free-standing applications. Reversible door panels. It's easy to match your kitchen decor with reversible door panels or by inserting your own 1/4" x 11 11/16" x 20 7/8" wood or laminate panel. If using a laminate or wood panel, the panels described below simply slide out.
Average Customer Rating:
4.417 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 of 5(60%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Review 1 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
Can someone out there help the consumer?
Posted:6/26/11
"I've had the Broan compactor in my custom made cabinet kitchen since 2001 and although it continues to work, it's time to be replaced. Why doesn't some manufacturer - and I don't care who, begin manufacturing 12" compactors? I just cannot believe that I'm going to have a gaping hole in my kitchen due to some 'genius' decision to discontinue 12" compactors. I'm not sure if any one will ever read this, but hopefully someone will, and realize there is a need for this width. This is reason enough to never buy Broan again."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: No
no longer made or available
Posted:12/15/10
"since this is an under the counter item, once its not working and needs to be replaced....here it is in 2010 2 years after Broan and others 'decreed' that 12" wide compactors will not be manufactured any longer....and only 15" wide ones will, it is impossible to find a replacement anywhere in the USA...so either cabinetry needs to be changed, shelves, drawers recut adjacent to allow the 15" wide replacements available at 30% higher cost vs. 2008 prices......or repair made of the 12" wide item....which surely and hopefully will be less expensive.
Why on earth did they make this change, anyway????
"
Review 3 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Great service and product!
Posted:1/5/09
Pros: very strong compactor
Cons: no kick plate opener...but found a way to install.
"This is a product being discontinued but when you can find it and can use it buy it. It is sad that when a product is good and usable...and not too expensive the manufacter discontinues making the product. Well I have seen this happen so many times over 50 years of being a hands on person. But I was lucky to find and purchase the item before it became unavailable.....and
AJ Madison was there...a great company to deal with.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Would Recommend: Yes
Bought same machine again
Posted:12/14/08
"Best compact compactor. Newer model is even better."
Review 5 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Massachusetts
Owned Product:6-12 months
Frequency of Use:Medium
Would Recommend: Yes
Perfect performance, Perfect Fit!
Posted:9/24/08
Pros: works great! fits the space and looks great!
Cons: a bit loud during compaction. bags are pricey.
"Going on one year now and have had no problems. It is a little loud but the cycle is only 30 seconds. The front door latches securely. Opening the door using the foot pedal is a great feature. The bags fit well and because the whole drawer is removeable, it makes changing the bag a breeze. I found the bags to be expensive but shopping online and buying in volume (72) plus free shipping really helped. I wil certainly buy another Broan if the time comes. This is the only 12" wide machine I could find which is perfect because that's all the space I had and we really wanted the compactor. Thanks Broan...and do not discontinue the 12" model."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Boulder, CO
Solid, reliable workhorse
Posted:8/22/08
"This is the first trash compactor that I ever owned. I bought this Broan compactor after our local county commissioners passed a new ordinance requiring "Pay-as-you-throw" volume pricing for all trash collection. That was my financial motivation for investing in a trash compactor. I'd rather spend some extra money on a one-time purchase of a new appliance, instead of being nickel-and-dimed to death paying higher monthly fees (essentially an "eco-tax") to my county government. Prior to purchasing this compactor, we were typically generating close to 96 gallons of trash per week. Since we began using this product, we've pretty much been able to compress that volume down to around 13 gallons per week -- even though we generate exactly the same amount of trash ... and we DON'T use the recycle bins that the county forced on us.
Our typical use of the compactor is to collect the wastebaskets from around the house as they fill up, and just dump the contents into the compactor. The only exception to this is the kitchen wastebasket, which is where most of the food-related trash goes (e.g., frozen dinner containers, glass jars and bottles, takeout boxes, food scraps, etc). The contents of the kitchen wastebasket gets segregated into a separate 13-gallon plastic trash bag, which gets emptied directly into our trash can in the garage as needed (i.e., whenever it either fills up, or the smell gets too bad). We don't put any food trash into the compactor; since we don't want the smell to get out of control. But pretty much all of the non-food trash goes into the Broan trash compactor.
As the compactor fills up, we'll wait until the trash level gets near the top of the basket; and only then do we bother to turn it on to do a compaction cycle. On average, we probably do 1 to 2 compactions per day. At the end of a week, even though we keep filling the basket repeatedly with trash, the unit is still able to keep up with the volume; and we never need to empty the basket until it's time for the weekly trash pickup.
Actually, if we had to, I suspect that we could probably fit up to two weeks' worth of trash into the basket before we had to empty it; although I'd probably still empty the unit once a week just on general principle.
The only real down-side to owning a trash compactor is the cost of the bags, which are custom-made to fit the basket in the unit. If you buy the bags in small quantities every few weeks as you need them, they can be really expensive. However, if you shop around online and find a retailer who sells them in bulk, you can get the bag price down to a point where it's reasonable. I bought a supply of 120 bags, which works out to a little over a 2-year supply in my case. By buying in bulk like this, my average cost works out to a little less than $1 per bag. Even though I'm pretty sure that Broan still has a huge profit margin even at that price, at least I feel that the price is low enough to be acceptable.
All in all, this Broan compactor is a great product. We started using it in early July 2008; and we now have about 2 months experience with it. It's working perfectly! Not a single problem. I wish I had bought one of these units long ago."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Black Mountain , NC
"Space Saver"
Posted:7/29/08
"Our old, big trash compactor died right before we started our kitchen remodel. One of the things I didn't like about the old compactor is you couldn't clean the compartment really well. With this Broan compactor you can get the compartment out to clean it. Of course I also love the foot pedal opener, the side swing door to get the bag out and the fact that it matches my fridge. Its slim line also gained me 3 inches more cabinet space, Yeah! The only down side is the price of the compactor bags[...]. [...]"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Westlake Village, CA
Garbage Crusher With Style
Posted:6/4/08
"We needed a small footprint trash compactor and the Broan 1052 really fit the bill. It doesn't run silently, but what compactor does? There hasn't been an item it wouldn't crush and it is a sharp unit."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Clinton, IA
Very pleased with product and company.
Posted:4/28/08
"The product came as described and in perfect condition. It only took about 6 days to get the product. We love it and would not hesitate to purchase from this company again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Tacoma Wa
Happy with everything
Posted:3/23/08
"Works well and as advertised. Make sure its level so the drawer works properly with the foot pedal"
Review 11 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:South West
Works Nicely
Posted:3/19/08
"We had the same type slim line before it finally was not repairable after 12 years of hard use. It works well we cannot complain; smashing 1 week of trash into a single bag. It is the only 12 inch model with 5,000 lbs of crushing force!"
Review 12 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Auburn, California
Great job!
Posted:3/17/08
"After being disgusted with the lack of service at a big box store I decided to order a microwave oven for over my stove and a trash compacter over the internet. I ordered through AJ Madison and both products arrived quickly and in great shape. The shipping charge was less than what the box store wanted to charge just to get the oven to their store. I have no complaints at all. [...]"
Review 13 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:New Hampshire
Quality and 12" size perfect!
Posted:3/17/08
"Convenient and effecient"
Review 14 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
So far so good!
Posted:3/5/08
"Ah, the trash compactor. When we purchased our home 10 years ago, it had a compactor. We liked it. We did not know HOW MUCH we really liked it until we had 3 boys and the original one had become so noisy that it had to go. I removed the old one during some renovations in our kitchen. NOW we realized how much we like a compactor! It's the difference between taking the garbage out once a week vs. 3-4 times without it. With the addition of a bigger fridge, I only had room for a 12" compactor. Guess what? The 15" we had and this Broan 12" 1050 have the same capacity! (1.4 cu ft I believe)So far this new one is working just fine. It is much quieter than our old one. (but all compactors are still a little loud). Love the bag storage (old one did not have it). Love the foot pedal. We did not get the Stainless finish as we were used to a foot pedal to open the drawer. Glad we stayed with the foot pedal. Your hands are often both full in the kitchen. Get the foot pedal!It looks just fine and works as well as the last. I get a few small tears in the bag sides sometimes, but it’s expected. The opening front is great! (old one did not have that)The foot pedal is not as smooth as the last, but works fine.I read about people having issues with the drawer front not aligning properly (the V groove). I see what they are talking about, but this is a non issue. Read the directions folks! You simply must make sure the V goes where it’s supposed to. Very simple.I also read that some "nut" breaks on this model, but ours has been fine so far. Bags are a little pricey, but shop around, you can get them cheaper.[...]So far, it's a thumb's up!=)"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Carlisle, MA
Great Product - Reliability?
Posted:3/4/08
"This was a replacement for an 18 year old GE Monogram compactor which I believe was also made by Broan. The GE compactor ate a drive gear about every 3 years ([$]) so I'm hoping they've improved the design. The plastic bags are a HUGE improvement over the paper bags. In order to install the decorative wood front panel I had to trim a piece of sheet metal but other than that there was no problem."
Review 16 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
by 
Location:Grants Pass, Oregon.
Just right for the service I need.
Posted:2/26/08
"Being limited to space, with this 12" wide compactor I was able to install it into my cabinets, loseing only a drawer and small cupboard space. I placed it between two sinks where all the work is done and so fare I'm very pleased with it.
Ronald Cook."
Review 17 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Holland NJ
Only 12 inch compactor on the market
Posted:1/21/08
"The product is great and AJ MADISONS customer service and delivery is fantastic. 5 stars!!!"
Review 18 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Macon, GA
I would buy this product again
Posted:1/20/08
"When my old compactor died, I was afraid that I wouldn't be able to replace it because of it's size. Broan still makes the 12 inch wide model, and it fit perfectly with no modification to the cabinets. Perfect!"
Review 19 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Las Vegas, NV
We love it.
Posted:11/25/07
"We use our compactor daily.
Its very easy to add & remove the bag.
The door of the storage compartment does not stay closed.
"
Review 20 for Broan Convertible Trash Compactor 105X
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
by 
Location:Fair Oaks, CA
Broan 1052 trash compactor
Posted:10/11/07
"[...] We have owned this product for several years and we really like it. We were just updating our kitchen and needed a new one."